We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
North Muskegon, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spent a night here during Art Prize 2012 and was happy with the experience.
We did have a handicapped room so the extra inrerior space could have swayed our opinion. : )
Staff at main desk and bistro were freindly and informative to any questions we asked.
Sports deck on top of parking deck was cool and pool/hottub area was very nice.
Lack of a complimentary breakfast and confusing access to on-premise parking ramp were our only complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your time in Grand Rapids for ArtPrize! You chose a fantastic time to be in our city, and we hope you enjoyed the art and culture the event brings. Thank you for sharing about your experience with our friendly staff and about the things you enjoyed about our facility. Please stay with us again soon!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    100
    30
    15
    8
See reviews for
26
64
10
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business in September 2012. The location is very convenient for downtown attractions, and the hotel does a good job of serving business travelers. Standard rooms have a good set-up for workspace, and wireless Internet is provided in the room rate. Rooms also include a small sofa, which makes the room more comfortable. Check-in was efficient, and the rooms were clean. Breakfast is not included in the room rate although the property has a restaurant/cafe with a limited menu that is expensive for what you get. The bill was accurate, and check-out was quick. I would consider staying here again if I returned to downtown Grand Rapids, but I would explore other options too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us while you were in Grand Rapids on business, and for sharing about your experience. Thank you also for your observations and comments on how our guest rooms are set up conveniently for business travelers - we have paid special attention to this through our renovation process and are thrilled you noticed the attention to detail. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again the next time you are in the city.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Our three day finance conference was held here and I thought everything went well. The room is very large and can accommodate a lot of people. (We had one large room and used 1/2 for meetings and 1/2 for meals.) The food was good but nothing outstanding and only they do not serve Diet Coke (argh)!

Parking was very easy in/out and local folks received tokens to use for parking. Excellent location if you are visiting during Grand Rapids Art Prize! The exhibits are within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for holding your conference here and for posting this review! We recently remodeled our meeting facilities and are thrilled to receive your positive feedback on them. In addition to providing a convenient location and campus for groups, we are pleased to be offering updated facilities as well. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, MIchigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were attending a convention at the DeVos Center, so chose this hotel for its location. The room itself was clean and all the furnishings looked relatively new. As a Marriott rewards member, I was happy to see that requests for additional towels and other items had been provided. The beds were comfortable and we had no problems with anything in the room. The downside of Courtyards is that you have to pay for breakfast. However, we enjoyed our quick meal at the bistro in the morning. The only downside for a quick service option, opposite the restaurant, the service should be much faster. We had to keep going up to the counter to ask for our food items that were delivered separately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were visiting Grand Rapids for your convention. We are thrilled to be able to offer a skywalk connecting our hotel to the convention center, entertainment arena, and other hotels and restaurants! I'm so glad you enjoyed your room, and your quick meal at The Bistro in the morning. We have taken note of your feedback on service and will use it to improve. We hope to host you again soon when you are next in Grand Rapids.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights on business. I travel all the time and rarely have trouble sleeping but did here. Poor ventilation with the AC making lots of noise as it cycled on and off, very uncomfortable bed and walls were paper thin so you could hear all hallway activity. I would not stay here ever again and although the desk clerk was pleasant, I asked for a paper to be delivered in the am of my second night (there was none there my first night) and they said of course could have USA Today (only choice available) and then they did not deliver it. Only good thing I could say here is it was well located and reasonably clean.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting our hotel while you were in Grand Rapids on business, and for taking the time to share this review. We sincerely apologize for our shortcomings during your stay. We pride ourselves on providing a restful and rejuvenating place for business travelers, and we clearly missed our mark during your stay. We would like to gather more information about your experience to help us improve, so if you would be so kind to contact our Guest Care Manager, Alexis Baker, at abaker@courtyardgr.com to provide more information about your stay, we would really appreciate it. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

As a Platinum Elite member of Marriott Rewards, I have stayed at various Marriott facilities all over the country and generally find them to be superior in both amenities and service. This particular Courtyard by Marriott, while well located in downtown Grand Rapids near the Devos Place Convention Center, was disappointing for two reasons. First of all, the air conditioning unit fan was very loud, turning on every few minutes both day and night. Secondly, our room, a complimentary upgrade, had a small refrigerator stuck at the back of a small alcove in the room behind an easy chair and ottoman, making access to the refrigerator difficult.

The beds and pillows were quite comfortable. The room had a flat panel TV. High speed wi-fi access was available on a complimentary basis. Hotel parking has a daily charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Marriott brand, and for choosing to stay with us during your time in Grand Rapids. We're glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel, and the comfortable bed and amenities of your room.

If possible, we would like to connect with you to find out exactly which room you were staying in so that we can address the air conditioner noise issue as well as the placement of the refrigerator. Please email our Guest Care Manager, Alexis Baker, at abaker@courtyardgr.com. Thank you for posting this review and we hope to see you again soon!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a typical Courtyard with one quirk - parking. I didn't mind paying the $14 per day in the garage, of which there are two entrances, but while walking in downtown Grand Rapids I found out the Public Parking garage right next door is $9 a day and easier to get in and out!

Anyway, the hotel was very clean, relatively quiet despite the fact my room overlooked Monroe Ave and the B.O.B. which seemed to be quite a busy place. The Bistro was just OK. Breakfast BLT is fine but the salmon I had at dinner one night was very over cooked and the rice was dried out. What did I expect!

The good news is that downtown Grand Rapids has many nice restaurants to walk to from this hotel and plenty of activities in Rosa Oarks circle, the Art Museum and the Grand River to walk along or fish if wpyou desire. This is a very nice place with a very nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Avenue NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Grand Rapids Courtyard
Grand Rapids Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.