We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Business Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn & Suites Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4981 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Decent Business Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was in town on business and stayed at the Clarion Inn for 5 days (April 29-May 3rd). Overall I would rate my stay and pretty decent. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast food was OK ( I would rate this hotel just under a Hampton Inn or Country Inn and Suites). Overall I would say that I got my money's worth here and would definitely stay here again if I were to visit the area again.

Room Tip: Skip the Managers hospitality meal from 5-7PM. It isn't worth your time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    13
    11
    12
See reviews for
22
25
11
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at the Clarion inn on Business and had an awesome stay. I was upgraded to a suite which had two rooms and two flat screen televisions. The room was clean and the staff excellent. While at the hotel, I looked at a few of the other rooms they offer in case I came back to the area and found them all clean and very well appointed. I travel a lot on business and found that this hotel was one of the best prices for a hotel of this caliber I have found in the area. Stephanie at the front desk was very helpful; from getting me a Wall Street Journal, to making sure we were able to find our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I found this to be one of the most dirty and disgusting hotels I can remember. When I walked into the room the bed was very disheveled and appeared that someone had been laying on the bed after it had been made. There was also a large stain on the comforter. They moved me to a second room and when I entered, I noticed what appeared to be spots of blood on the bed comforter. The breakfast area and serving vessels were also quite unappealing. This place needs a total renovation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel staff set out breakfast early ( 4 am ) for us. The shuttle was top notch and the staff was amazing. I am making this my GR hotel! The rooms were clean and updated. Very comfortable beds and pillows. I was pleasantly surprised and a great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed at hundreds of hotels and I can honestly say, this is one of the best experiences I have ever had. The hotel has some years on it, but it is exceptionally clean. The staff reminds me of a recent stay at the Ritz in Palm Springs California. I'm not kidding you, every staff person that we have met has gone out of their way to accommodate us. We came on a business / spring break trip. Employees, family and kids. We booked on Priceline, so it's not like they knew us or was making a lot of money on us, yet their customer service blew us away!
Kudo's to the property management, this kind of service only comes from a committed, talented team!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Frequently-traveling flight crews have a knack for being able to identify a competent accommodation. Based on the numerous captains, flight attendants, etc. that I saw leaving the hotel, they must recognize a good thing. So did I.

The Clarion has a great location, sitting just a few hundred feet from I-96, less than three miles from the airport and less than twenty minutes to downtown GR. There were a variety of shopping/restaurant options nearby: Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, IHOP. Woodland Mall is just two miles away.

The hotel is clean and well-maintained. My room was well-appointed and spacious with a comfortable king-size bed, flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave, chest, desk and a recliner. The bathroom was spotless (good shower pressure), and had a surprising feature: a three-way mirror. The bed was comfortable and the window heating unit was quiet and effective. Wireless internet was flawless.

Choice brand's standard continental breakfast featured sausage links, bacon, waffles, eggs (which, I must agree with a previous review--were dreadful) and plenty of cereal, yogurt, etc. Pickings were slim by the time I made my way to the dining area.

Service was excellent, friendly and courteous. Deb was a gem.

Should your travels take you to Grand Rapids, be sure to stay at the Clarion. While other accommodations have more features, the Clarion, at just under $80, is a pretty good 'bang for your buck.'

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I brought a bachelorette party to the Clarion and booked the bridal suite. It was awesome. The room was giant and was able to sleep all of us comfortably. We had 2 fridges, 2 beds, 2 bathrooms and a foldout couch. The staff was so helpful and nice and accommodating. They shuttled us to Cascade Winery and picked us up when we were ready to come back. They even shuttled us to dinner later that evening. It was such a great experience. The price was fantastic for the room, too. The continental breakfast was surprisingly very good, too. Overall, I am completely blown away with Clarion and would recommend the hotel to anyone. In my opinion, I would rather stay there and take a cab to get around than stay downtown. The service was just unbelievable. Thank you so much for making my friend's party such a memorable experience!

Room Tip: The bridal suite was amazing for our group. If you plan to spend time in your room, I would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Address: 4981 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2009, this Choice hotel is big on value. You’ll love new flat panel 32” TVs in every guestroom along with microwaves and refrigerators. Guestrooms also boast all new furniture, carpeting, bedding, wallpaper, sheets, towels, mattresses, and more. A daily breakfast buffet is complimentary as is an evening reception served Monday - Thursday. Complimentary area shuttle service will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Free wireless Internet and outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites Airport
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.