We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #12 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Solid business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here everyweek for about three months on business. Staff is friendly and accomodating. Rooms are large - and the beds very comfortable. Its always hard to find a place to plug in - normally have to unplug a lamp - not here. Above one of the nightstands is a three gang plug plus a usb outlet for plugging in phones, computers etc. Nice touch. I travel with two phones, a corporate laptop and a pad - and had no problem keeping things charged. For only a few dollars more, you can get a jacquizzi room which is huge and comes with micro and fridge.

Breakfast is typical - and changes very little day to day - week to week - a low point after awhile. Every few weeks they have something extra after work - snack etc. and extra points. The hotel is out of the way - behind a few small malls which makes it close to dozens of dining options. My only complaint was the ever changing prices - one week a room was $109 another $159 and other weeks anywhere between.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    47
    31
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
37
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Willing to provide info, needed supplies, and snacks. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices, "to go" bags provided if unable to eat on site. Snacks and various drinks were available at the desk, hot beverages with fresh coffee through the evening. Excellent area for travelers to work in groups or individually. Spacious and well appointed bathroom in room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walbridge, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Duvet covers were not fresh as advertised. Bathroom had a small counter around the sink, no where to put makeup and toiletries bad let alone hair product and curling iron. Very disappointing for a Hampton, definitely not up to the Hampton standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for a quick overnight in a jacuzzi suite. The room was spacious, the staff was very nice, the jacuzzi worked. The bed wasn't the most comfortable but it worked.

The place looks a little worn but still clean and well kept. Would reccomend to anyone looking for a good place outside of downtown.

Room Tip: we had a king jacuzzi suite on the second floor corner, it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean, comfy room with professional staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful and provided whatever I needed!! I required a refrigerator for dietary needs and they brought one right up to my room. The breakfast is great selection and the breakfast room is state of the art modern.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Staff were very unhelpful and unprofessional at check in and room did not smell fresh. Would think twice before using this Hampton Inn and I use the Hilton family hotels all the time, but this one is a miss for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had stayed here for a little over 3 months while on business in North Grand Rapids. Rooms are Hampton Standard but the Suite rooms are much nicer and roomier. Clean batchrooms and comfortable bedding, couch, and desk chair. Breakfast was good and Manager's Reception Bonus Points on Tuesday nights was nice as well. Close to the Highway, plenty of Restaurants nearby, and overall a nice place to stay. Front desk staff knew me by name/sight and housekeeping did a nice job as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Address: 500 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#15 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the view from our Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North hotel, where our friendly, dedicated team help you make the most of your time in the area. Located near US 131 and 96 expressways, our hilltop hotel provides easy access to Griffins’ hockey games at Van Andel Arena, flower art displays at Frederick Meijer Gardens and beach sands at Lake Michigan’s shoreline. Attend a conference at Devos Convention Center or make a trip to the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum & Library. This four-story hotel is 20 miles front Kent County International Airport. Schedule your visit during ArtPrize or state track and volleyball competitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.