We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for extended stay in Grand Rapids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2701 East Beltline Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #30 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great for extended stay in Grand Rapids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An 'old style' Residence Inn' Hotel (individual buildings)

I've been staying at this hotel a minimum of 6 nights per month for the past year and a half. It’s been a great home away from home. The staff is helpful, and they have made a lot of effort to update the place after the new management took over. If you are in GR for business or a family weekend, this is a really good option for the money!!!

During the week you will find mainly business customer and/or road & utilities crew. During the weekend it is mainly families, wedding parties, and travelers.

Room Tip: You will find a second floor room to be a better choice then ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Its great to hear that you have been staying at this location for so long. Since we switched to Hawthorn Suites, from Gatehouse Suites, I hope that you have noticed some needed renovations. We appreciate the positive review and hope you continue your stay with Hawthorn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    76
    44
    25
    15
See reviews for
86
36
24
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a ground floor suite with one kingsize bed. There was a well equiped kitchen and a comfortable living area with a TV and even a log fire (but it only takes their own special logs). The decoration and furnishings were excellent for the price range. Everything in the suite was very clean and well maintained. We were very pleasantly surprised. There was a good and informative welcome at the front desk. We were able to park the car right outside our suite. Our suite was accessed via a few wooden steps which was awkward with heavy luggage.

There is a breakfast room near the front desk, but we didnt try it. There are several restaurants within walking distance - we ate at TGI Fridays.

The airport is an easy 5 minute drive away and you pass a gas station, which is convenient if you are returning a rental car.

Next time I'm in Grand Rapids, I'll stay there again. Recommmended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write this review for Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids! We really appreciate the feedback. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time and that you would return. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with my parents in a 2 bedroom suite. Everything was wonderful. Friendly front desk staff, excellent rooms, and a breakfast that was more than the usual hotel breakfast, including scrambled eggs and sausage. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hawthorn Suites in Grand Rapids was very happy to read this review. I am glad you could feel like home here with us and I hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Pro's

1. They have individual houses. It has a feel more like Home than a Hotel.. Really Pleasant.
2. Lots of sparrows around the rooms.. Actually hundreds of them..!!
3. Location is Amazing.. Star Bucks is a Stone's Throw away.. So is Woodland mall, Macy's Sears, JC Penny, ToysRUs, Celebration Cinemas, TGI Friday's is right Next door.. So are a couple more good hotels. What more could you ask for.
4. Pool is good. they have a pool Jacuzzi..
5. Breakfast is Decent.
6. They have Social on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday.. So Snacks is served on these days. Pizzas.. Hot Dogs.. Chili.. Chips.. etc
7. Rooms are nice and clean..
8. Front Desk is always ready to help.
9. Kitchenette comes with a conventional oven, Electric Stove, Microwave, Dishwasher, Fridge and all the utensils.

Cons

1. The AC unit is close to the Bed (About 5 feet) and makes a little noise. Not loud enough to disturb your sleep though.
2. Normal TV. No LCD.

Would I stay in this Hotel again. Absolutely!

Room Tip: Get the rooms that are not next to the Main Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
All of here at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids are pleased to read this review. We have updated the t.v.'s and even more! I do apologize for the air conditioner, but we will get to this issue. I hope that you do come see again us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

As with a previous reviewer we were staying here waiting to close on a new home. Hotel could use some updates. We also had cracked drywall, and agree the outside stairs need to be redone (it looks like they may be doing some of them). But our stay has been great so far. Very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. They will clean your room every day, but since we are here for 2 weeks, I don't like that much intrusion. I just let them know when they stop each day if there is anything I need (fresh towels, dishwasher soap etc.) Onsite coin operated laundry. Very pleased with the experience so far.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather A, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed stay here at Hawthorn Suites in Grand Rapids, MI. Since we took over Gatehouse Suites not too long ago, we have already begun the renovations. I hope that you come back to visit us to see all that we have done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were moving back to the Grand Rapids area and needed a hotel to stay in until we closed on our home in the GR area. We searched and searched for hotels and there were very few with rooms available so we ended up with the Gatehouse Suites. Having lived out of state for 4 years we did not know what to expect when we booked this hotel. It did not impress us at all. You can definitely tell it is an older hotel by the looks of it. It was not unclean or unsanitary, it just looked very old and outdated. It was also pretty run down inside and out. The rooms had minor flaws, cracks in the drywall, carpet ripped, etc. The outside stairs and porch area were definitely not kept up. They looked very bad. Not the end of the world, but it did look pretty bad. We had a 2 story unit as we had kids and the set up was ok with the kids upstairs and our separate bedroom downstairs. This hotel is in a good location in Grand Rapids. You can walk right to the mall and there are plenty of dining options nearby. We did eat at the complimentary dinner one night and it was actually rather good. I believe it was brought in by one of the italian restaraunts nearby. So no this is not the worst hotel in the world by any means, but it definitely did not impress us one bit. If the hotel had a major facelift inside and out then I think it would improve things tremendously. I wouldn't recommend the hotel in the state that it is in at this time.
If you have already booked this hotel then just know that it is in a good area and you will be safe, it's just the cosmetic stuff that is a big turnoff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatehouseSuitesGR, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Your feedback will be shared with our staff and management company to help us continue to improve. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your clean suite, complimentary dinner and area attractions within walking distance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We visited Gatehouse Suites for a convention. We had 25 people staying onsite and when we arrived I was a bit put off by the rundown exterior. However, upon entry of our room I was pleasantly suprised by the cleanliness of the room. I usually wear stockings on my feet when staying in hotels and nearly every hotel leaves my socks dirty. My socks did not look soiled after walking around the room all day! While the furnishings and decor may be a little dated our stay was fantastic. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us from bring us an air mattress, as we had more people than there were beds, to allowing all of us to use their breakfast room on two occasions for gatherings. I travel to Grand Rapids a couple of times a year on business and I will definitely make Gatehouse Suites my hotel of choice. Way to go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatehouseSuitesGR, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are thrilled to hear about your enjoyable stay while in Grand Rapids! We have an excellent housekeeping staff who work very hard to keep our rooms clean and comfortable. We hope to have you as our guest again and appreciate you feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids

Address: 2701 East Beltline Avenue SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Residence Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.