We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3920 Stahl Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms were nice and clean but the walls are a bit thin. I could hear our neighbors talking sometimes. The location is very good and close lots of shops and restaurants. My only complaint was they were doing renovation and it was very loud at times.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Flynomore,
Thank you for your lovely review of our Homewood Suites Grand Rapids hotel. We love that our guests can bring every member of their family with them when they travel---even the furry ones! I have shared your comments with our staff to commend them on their dedication to guest satisfaction. They are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    65
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
86
42
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is one of Homewood's oldest yet it is in really good shape. It is very clean and well taken care of. Actually they are now in the process of renovating the entire place. Jamel welcomed us at the front desk and checked us in. He did a great job in covering everything we would need to know during our stay. He was very friendly and had a great smile. This location will be first on my list when I return to this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Richard F!
Thank you for your great review of the Homewood Suites by Hilton-Grand Rapids. We strive to provide excellent accommodations with unparalleled service, and your comments show us that we are achieving that goal! We hope to see you again soon to show you our continued hotel renovations!

Thanks again!
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very nice hotel, the reason we stayed here is they allowed large dogs.
The hotel was well appointed and clean. The grounds were nice and there was a lot of good green space to walk the dog on.
Breakfast was a bit more than the usual waffle, including scrambled eggs, potatoes and soggy sausage. The lady taking care of the breakfast area was one of the hardest workers I've seen in a while. Although we didn't use them, the indoor pool looked inviting, and the in room kitchen could be a real benefit to someone staying a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Flynomore,
Thank you for your lovely review of our Homewood Suites by Hilton-Grand Rapids hotel. We love that our guests can bring every member of their family with them when they travel---even the furry ones!
I have shared your comments with our staff to commend them on their dedication to guest satisfaction. They are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Homewood Suites by Hilton-Grand Rapids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb Twp., United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel was in a good area with a lot of nearby conveniences. The suites were very nice. The hallways smelled a little funny. There were a lot of families with small children because of the style of rooms. This meant that it could be loud at times. Overall, I would say this was an excellent hotel if you are looking for a suite with multiple rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Mark S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review for our Homewood Suites Grand Rapids. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our suites and the local area attractions! We certainly love being so close to great restaurants and shopping while being tucked away in a quiet corner! I want to apologize for the noise level and funny smell that you experienced while with us. We strive to provide comfortable and relaxing accommodations to all of our guests. Please know that your comments are being used to evaluate our staff procedures to insure each and every guest can "be at home" while staying with us. We look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you back to the Grand Rapids area!

Thanks again,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I always seek out a Homewood Suites when I travel with my family. The two room suites are great and most have a pool and/or a basketball/tennis court. The breakfasts and dinners served are always good, but primarily have a "heated up" taste. There are several good restaurants and shopping within a couple miles either direction of this location. I will stay here again on my next visit to MI. The hotel was under renovation, which didn't affect our stay, but it will improve our future stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapidsHWS_GM, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Cara P,

Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We love our location close to restaurants, the mall and other great shops and attractions!
I appreciate your feedback about our renovation as well. It is important to hear from guests that our management of the process is working and that the guests are not feeling negatively impacted by the work going on.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Homewood Suites in Grand Rapids was very nice. We had a two-room suite that was more than adequate. We paid extra to stay there because the Homewood Hotels advertise a light dinner Monday through Thursday nights. That's always been true until this time when the printed schedule in the room surprised us with the announcement that there would be no food service on Thursday, the 4th. I wish I could tell my family, "Sorry, there's dinner tonight. It's a holiday!" I realize that many guests are at the beach or fireworks displays on the 4th, but we are seniors and planned to spend a quiet night at the hotel after sightseeing in Muskegon.
Breakfast was good, but keep in mind that the food is put away at 9 am on weekdays, which doesn't quite mesh with the late sleeping habits of people on vacation during the summer. We saw many guests come down to find that most of the food had been taken away.
I would have given the hotel 5 stars, if it hadn't been for the lack of promised food service on the 4th.

Room Tip: During the renovation work that's going on now, ask for a room away from the noise. We heard it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapidsHWS_GM, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi nana8fish,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, it helps us know what areas we can improve in and where we are excelling!
I apologize for the confusion surrounding our dinner service on Thursday July 4th. While it is our hotels standard practice to not serve dinner on holidays, I can understand how it is disappointing to expect it and not get it.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to get out and do some sightseeing in West Michigan.

We hope to see you again when you are next in Grand Rapids. We would love to show you how we have used your comments to improve our service.

Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First suite was a horror show--defective bedroom TV, refrigerator ice maker water line flooded part of the suite, toilet seat would not stay up, no lighting in living room. All resolved by being moved to another suite after 2 nights. High noise level due to ongoing renovations that started at 8 AM Fri, Sat, Sun, Mon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Alan W,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us last week. I am so sorry to hear the start of your stay was less than wonderful! I saw my Assistant Manager was in contact with you, and I trust he was able to express how truely sorry we are for the lack of comfort with your stay. If there is anything else I can do to assist, please do not hesitate to let me know!

Sincerely,
Rebecca Kuptz
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Grand Rapids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids

Address: 3920 Stahl Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#5 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#7 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites-by Hilton, is an upscale, yet casual, all-suite residential-style hotel that caters to travelers seeking a homelike hotel experience for a few days or more. The extra space and privacy of the suites, the casual atmosphere, and the many homelike amenities and services ensure guests satisfy their individual need for comfort, flexibility and convenience. All at the price of a high-quality, traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Homewood Suites Grand Rapids
Hilton Grand Rapids
Homewood Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hilton
Grand Rapids Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.