We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Beltline Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    107
    78
    38
    35
See reviews for
126
54
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I arrived shortly around 5:15 for my 3 o'clock check in. There was a line about 5 deep to check in. There were 2 people at the desk but only one was working, a tall guy in Docker's and no name tag. As I am waiting, I here him tell the lady in front of me that her 2 bedroom (same as I have) isn't available, she is not happy, but leaves to come back later. I try to check in, and am told in a snotty tone "I am going to tell you the same thing as I did her, the 2 bedrooms are not clean yet, we had a few people check out today." This is 2 hours after check in and they can't get the rooms clean, hate to break it to them, but checking out is a normal part of their business they should be able to handle. So I asked him to please check. He calls housekeeping on the walkie-talkie, and she tells him that they only have one left to clean, 332. So he looks at me and says "Just come back in an hour." I point out the fact that if they only have one left to clean, that he was either lying to me or the lady in front of me, as he told two consecutive people that theirs was not clean. I had been on the road and had to cranky children. They did not offer any retribution, even though it was their issue, and did not appreciate the lack of concern from their front staff personnel, it may be isolated to this person, but I will not stay here on my return trips. I called the staybridge and got a rate only $10 more than Hawthorn for a very nice 2 bedroom and a polite staff and they will get my business on all future visits.

Room Tip: Plan on waiting until dusk for them to have a room ready.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi there.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I can tell you that your experience is not typical of our guests here at the Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids. When it rains it pours, and we had several issues that morning that led us to be late in having the 2 bedroom suites fully prepared for our guests by the check in time. We were able to offer smaller rooms to guests while the housekeepers were finishing the larger rooms, however we understand that this option did not work for everyone at that time.
We do hope you would give us another chance, however, we fully support the Staybridge as well, as it is one of our sister properties.
Thanks again for your feedback, and I sincerely apologize that your brief experience was less than satisfactory. If you would like to talk further, please contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Brooke - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel staff was great, very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean however some items in the room needed repair - shower curtain rod, door lock, window curtain was torn, light bulb needed replacement. So no items relating to cleanliness however comfort, convenience and safety were compromised.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about the staff. We are so proud of the nice, professional staff we have here. I appreciate the comments about the room repair and we will certainly look at these issues immediately.
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Brooke - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The facility was first class but what impressed me was the over the top. I shipped a folding trike to tour mi. I called ahead and the manager was most help full. They received the trike from fed ex held it until I checked in and are now holding the box until I finishe the bike tour. One of the handy men helped with a bicycle adjustment I did not have the tools to accomplish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids!
We were so happy to be able to assist in making your Michigan trip memorable. We appreciate the good comments and we hope to see you soon at the Hawthorn Suites! We hope the bike trip is going great!

Kindest Regards,
Brooke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids

Address: 2701 East Beltline Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Residence Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.