We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unheated pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3920 Stahl Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, United States
1 review
“unheated pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

In a northern climate, I can't believe a large hotel chain would not heat their pool. The water was so cold, it actually hurt! A group of children arrived and they wouldn't enter the pool, usually kids swim in anything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Annette K,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at our Homewood Suites Grand Rapids. It saddens me to hear that you were unable to enjoy our pool. Please know that it is heated, and I'm truly sorry that it was at an uncomfortable temperature during your stay. You will be excited to hear that as of yesterday, our indoor pool and hot tub started undergoing a massive renovation. Our entire pool/spa area is being transformed, and a brand new salt water pool is being installed. We hope this will provide a better experience for our guests. Please come and stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids.

Kind regards,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    74
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
100
51
9
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma Heights, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

First time at a Homewood Suite, and was extremely impressed!! I could live here!! Clean, comfy, all the comforts of home!! Highly recommend!! Breakfast was excellent. Staff very helpful and courteous. Room clean and comfortable. Impressed with automatic ice machine in room. We utilized pull out sofa bed and that was comfy too!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Janet F,
Thank you for the great review! We are so glad that you decided to try the Homewood Suites Grand Rapids and that you enjoyed your stay. We love being able to offer a home-away-from-home atmosphere to our guests for one day up to a year or more! We are thrilled that you loved our breakfast, staff, and room (including the in room ice maker!) We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the Grand Rapids area!

Warm thanks,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond Du Lac
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

First time stay at a Homewood brand. If they are all this excellent my wife and I plan on choosing Homewood over other Hilton hotels. Nice and clean, comfortable, not too big not to small. Really liked the breckfast that changed each day some of the items. They actually have a dinner during the business week that we did not try but adds to the value. Staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Kenneth F,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay while you were with us and that we have added another fan to the Homewood Suites brand! We strive to provide comfortable home-away-from-home accommodations for our guests, and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your suite and the hot breakfast. We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Grand Rapids.

Warm thanks,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Range, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

While I visited the hotel was undergoing renovations; so a few things were not "ideal." However, it is still a nice, small Homewood Suites in a very convenient location, close to Hwy. 96 and the shopping malls, as well as several restaurants. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. I only availed myself of the internet while I was there, which was suitably fast. They had a nice little pool and hot tub and I noted several people using the fitness center. Breakfast was up to Homewood standards with several hot and cold options. This particular Homewood is on the smaller side, but still a nice choice for business or pleasure travel. I particularly appreciate the larger refrigerator in the suite, as I make stop by Costco before heading back up north.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Cjcolorado,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love hearing from our guests! I am sorry to hear that your stay was not ideal, we appreciate your understanding while we are under renovation and continue to improve our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a restful stay, and were able to enjoy our hot breakfast and our wireless internet. We are currently renovating our pool area, and converting it to a salt water pool. I hope that the next time you are in town you will be able to spend some time relaxing poolside! We would love to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful hotel. Clean and comfortable. They have done lots of renovations. The rooms are quiet, beds comfortable and the kitchen amenities great. Breakfast and Managers suppers were more than I expected and really delicious!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The room was clean. The kitchen had all the expected pans, dishes, etc. We had a bit of trouble with our shower not working and was initially told that a maintenance person wasn't on-site that day but would return the next! That was NOT the right answer. Ultimately, one of the front desk staff was able to fix the problem. The property is getting old. While clean, it feels tired and needs a make over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Timothy James B,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad to see that you found your room to your liking. Please accept my apology for your shower head not working and that my staff wasn't able to fix it immediately, but I am happy to see we were able to get it taken care of. I'm also sorry if our property seemed a little rough on the edges. We are actually in the middle of a renovation right now! All of our guest rooms have been completed and our lobby is scheduled for the end of this year. We are all very excited to see the finished product and to be able to show it off to our guests. I hope that you can come back and stay with us once it is fully completed.

Sincerely,
Rebecca K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This Homewood Suites is clean and friendly. I usually don't sleep well when traveling, but the bed was very comfortable. I really like the setup of the Homewood Suites; having the separation of the kitchen/dinning room and the bedroom. Having a table verses a desk is always a welcome change. I also like the breakfasts - the combination of cold and hot. Being able to grab a yogurt and coffee and held off to the clients for work is awesome. I also like having a fridge in my room - keep my water and soda cold. The workout room was nice too. Having a couple elliptical and treadmills along with free weights. Exactly what I use at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Molly F,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review for our hotel. We love hearing from our guests! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We are thrilled to be able to provide our guests with great amenities and residential style suites that make our guests feel at home. We would love to see you again when your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids.

Warm thanks,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids

Address: 3920 Stahl Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#7 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites-by Hilton, is an upscale, yet casual, all-suite residential-style hotel that caters to travelers seeking a homelike hotel experience for a few days or more. The extra space and privacy of the suites, the casual atmosphere, and the many homelike amenities and services ensure guests satisfy their individual need for comfort, flexibility and convenience. All at the price of a high-quality, traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Homewood Suites Grand Rapids
Hilton Grand Rapids
Homewood Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hilton
Grand Rapids Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.