We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend concert cancelled but stayed anyway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Oxford, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Weekend concert cancelled but stayed anyway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Had a concert over the weekend that was cancelled but decided to make a weekend of it anyway. Hotel itself is in decent shape. The foyer and bar are very very nice. I will agree with some reviewers that there does seem to be a slight musty smell in the rooms. Nothing horrible but worth noting. I had a king suite. It was decent but nothing immaculate. Could use a little updating especially in the bathroom. No major complaints but for the price it should be a little more updated. I do need to give a special shout out to Alexis. She overheard about my concert being cancelled and she personally delivered a gift basket with tickets to the local food and wine show and other goodies to my room. You are awesome Alexis! I will definitely be back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    90
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
20
49
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our recent stay at this fantastic hotel for our son's wedding left us raving about the amenities and excellent service this fine establishment provided! And to top it all off, it is smack in the middle of all the action! Located right on the river, it is within walking distance of the Gerald Ford Museum, downtown boutique shops, and right across the street from "The BOB (Big Old Building)" that is loaded with eateries and nightclubs. I guarantee you we will stay here again on our next trip to Grand Rapids, Michigan!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, Mi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed on a weekend in July with three girlfriends - perfect hotel for an overnight stay in downtown Grand Rapids! They have onsite parking for $14, and you can plan to leave your car and walk to several places of interest in the area. Directly across the street is the B.O.B, an entertainment complex with restaurants, lounges, comedy clubs, breweries, etc - something for everyone! T.G.I.Friday's is also across the street. The hotel offers complimentary coffee in the morning in the chic lobby. Very nice accommodations - what a fun place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us for your weekend with the girls and for sharing this review! We are fortunate to be in such an ideal location for our business and leisure travelers alike. We are glad you had chance to experience many of the fantastic attractions, restaurants, and nightlife right nearby and that you took note of our recently updated lobby. Please stay with us again soon!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stay here for work and am looking to find a hotel for a similar rate ASAP. The rooms of this hotel have a very musty smell that cannot be ignored. Not sure if it's the carpet or couches or what, but it has pushed me to write this review. I have been in 4 rooms to far, and all have had this issue. Additionally others in my work group have commented their rooms have the musty smell as well.
This issue needs to be taken care of ASAP, especially because the lobby, the staff, the parking and bistro are good but not comparable to the smell of the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Courtyard Marriott is a great Hotel and very close to all the happenings of downtown Grand Rapids. The room was nice and very clean and lots of room. Compared to the prices of the nearby hotels this was a good offer. We paid $209 for a suite. The pool is normally opened 24 hrs which I have never heard of before but that night it had closed due to being cleaned. They also have a 24 hr. gym as well. TGI Fridays and many other resturaunts are within walking distance and they even have horse carriages that will go right by the hotels. The cost for them is $40 for half hour or $70 for a full hour. Not bad if you want a romantic night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying in a suite with us and for sharing this review of your experience! I apologize that you weren't able to enjoy the pool 24 hours - this is a great benefit for guests on any schedule. We are fortunate to have so many restaurants and fun things to do within walking distance, and I'm glad you took note! Please join us again soon, we look forward to hosting you!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Greeted by friendly and helpful staff on arrival, who smiled and said hello each time we came into the lobby - really enjoyed the feel of this hotel. Location was good. Room was comfortable and amenities good. Timed our trip well to also enjoy the annual art prize, so plenty of interest to see, and good atmosphere in the streets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing this great review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take in ArtPrize. I am also glad that you enjoyed the environment of our hotel and appreciated our friendly staff. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again during your next visit to Grand Rapids!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel falsely charges customers of room damages. Although, these were eventually dropped for more than one of us, I do not feel pleased staying here. Only the carpets at the lobby and main floor have been upgraded. Other floor's carpets are old and smelly. The only good part is the location. However, I would much prefer JW Marriott for additional cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at our hotel, and for sharing your feedback with us. We are very concerned to hear that you were incorrectly charged, and ask that you please contact us directly so that we can correct any mistakes that were made. Please email our guest services manager, Alexis Baker at abaker@ourcourtyardgr.com so that we can take care of this situation.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.