We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay although a little expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #10 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay although a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with large rooms, comfortable beds and a good breakfast. It's also in a nice convenient location. This hotel was a more expensive than similar places we stayed. I would readily stay here again however will definately check the price against similar places before booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you had a great stay. I do understand the qualms with our rate, however, we are an extremely property and are priced to sell in our market. I do appreciate your business and hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    41
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
43
34
5
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel had a very convenient location, just off the freeway. The room was large and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The rate was very reasonable. If I am in the area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I came there for a little mini honeymoon after we were married. We were happy with most of the services and amenities we used. The room was large and beautiful, the lobby was very nice, the pool area was clean and also nice. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was great (I wasn't a fan of the eggs, they seem like dehydrated eggs or something and not fresh). My biggest issue was with the bed linens. The pillows were very old and lumpy, and the comforter had clearly been washed far too many times. The stuffing in the comforter was worn very thin and shoved into the corners. I did not report it because I've worked in hotels and other customer service oriented positions, and I did not want to be one of THOSE customers. Everything else was great with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am glad to hear you had a great experience. I will make sure to replace the duvet insert and pillows in the room. Definitely, do not be afraid to report any issues to our front desk. It's not a problem at all and we would rather correct the issue to make your stay outstanding than let you suffer through any uncomfortable situations. Thank you for your review and your business and hope to see you the next time you stay in Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a nice Hampton Inn located right off the freeway. Many strip mall type shops and restaurants nearby. The lobby and eating area is open and large. Free continental breakfast with ok sausage patties and scramble eggs. The rooms were clean and service was excellent. We forgot our phone charger and they mailed it back to us. The only negative is if you want to be close to the city, it is a short drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback! I am so glad you liked our property and location. It is a short drive, about 7 minutes to downtown. There are many cabs and public transportation that a guest can take if driving isn't an option. Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

cute little hotel right on our way north. bad part was that it took us a bit to get to things in Grand Rapids. Best part was the fabulous restaurant the manager turned us on to. we will stay here again just to eat there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I just want to clarify we do not have a restaurant on site but I am glad to hear you had a good experience while in Grand Rapids, especially at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted as customers of the day! A couple of free snacks started the visit off well! The room was very nice and cleaning people took good care of us. The front desk people were very friendly. Breakfast was good - children loved the waffles! The air conditioner was strangely loud, but I suppose it worked like white noise in our room. Alll in all, this Hampton was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! I will make sure that our maintenance team checks the heating and cooling unit in your room to make sure everything is in working order. I appreciate your recognition and will share this my entire team at our daily huddle. They really love to hear our guests feedback. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We were tired and on our way to Mackinac. Booked the hotel from the road and arrives to a dossier ready for us. The front desk was gracious enough to ask if I has AAA so I got a further discount, much appreciated. Reend this to families!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I am so glad to hear we were able to provide comfort and relaxation to your weary family. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Address: 500 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the view from our Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North hotel, where our friendly, dedicated team help you make the most of your time in the area. Located near US 131 and 96 expressways, our hilltop hotel provides easy access to Griffins’ hockey games at Van Andel Arena, flower art displays at Frederick Meijer Gardens and beach sands at Lake Michigan’s shoreline. Attend a conference at Devos Convention Center or make a trip to the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum & Library. This four-story hotel is 20 miles front Kent County International Airport. Schedule your visit during ArtPrize or state track and volleyball competitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.