We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge & Suites

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2985 Kraft Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012 via mobile

Stay here when we visit GR. It's a clean and comfortable hotel with plenty of room to stretch out in the two room suites. The only disappointment was they have removed direct tv from their service! Standard continental breakfast. Good, no frills stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
16
16
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I travel for business weekly and thought I would try this place. HUGE mistake. My trip was cancelled and I tried for two days to call the hotel and nobody answered and the automated voice then hung up on me.
Finally I got through to cancel and the person on the other end barely spoke english. I checked my VISA later and saw that they still charged me even though I cancelled. I called again and the hotel person told me I was stuck and there was nothing I could do.
I took care of it through VISA, but the absolute WORST customer service I have ever dealt with in my 20 years of business travel.
Avoid this hotel at all costs!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were in Grand Rapids for a hockey game, and I stayed overnight at the Econo Lodge and Suites with my teenage son. First, let me say by giving this a 5 out of 5 rating, I am not at all saying I think this is a five star hotel. It is not. This rating is based on the comfort, cleanliness, and value of the hotel, which were all excellent. For our stay, we payed just over $60 for the night, tax included, with our AAA discount.

We stayed in a two queen bed suite. The suite itself was very roomy. There was a room in front with a queen size bed, a desk and chair, and television with DirectTV. This room also had a DVD/CD player in it. There was a little kitchenette area, with a small fridge, microwave, sink, and coffee maker. This was by the bathroom, which separated, the two rooms. In the back room there was another queen bed, with another television, and a closet. There was a thermostat to control the temperature in the room, which was very comfortable.

The hotel is in a nice area of Grand Rapids, near the airport, and a ten minute drive from the downtown area. There were several fast food establishments within a mile, and a sports bar and grill right next to the hotel itself. The free continental breakfast included most of the standard fare, with assorted fruits, pastries, cereals, and juices. There was also a belgian waffle maker.

We would happily choose this hotel again if we were staying in the Grand Rapids area. It would even be good for an extended stay of a few days, with the kitchenette area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We were in Grand Rapids for a family funeral and needed a place to stay for 5 days. The Econo Lodge was the ideal place. The price was economical and the rooms were equipped with refrigerators and microwave ovens which were very convenient for us. The location is quite good--near the airport and just off the very busy 28th Street. You could hear traffic noises, but other than that, the place was very quiet. The have a breakfast room where you can help yourself to the basics (cereal, coffee, bagels, etc.) We liked the setup of the rooms--one room had a separate sitting room apart from the bedroom, and another room had the 2 full beds separated by the bathroom--allowing for privacy. I have stayed at other places in Grand Rapids, but from now on, the Econo Lodge will be my first choice. One more thing, they also allow pets.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have stayed here twice one year apart and by far this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. It is very clean and well maintained. We would recommend this as a great place to stay. The first stay we wondered if it had just been remodeled it was so nice and clean and fresh. But now a year later it still looks like new.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

To be fair the hotel was clean and the room was quite nice for the money, although the park and fly option was a problem. When I arrived at the airport and called to be picked up I was told that the owner who also drives the shuttle was out of town and that their advise to me was to pay for a taxi ride to the hotel. When I complained they argued with me for a while then finally agreed to call the owner to see if he would approve reimbursing me for the $12.00 taxi ride which he apparently agreed to. After paying the cab driver and getting a receipt I went into the hotel to get reimbursed where the desk clerk told me that the taxi driver overcharged me by $2.00 when in fact he actually knocked off 10 cents. Then they told me that $10.00 was all they could give me, I couldn’t care less about the $2.00 but was appalled at the treatment. Like my father told me “It takes a lifetime to build a reputation and only one day to ruin it”

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

This must be the nicest Econolodge in the U.S.! Every room is a suite with microwave, fridge, etc. and pull-out couch in the living room. Everything is immaculate and in good repair, with so many extra touches (flowers outside, cookies in the evening, etc.) We've never stayed anywhere in this price range that was half as nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Address: 2985 Kraft Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.