We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional attention from manager - Cordo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4981 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional attention from manager - Cordo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We book the clarion through Priceline. We got a very good rate. We took the courtesy shuttle from the airport. On the drive from the airport I asked several questions about Grand Rapids and he acted as if he didn't hear me. No biggie he got us to the hotel. We arrived and our room was ready as expected. The desk staff were very helpful and friendly. After we settled in our room we made reservations at a local restaurant. We thought we would take advantage of the shuttle that they say will take you to points close by. Our reservation was at 6:00 so the desk person called the shuttle and said there would be no problem and the shuttle would be back from a run to the airport at 5:30. The shuttle arrived as promised but when we tried to board the shuttle the driver said he could not take us because he had to return to make another pickup at the airport. Of course we tried to insist that he was supposed to take us to the restaurant but he totally refused. So we gave up and went back in the hotel and the driver left. The desk manager said he would recall the shuttle to get us. We sat down in the lobby to wait after a few minutes the desk manager came over and offered to personally take us to the restaurant . We accepted his offer. We had a good conversation and we found out he was the owners son. I offered him some gas money but he refused. After dinner we called the hotel to get a ride back to the hotel. We were hoping that the shuttle driver we had the issue with went off duty, which was the case as we saw when the shuttle pulled up. This driver was very courteous and friendly. As some others have commented on the hotel is old and worn but is is clean. The complementary dinner bar was not much but would have been okay had we not wanted to go out for dinner. We haven't had the breakfast bar yet but we probably will go out again. There are several restaurants close by within waking distance. I noticed that the hotel clientele are mostly business people, service people and people like us looking for a decent place to stay for a night at a decent price. We were happy wit our stay considering what we paid. If you come here expected a five star hotel for a three star price you will be disappointed. Again I can't say enough about the personal service we got from Cordo the owners son.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the lobby if you don't like taking the stairs. The elevator is on the opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    19
    15
    18
See reviews for
27
31
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Staff was friendly,but that was it, room was old and not updated, bathroom was rough,with the roof falling apart, caulking was also full of mold,the first room they gave us, smeiled of smoke, the second room was better, but looked run down,lack of upkeep, the walls are paper thin, as my neighbor next door,was apparently having a party, and I could hear everything they were saying,causing me to stay up till 2 am !!! Breakfast was a sham, lack of utensil for starter,tables and floor uncleaned,the food looked like it was old and musty, with little selection,and staff lingering around for some unknown reason ?? do i need to say more,do yourself and your loved ones a favor, and find somewhere else to spend a night !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion Hotel on Saturday, July 20th. The outside of the hotel was not well kept: lots of weeds among the flowers, a piece of wood across one of the outside doors, burnt out lights in the parking lot, etc. The room was ok, but nothing special. Access to the hotel was difficult because of road construction, so all of the surrounding businesses were having a hard time.
The breakfast was just ok, the waffle bar was situated in a separate area, so we didn't see it until we were done eating.
I realized after I got home that I had been charged twice for the room. When I called, they took care of it, but it shouldn't have happened in the first place.
I would not go back. Of all the rooms we stayed at in various hotels on our trip, this was the most expensive and of the poorest quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here one night on a recent summer weekend. This was a decent hotel. Generally clean, but not spotless. It's an older property that's showing its age a bit, but not run-down. The outdoor pool was kept in excellent condition. The breakfast was average for a chain hotel. Front desk staff was friendly and professional. I would consider staying here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

As a commuting student, I have found the Clarion staff to be so encouraging and helpful for all of my home away from home needs such as the forgotten toothbrush, the laundry soap, the lost key, etc. The food is excellent, the rooms are always clean, the business center is great, and the best part is how downright friendly the staff is, always a good morning! or have a great day! Attentive, professional, courteous, helpful, the staff is the best I've seen in all of my travels.

Room Tip: main floor is great/convenient near the dining room, the business center, and the exercise room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn & Suites Airport, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your business and feedback about our hotel. Its nice to receive a good review about our property in which our staff can be singled out for its friendliness and professionalism. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you book with us again if you are in the GR area.

Thank You
Kardokh Piromari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter and fiancé. The staff at the hotel are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms where very clean and neat. The are very much focused on customer service and a friendly atmosphere. They even recognize a "guest of the day." I would stay at this hotel when we come back up again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I stay here every week! The staff always greets you with a smile and will go out of the way to make sure your stay is great! I also love the heated pool! Out of all the hotel in the area that I have stayed in this is the best one!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Address: 4981 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2009, this Choice hotel is big on value. You’ll love new flat panel 32” TVs in every guestroom along with microwaves and refrigerators. Guestrooms also boast all new furniture, carpeting, bedding, wallpaper, sheets, towels, mattresses, and more. A daily breakfast buffet is complimentary as is an evening reception served Monday - Thursday. Complimentary area shuttle service will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Free wireless Internet and outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Clarion Inn And Suites Airport
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.