We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced, mediocre food, crowded seating - not going back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Great Lakes Shipping Co.

Great Lakes Shipping Co.
2455 Burton SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49506
616-949-9440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #189 of 825 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“overpriced, mediocre food, crowded seating - not going back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Had high expectations, not sure where the other people submitting reviews were eating? Prices for a steak dinner were about 30% more than a similar steak at Outback or Longhorn and not as good. Atmosphere was dark and old. Clientele were mainly older couples (which usually is a good sign?). The room we were seated in was too small for the 4 tables set. I felt like the other tables were too close and was difficult to get up to go to salad bar without bumping other chairs. Added a surcharge to share a $30 steak dinner without mentioning until I received the bill. Service was fast, but not friendly. Ended up spending $30 more for a family dinner even using a $25 promotional coupon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainwell, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food, abiance, and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I enjoy getting out to restaurants that offer something other than the usual so we were pleasantly surprised to find that Great Lakes Shipping offers unique menu items along with great service and the ambiance of the building is truly delightful. The salad bar itself is worth the trip!! Try one of their specials and treat yourself to a delicious, well-planned meal. They also have a very good selection of wines.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous..My "Must Go To" place everytime I am in Grand Rapids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

A true old school steakhouse..have never had anything there I didn't like. Love the fireplaces at each table. Great service, dependable. Clean, well stocked salad bar. I can't figure out how any body could rate this so low...this restaurant has been in Grand Rapids for years and is a landmark sort of place. Even though I live in FL now, it's the one place I will drive over an hour to get to. This is the one thing I miss about not living in Grand Rapids anymore. Prices are fair for the quality, too

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always a Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Dependable describes Great Lakes Shipping. You can be confident that your evening will be enjoyable, the food delicious, the service smooth and friendly. Their salad bar was one of the first and remains the best with an excellent selection of toppings that are fresh, clean, cold and delicious. I had the seafood special of the day, a breaded red snapper served Oscar style with crab meat, Bearnaise sauce and asparagus. It was prepared perfectly and presented beautifully. My wife went with their signature prime rib prepared exactly as she requested. You just can't go wrong here which is why it has been around so long and will likely be around for many more years to come.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“PRIME RIB”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

PRIME RIB....do I need to say more. This is an old school place...I had my prom dinner hear 15 years ago (not sure whose idea that was). You don't have to be overly dressed, jeans are fine. I don't go here for the atmosphere, I go here everytime I want prime rib. Also google or check out your Entertainment Coupon Book for a BOGO coupon up to $25.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Lakes Shipping Co. also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Great Lakes Shipping Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Lakes Shipping Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.