We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Toledo, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were only going to grand rapids for the day for the Founder's Fest so we arrived really early and we were pleased to be able to check in at noon. This was surprising to me because the hotel was very busy! The location for the downtown restaurants and bars is perfect! Everything is in walking distance. We were not at the hotel very much but it was clean and nicely decorated so no complaints there. I thought the price was a little steep but it is a downtown hotel so i guess that's to be expected...and honestly the location and for being their just for the night life was worth it. Normally i'm a priceline freak and love to get the great deal but because i wanted this specific location i paid the list price on the hotel website. We made a mistake tho and parked in the neighboring hotel's parking garage and paid $23 to leave....i believe i saw that it was $14 or $19 for the courtyard's garage...so watch for that when parking. (they also offered valet but when we arrived the valet area was very busy with check outs)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    90
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
20
49
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Llandrillo, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was booked for me by a colleague several weeks in advance for a six night stay. The advantages first: if you need to be downtown in Grand Rapids this is a good location, just round the corner from a pleasant area of this fine city. And the bed was comfortable and the staff are polite and friendly.
The 'Bistro' - the only option for food and coffee is OK.
Sadly, apart from that it's downhill. The 'hot' water was never more than warm and the over bath shower was poor - I'd be ashamed to have it in my very ordinary home. The air conditioning system was noisy. For $189 per night, plus taxes, plus $14 for parking this is not great. Oh, and if the parking is full they offer parking a short walk away for $16. I'll be back in Grand Rapids, but not this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I’d like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you suffered during your recent stay with us. We certainly appreciate your patience and understanding while we worked to correct the unforeseen circumstance of our elevators experiencing problems. This truly was a difficult situation for both yourself and our hotel staff; we also appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your stay in our constant strive for perfection. Although our outside elevator company was able to get the elevator up and running by 9:15pm the elevator then experienced further issues starting around 11:50pm and was restored once again by 2:00am. Both elevators have now been fixed and are operating as normal.

I have made our Engineering crew aware of the Air Conditioning noise and hot water inconveniences you unfortunately suffered from as well and asked that they assess and correct these issues promptly.

Again, we absolutely appreciate your feedback and understanding. Please contact our General Manager, Jenifer Cutter, when you are next in Grand Rapids (she has provided her contact information to you directly). She would love to make sure your next stay is a positive one and offer a complimentary upgrade if available.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you are a traveler like I am and live in hotels more than your own home, then this is one place you will want to stay given the opportunity. We stayed for a three month job in GR and during that stay we were treated like family. From the front desk staff to the valet everyone was very polite and professional. When looking for the perfect fit for a job as an employer, Marriott has done a great job with their key people here. Kasmin the bartender and her staff (ask for Jes if you are at a table) make you feel like a regular each time you walk in.(They even treated me well when my Blackhawks beat the Deadwings!)
Alexis Baker will make sure that you have everything you need as well as offer some great places to eat and drink in GR. I don't know when she finds time to sleep because she is always there!
I will miss the people in the Courtyard in GR, Great Job!

Hope to see you all in the future, miss the fruit loop milk!

Signed... Oscar

Room Tip: See Alexis B, go to the river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Oscar,

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in Grand Rapids - we truly enjoyed having you and were glad to have you as a member of the Courtyard family! I have passed on your kind words to Kasmin and Alexis. We are fortunate to have such genuinely hospitable employees, and so appreciate you taking notice. If you are staying in Grand Rapids again, we would love the opportunity to have you again. Fruit Loop milk guaranteed!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The worst Courtyard by Marriott. Right from the time of parking till you leave it. They are taking advantage of the Marriott name as long as it helps them make more money, but forget about the guests getting anything `Marriott`out of this place. I am sure if Marriott reviews this hotel , they will throw it out off their brand. You enter into the most congested and dirty parking lot I have ever come across.If you are lucky to find a place, pay $14 a night. At the time of check in the Valet parking person seems to get a bigger role than the guest check in person as they charge $19 for Valet parking.
The person who checked me in seemed pissed off that she has to check in people.She really hated the fact that she had to give me an upgrade (on requesting for it).
Get ready for humiliation if you have any Elite status with Marriott.( I am a Platinum Elite ,unfortunately).
I complained to the manager about her but never got any feedback from him.
Carpets have spots , right from the time you enter all the way to your room.The coffee maker is in the Toilet!!

Room Tip: Stay at the Holiday inn nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so very sorry to learn of your unacceptable experience, and take these issues very seriously. If you would be so kind as to follow up with our guests services manager Alexis Baker at ABaker@courtyardgr.com directly so that we can gather more information about your experience and resolve these problems we would greatly appreciate it.

We appreciate you staying with us while you were in Grand Rapids and would really value the opportunity to make this situation right.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place is exactly what you would expect when you book a room at a courtyard by marriot. it was perfectly fine, no real complaints. the service was very good at the front desk. everyone was really friendly. and the rooms were fine. not the nicest 4 star rooms you've ever seen, but a solid 3.5 type place.

And the location is terrific. It's right downtown, a block or two off the river and right across the street from all the action. And most importantly, just a couple blocks from places like the Hopcat and Grand Rapids Brewing Co. and good restaurants like San Chez, and just 4 blocks from Founders! The price at $170 was a little higher than i'd like to spend for this level of hotel, but considering the location it was probably worth it. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I liked the room. it was clean which is very important to me. I was bummed that there is no late night room service. All local restaurants close early too. it would be nice if hotel had a late nite list of open places. There is a great burger joint: Bagger Dave's right around the corner on Fulton open till midnight! was there for a wedding and was supposed to get a gift bag. Never got it! Couldn't use laundry room but not Hotels fault. was result of Mother Nature!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We apologize for the lack of late-night dining options available to you - that is something we will keep under consideration as we look to improve our services. We also apologize that you never received your wedding gift bag, that was obviously a mistake on our part. We are glad you enjoyed your experience overall, and hope to have the opportunity to host you for a flawless stay when you are next in Grand Rapids.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We flew from San Diego to Chicago, then drove to Grand Rapids for the night on our way to Mackinac Island. This hotel was a perfect and simple stop along the way. It was easy to find and close to the highway. There was an odd smell in the room but given our purpose, it was an easy stop off point.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;