We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3920 Stahl Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #5 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good stay overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the weekend while apartment hunting in Grand Rapids. The room was clean, and had everything I needed for a weekend stay - Microwave, fridge, 2 burner cooktop, kitchen table, sofa, tvs in living room and bedroom. The walls were thin, I could hear the people above me when they ran the shower, flushed the toilet, etc, but not dissimilar to other hotels I have stayed at in this price range and not unexpected for me.

David at the front desk was great- friendly and personable for my whole stay. I checked in about 2 hours earlier than planned on Friday, but my room was ready and I was able to drop off my luggage before heading to appointments. Breakfast was the standard continental fare - eggs, bacon or sausage, breads and muffins,cereal, fruit, oatmeal, waffles. Juice and coffee. Saved me time in the mornings. There's a Starbucks not far away, off 28th and E. Beltline, if you prefer lattes and cappucinos in the AM.

Location was good for me - close to the airport and not far from I-96. My GPS was able to take me to it with no issues. It is hard to see from East Paris and 28th St, as the hotel sits back behind a strip mall.

Would stay here again if I need a hotel in the area, particularly if I need a temp housing solution while waiting for my apartment to be ready for move in. Like the ability to buy my own food and make my own meals on a longer term basis, and the large size of the rooms make it more livable for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Had a room around the back side of the hotel, away from the elevators, and did not have much foot tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    57
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
83
31
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metro Detroit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Was unable to maintain temperature in room, notified front desk several times. No luck. Noise from upper floor, did not allow us to sleep, lodged complaints. Food odor during meals could be smelled in all hallways & in room, was not pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapidsHWS_GM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello Ramy A,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us.

I truly apologize if you were inconvenienced by noises from the upper floor and if you had any troubles with your heating unit in your room. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I sincerely apologize if we were not able to deliver this for you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that I will take your comments into consideration to improve our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town; you consider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We always have a very relaxing stay at Homewood Suites! They welcome our pets, have a very very nice breakfast and Mon-Thurs. have a dinner as well. (Free) The pool is 4ft deep, which is great for my young kids. Fitness room is very nice and have a business room is handy. Wi-fi as well. I cannot say enough good things about the staff!!! A great value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The rooms are very nice, pretty and clean. But I am a paraplegic confined to a wheelchair with no use of my legs. If you are a quad or para I would not stay here. The beds are so high I needed extra help getting onto the bed. We also had to move the bed to be able to get my wheelchair on the side of the bed I use. I mentioned the bed being to tall for me and the lady told me that the rooms are going to be under construction soon and she will mention it to them. A lot of help that was. Also the kitchen cabinets are out of my reach. They did have a really nice electronic hoyer lift in the pool. Unfortunately I did not get to use it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapidsHWS_GM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello Judi R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you found our rooms nice and clean, and noticed our new electronic pool lift. As you mentioned, our hotel is starting a renovation and one of the focus areas is making the bedrooms more accessible which should make future stays more enjoyable.

We appreciate your business and hope you will come back to test out our remodeled rooms later this year.

Sincerely,
Rob Schmidt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negaunee, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for the first time in January when Hawthorne Suites gave our reserved room away. Both times we were very pleased with the staff and accomodations. The price may be a little higher than Hawthorne Suites but it is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If I could bucket my ratings they would be as follows: Rating 5 (excellent): booking the reservation, changing room to be near others we were traveling with. Rating 3 (avg): Hotel staff was pleasant, room was big enough for two adults, two tweens. Nice to have full kitchen. Rating 1 (terrible): I agree that the hotel is dated and not super 'clean feeling'. Stains on room furniture, significant rips in carpet. Rating 2 (poor): after checking in, we left and came back to our room to a nice note welcoming "some other guest name" to the hotel with snacks and waters in fridge... a little nervous about that considering we had already been checked in for several hours!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapidsHWS_GM, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Jennifer R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We love hearing from our guests. It really helps us to pinpoint areas of improvement and give kudos to our staff for a job well done!
I am so happy that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. They truly enjoy working to make our guests as comfortable as possible. I would like to apologize for the negative impression our furnishings left you. We are scheduled to begin a complete renovation in very soon. We will be renovating all of our guest suites, breakfast area, lobby/lodge and exercise facility. We are very excited to show everyone the finished product! We would love to see you again when your travels bring you to the Grand Rapids area!

Thank you again for your review!
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Homewood Suites by Hilton-Grand Rapids
616-285-7100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbilt, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Room was clean, well appointed, and large enough to accomodate two adults and two toddlers. Breakfast offered something for everyone and was well made and presented. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, especially the breakfast staff. Pool was a little cool but the kids loved it anyway. Nice, quiet executive center, great to get away from the kids while I wrapped up a little business. This will definitely be my go-to for Grand Rapids accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids

Address: 3920 Stahl Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites-by Hilton, is an upscale, yet casual, all-suite residential-style hotel that caters to travelers seeking a homelike hotel experience for a few days or more. The extra space and privacy of the suites, the casual atmosphere, and the many homelike amenities and services ensure guests satisfy their individual need for comfort, flexibility and convenience. All at the price of a high-quality, traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Homewood Suites Grand Rapids
Homewood Grand Rapids
Hilton Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hilton
Grand Rapids Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.