We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, Downtown!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yes, Downtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This Courtyard has been renovated into the new Marriott format, so you get the kiosk check-in and the better-than-nothing bar area. The location allows for a quick walk to many of the downtown attractions, bars and eateries. An elegant dinner at Six One Six is only a few steps up the street, as is a quintessential sports bar, Zeller's.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    120
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
43
74
11
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a good option for downtown Grand Rapids and the 'Courtyard' is a bit misleading because the level of service and amenities for the hotel are all excellent. Best of all, the location is ideal for so much in the downtown area including restaurants and sporting events. Staff is incredibly well trained and very friendly. Rooms are pretty much up to date. I agree the elevators are an issue when busy because there are only two so you can wait quite a bit. Don't have experience with other area hotels so can't compare. Room rates are high so if you get a great rate, I'd grab it. Btw, breakfast is quick and easy ... got in/out within 15 minutes. Internet is free but slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were visiting Grand Rapids! We know you have several options to choose from in our area, so we appreciate you selecting us. We also appreciate you taking the time to review your experience and share these excellent scores with other prospective guests. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights over the 4th of July weekend. This hotel was recently renovated which is always nice. Everything seemed to work well. We slept in late one day and didn't leave our room until after noon and our room was not cleaned. The workout area had everything that I needed. The valet staff were very helpful (almost overbaring at times). The location is ideal if you are staying in Grand Rapids. There are a ton of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. I hate having to pay for parking, but it is to be expected when staying in a larger city. They have put a ton of money into the downtown area and it shows. I was able to take advantage of their government rate or we would not have been able to afford to stay there. It was a nice place, but there is no way I would have paid full price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent a Saturday night at this property as a get away weekend.............it seemed like bachelorette party night as during our comings and goings we saw at least 3 separate groups of 10 young ladies..........the valet, desk staff were helpful and efficient.......the property was clean and in good repair.............grounds were clean and well maintained.........reinforces why I'm a Marriott Reward member and am brand loyal whenever possible

Room Tip: the western face of the hotel offers a restricted river view; the eastern side is office building, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your weekend getaway! We know you have several hotel options for such an occasion, and sincerely appreciate you choosing us. Thank you as well for your kind words about our property and staff - we hope to host you again when you are next in Grand Rapids!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imlay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our second visit to the Courtyard Grand Rapids downtown. Once again, the staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Just about everything is within walking distance which is why we chose this hotel for our visit. Both the Gerald R. Ford Presidential library and the GR Public museum are within a few blocks of the hotel. Panera bread is just around the corner and the B.O.B is across from the hotel. We walked the Skywalk one day from our hotel to the Amway Grand Plaza. Our room had a view of Monroe Ave and the B.O.B. We booked a King room. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. We ate breakfast at the Bistro which was very good and reasonably priced (you can order room service). We are planning on booking this hotel for Art Prize in the fall.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side might be directly across from the Skywalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for coming to see us a second time! We are glad that you enjoyed both visits, and appreciate you taking the time to share about your experiences in this review. There is certainly plenty to do within walking distance of the hotel, and I'm glad you had the chance to take advantage of some of the wonderful nearby destinations. I think you will really be able to take advantage of our location once again when you are visiting for ArtPrize! We look forward to hosting you again then!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is very close to everything downtown and is in walking distance to lots of attractions and restaurants! There were a few minor things you could tell that needed attention. The ceiling had some spots on it which was either water damage or who knows and you could see they did some updating but didn't take a lot of time or money to do it. Still the staff was very pleasant and helpful and overall it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to review your experience. Thank you especially for taking notice of our friendly staff! I am glad you enjoyed our proximity to so many restaurants. Thank you as well for your feedback about maintenance - we will use that to continually improve our facility. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Grand Rapids.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everyone from the person who checked us in, to the valet, to the bartenders, to the various employees walking around were extremely friendly and nice. We ate and drank in The Bistro, which had pretty good food and service. The room was comfortable and quiet. My only complaint is that the vanity in the bathroom had absolutely no room for my toiletries. This may be due to the fact that we were given an ADA compliant room (even though we did not need one). That was a little frustrating, but a great experience otherwise.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
#3 of 47 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza Hotel
Amway Grand Plaza Hotel
#5 of 47 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
#9 of 47 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riverfront Hotel Grand Rapids
Riverfront Hotel Grand Rapids
#36 of 47 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#15 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.