We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel in Downtown with protected walkway to the arena.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel in Downtown with protected walkway to the arena.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Spent one night at this perfectly located hotel. 5 min walk to the Van Andel Arena by street or skyway. Had two rooms, both were first rate as with other Marriott properties, but the rooms were smaller than expected. Regardless, provided restful sleep environment. Hotel room service was good. Refrigerator in room was nice. Parking was $14 self or $19 valet. Large indoor pool is open 24hr. Will definitely return, especially when going to an event at the arena, the convenient location cannt be beat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    100
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
26
64
10
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very good location. Staff is friendly. Rooms are nice. Sucks that you have to pay for parking. It seems like sometimes you do and other times no. Also lacks amenities like paper plates and utensils. We had pizza delivered! What are we suppose to use so we don't destroy the room or linens??

Gr is a great city and this hotel is great

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for a night because we came to town to check out a Griffins game. This hotel is located a block from the arena and also right next to several restaurants and bars. Only problem with our room was due to safety concerns, we were only permitted one roll away bed, even though our room was huge and could have easily fit three or four roll away beds in there. Also our bathroom didn't have a working vent, which is never good when four guys in their 20s all need to share one bathroom after a night of drinking and late night snacking. Based on their great location, we all would go back to the Courtyard in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Our room had a mini fridge, which was empty, so we could fill with our own drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Upper level room with nice view of the city as requested, check. King bed, check. Clean room, check. Musty smell in room, definite bummer. Weird thing was bathroom did not have musty smell. Saw other reviews about musty smell but thought we could acclimate as we were not spending much time in the room and other reviews were placed in 4 different rooms which all had the musty smell, so we just dealt with it. Room/bath were exceptionally clean, no evidence of mold anywhere, must be in ventilation system? Room was quiet, during what appeared to be busy weekend with various semi pro/kids hockey teams in residence. Decent work area/chair and another chair to lounge and watch large flat screen TV. Hotel is centrally located to sports/concert venue and nightspots, self parked the car for $14, and walked the night away. Enjoyed a couple cocktails in the "self service?" bistro area in the early afternoon. Check in was busy even with all 3 stations manned, but went smoothly...staff were very friendly/informative with directions to parking/elevators/room/nighttime destination(s). Checkout was a breeze. Had I been staying more than one night or spending more time in the room, would have asked for a new room due to musty odor.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott on New Year's eve. We came for the hockey (excellent location for Van Andel Arena) and not for the big party. We paid a large surcharge for the holiday, and a $14. Parking fee. The room was small, but adequate. Nothing special. Two basic needs not met: 1) no hairdryer in bathroom. I found it later in a bag in the hall closet; too late, as I said, for my needs. Most annoying was the second need: To get out of the parking structure. The exit required a parking token that should have been given at registration. It was not provided, so we had to drive back and reenter the hotel lobby and wait in line for the clerk. No apology was offered for the half-hour inconvenience. I wouldn't stay there again. We left feeling "ripped off."

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing this important feedback with us. I am so very sorry that your experience was a disappointment. Hair dryers are typically available in each guest room, so clearly a mistake was made, and exiting the parking structure is supposed to be quick and easy. We would love the opportunity to host you again and showcase our service. If you would be so kind as to send an email to our Guest Services Manager at abaker@ourcourtyardgr.com, she would like to learn more about your stay and make this situation right.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanatah, IN
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very nice room. Convenient location. Close to The Bob, on the river, BEST place to stay when seeing concerts at VanAndel Arena. Walk between arena and hotel was fast, heated and super convenient....no need to worry about parking or crowds when leaving the arena.

Room Tip: We enjoy the view of the Grand River, highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing this fantastic review! We are so honored that you proclaimed us the best! The convenience to the arena, bars/restaurants, and convention center is quite unique and hard to beat. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are attending a concert at the Van Andel Arena!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldron, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel to attend a convention at Devos. It was convenient, though a bit of a hike to the convention center. Nicely decorated, comfortable room with lots of space. Did not notice a musty smell, in fact, the corridors and lobby had a very pleasant aroma - like they were using a room freshner or something. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Grand Rapids Courtyard
Grand Rapids Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.