We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel but quiet and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gerald Ford Museum Rate
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Older hotel but quiet and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here many times since our daughter started college at Grand Valley. It is reliable, quiet and clean but shows its age. We used our Hilton honors points to upgrade to a suite so it was a very pleasant stay. The breakfast is great if you can eat the waffles! The eggs leave a bit to be desired so unless we are in a hurry we usually eat elsewhere. That said the breakfast is the same in every Hampton Inn!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    51
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
40
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had to be in town for a family funeral - just looking for a place to sleep. Have stayed at many Hampton Inns in the past, but not for many years. This one's definitely showing its age in a few places (especially the bathrooms), but has benefited from what look like recent renovations in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable, the room was generally clean (though the bathroom could use some more TLC), and we had a comfortable stay. Worried a bit about a noisy group down the hall, but the room was very well sound-insulated. Conveniently right off the freeway and close to a very large shopping area. A bit overpriced. Treated to an unexpectedly gorgeous view out our window in the morning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us but we regret the circumstances and are sorry for your loss. We are always working on improving our guest rooms. I’m glad you had a comfortable stay with a great view. Please let us know if you have additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a King Study which had a king bed, desk and armoire, pull out full bed and two roll-around ottomans. The room had a really nice-sized bathroom with a tub and shower. The room was super spacious, was on the third floor and faced the back of the property overlooking a pond. Very nice. Two adults and a two year old, worked perfectly. The breakfast wasn't my thing, but my family enjoyed it. Didn't go to the pool. Plenty of stores and restaurants nearby. Great one-night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stopped here on our first leg of a trip up to Mackinac Island and arrived late at night. Check-in was a breeze and we found our room to be clean with nice new decor, flat screen TV and a super comfy bed. The location was good, and though it wasnt far off the highway, it seemed really quiet. It's also within walking distance of a shopping area. The only thing that was problematic for me was the lighting, but I'm finding that to be the norm in most newly-decorated hotels. While I support and encourage the "greening of America," and like the dimmer lighting from an ambiant standpoint, it makes it difficult for me to read or to apply makeup. However, for the betterment of the planet, I'm happy to just suck it up and "take one for the team."

We arrived late and checked out early, so didn't have the opportunity to check out any of the amenities other than the complimentary breakfast. I usually go pretty light for breakfast so really appreciated the cut-up mixed fruit (pineapple/melon/grapes) that was available and my husband said his hot breakfast was good. From the experience we had, we'd absolutely stay at this Hampton again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Township, MI
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent a weekend in Grand Rapids and were not disappointed in finding this hotel. It's a short 5 minutes from downtown/DeVos convention center, a short walk to dinner and shopping, and overall a very pleasant place. It seems to be either new or newly renovated, and our room was very nicely appointed, except for too-soft pillows, which is a personal preference. I really liked having an ice machine on our floor, but it wasn't noisy. Breakfast was the usual fare, but the coffee was excellent at all times of the day and night. Finally, the staff was pleasant and helpful, which always gains kudos from me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This Hampton Inn appears to be new or newly renovated and everything was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and provided a good sleep. The location is right off the highway and is close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Housekeeping staff seemed to start cleaning rooms very early for a weekend and the overall room seemed fine at first (older hotel). My biggest complaint was that there was an odor in the bathroom, which seemed to be a moldy smell from the shower curtain. (We took the stairway down to the car one evening, and another very bad odor was throughout the entire stairway area). Marks on the walls that should have been cleaned and we noticed washed-in stains on the sheets. Elevator carpet areas (entrance and interior) were not cleaned during the duration of our stay. Breakfast was standard and the dining area was fine. The young girl filling the food did a good job and she was also taking the time to clean the tables. (Management did not notice that all (3) breakfast area trash containers were overflowing???) The other thing that we noticed was that we were not properly greeted as Gold Hilton Honor Members. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: room 201 is directly next to loud ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and I have contacted our housekeeping team to correct the problems you encountered. I understand the condition of the common areas and your bathroom were areas of concern. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience, as cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Address: 500 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the view from our Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North hotel, where our friendly, dedicated team help you make the most of your time in the area. Located near US 131 and 96 expressways, our hilltop hotel provides easy access to Griffins’ hockey games at Van Andel Arena, flower art displays at Frederick Meijer Gardens and beach sands at Lake Michigan’s shoreline. Attend a conference at Devos Convention Center or make a trip to the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum & Library. This four-story hotel is 20 miles front Kent County International Airport. Schedule your visit during ArtPrize or state track and volleyball competitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.