We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay-January 2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Beltline Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“Business Stay-January 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I found Hawthorn on Expedia. The price was what I was looking for. The facility is located just off 28th Street near shopping and in a safe area. The room was comfortably sized and equipped for the price. In addition, the room was clean and quiet. The only problem that I had was that when I got into the room, the heat was off. This is Grand Rapids in the Winter, so the room was freezing. The heat came on immediately, but it took the room about 30 minuters to get warm, and there were no extra balanket in the room. Despite that, I'd stay again...THIS TIME I'd call ahead to make sure the heat was on ; )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks, Anna, for your comments!
I am so glad you enjoyed the Hawthorn Suites in Grand Rapids.
I am so sorry that the heat was off - we typically leave the heat on, especially in this cold weather! Nonetheless, I am glad that the room warmed up quickly and you enjoyed the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you visit us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    95
    66
    33
    21
See reviews for
109
47
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in the penthouse unit, it had big dust clumps hanging from the ceiling fan, stains in the tub. On the outside the exterior lights were out making it very dark and dangerous on the stairway. Staff member Cody was friendly and helpful when making the reservation. The free hot breakfast was made up of make your own waffles scrambled eggs and microwaved sausage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks, Greg T., for your feedback. I have addressed the maintenance and lighting issues and we appreciate your help with letting us know of these items.
The breakfast sausage is definitely not microwaved, and I am so sorry it tasted like it was!! We are working hard to improve our breakfast standards and will be implementing some changes shortly.
Thanks for the kind words about the staff - I know they will appreciate it!
Hawthorn Suites hopes to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Brooke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The suite was clean and spacious for $100 a night, but there were some minor issues with our stay. First of all, the in-room wi-fi didn't work. It said it wasn't compatible with my device (an iPad), which put a bit of a damper on my vacation. Also, our door was open when we checked in and we found out it was more than likely because the lock was on the fritz. We'd have to slam it a couple of times to get it to close, and coming into the room it took almost two minutes each time to get the card reader to read our key and let us in.

Also, the stairs up to our unit were very slippery.

Otherwise, all the amenities were appropriate and we had a great time and we'll probably be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hawthorn Suites is glad to hear that you would stay with us again! Just to let you know we are still doing some updating since we purchased property a few months ago. We do appreciate the feedback, so that we know where the updating is needed just in case we miss it. I am sorry that your IPad would not connect, but know that we are also updating our internet as well. Minor issues will happen for a new purchase, but please know that we are trying hard to make Hawthorn Suites as good as new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

New name, new management and changes in process. This hotel is more like an apartment complex with individual buildings. Great rooms with complete kitchens! The staff is welcoming and very helpful. Full breakfast in the morning. Affordable, clean, convenient to SE Grand Rapids, and great for extended stays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for this review for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham! The location is right in the middle of everything and there are many restaurants to eat at as well. We are glad that you were comfortable here. Hawthorn Suites wants to make sure everyone feels at home here. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went to www.hotelcoupons.com and got a walk in rate of $69 per night. Love it. If you want affordable and clean this is the place. It has a fire place and kitchen in my suite. Don't look any place else you will love it here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Grand Rapids, MI is very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us! The fireplaces are great for those cold nights and fire logs are even sold in our convenient store. HotelCoupons.com is a great way to get a discounted rate here at Hawthorn. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My daughter accidentally left a pair of shoes in this hotel when we stayed in October. I called as soon as I discovered them missing and was told housekeeping had them. I provided a credit card number for postage to have them mailed to me.
Despite two subsequent phone calls, the shoes have never been returned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
I am sorry to hear that you did not receive your shoes. If they were black flats, then we still have them. The address that we tried sending them too was not found by FedEx and I had no name left to contact either, so I could not look you up in our system. If these shoes are yours, the please contact the hotel with all the information, so we can return them right away. Due to security reasons, we could not keep the credit card you gave us for too long of a period. Please let me know if these are your shoes. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An 'old style' Residence Inn' Hotel (individual buildings)

I've been staying at this hotel a minimum of 6 nights per month for the past year and a half. It’s been a great home away from home. The staff is helpful, and they have made a lot of effort to update the place after the new management took over. If you are in GR for business or a family weekend, this is a really good option for the money!!!

During the week you will find mainly business customer and/or road & utilities crew. During the weekend it is mainly families, wedding parties, and travelers.

Room Tip: You will find a second floor room to be a better choice then ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Its great to hear that you have been staying at this location for so long. Since we switched to Hawthorn Suites, from Gatehouse Suites, I hope that you have noticed some needed renovations. We appreciate the positive review and hope you continue your stay with Hawthorn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids

Address: 2701 East Beltline Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Residence Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.