We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a pretty good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5700 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overall, a pretty good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The hotel room was clean and very modern. I found no problems in the room and was comfortable at all times. We didn't take advantage of the other amenities due to time constraints but there seemed to be many! The location is fantastic. Everything you could ever imagine is on the road the runs along it. I would stay again, and that's saying a lot from me!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaGR, Sales at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear JONAS2040,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am delighted to hear that your most recent stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Jaimee Kasperlik
Sales & Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    39
    19
    9
See reviews for
40
18
6
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here with a travel volleyball team for a weekend tournament. The rooms were clean, the kids enjoyed the pool and the location was convenient. Our tournament venue was less than 1/2 mile away!
We were pleased with the ammenities the hotel offered. Some chose to eat at the restaurant at the hotel, and were pleased with it... while others chose to venture out for food. There were many options for dining located very nearby.
The staff was friendly and responded to requests immediately.
Will definitely try to book this hotel for future Grand Rapids stays.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaGR, Sales at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Lolodo25,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
I am glad to hear that it was of great value to you. More and more restaurants are popping up in this area of Grand Rapids; on your next visit, if you'd prefer to venture out for food again, feel free to ask our staff for recommendations. :-) We hope to have the chance to serve you again.
Thank you,
Sincerely, Jaimee Kasperlik
Sales & Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

stayed here for a week in Feb. Quick observations. Service was very friendly and helpful. Nicely done. The hotel itself needs some attention. Door locks, mattresses need updating. No frigs in the room which is a standard these days (especially if your target market is families).

Pool area is very nice with lots of space.

Given the great rate we had, it probably matched the value for price paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Adventravler,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed last night for one night with my husband on a weekend outing...Very clean, nice beds and pillows...comfy room furniture...but...so many doors! To get from hallways to the next hallway to the lobby,say, or the pool...there are so many doors! I guess it would be great in case of a fire...but a bit confusing to find your way around if you park at a side entrance and want to go to the lobby...I must say I got a good amount of steps registered on my pedometer, and it was fun testing myself to find my way around! Oh, and the breakfast was lovely! (great coffee and lots of it!) Quiet night and slept well. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaGR, Sales at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear vloomis5,
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am happy to hear that your stay was pleasant. As far as the door and floor plan issue, I completely understand! I am here a lot, and I still manager to get myself turned around. Upon your next visit, if you feel like you have taken too many turns, please feel free to ask a staff member passing by, as we will surely direct you to whatever location you intended on going to. Thank you again for the review.
Sincerely,
Jaimee Kasperlik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

During a recent stay in Grand Rapids, along with other families, our group organizer chose to stay in the Crowne Plaza Hotel on 18th street.

Prior reservations had been made by an organizer of the event.

When we arrived, there were no reservations under our name...and no reservations for other families who were there for an event the following day.
I need to note that $100.00 was given to the organizer a week in advance to reserve the rooms, (almost 20 rooms).

So we decided to rent the room ourselves and put the payment on our personal Credit Card.

About 6:00 pm my teenage daughter came to our room and said "The organizer took your Credit Card payment that you made and put it on their bill."

So I called the office and told them "that they had no right to make charges or changes to our Credit Card without my authorization."

The attendant said..."How can we make this right for you? How about a free dinner on us?"

I said that's fine.

She brought the coupon up to the room, and I went downstairs to eat.
When I got to the restaurant the coupon was DATED FOR THE NEXT DAY.

The waiter said he could not accept it..I just shook my head and walked off.

Now, very upset, my wife and I decided to just stay in the room and calm down.

7:30 P.M.
A knock at the door.
We did not answer the door. (THE DOOR IS LOCKED)
5 seconds later, another knock.
We still did not answer. As you can see I wish to be left alone.
THEN THE DOOR OPENS AND A HOTEL EMPLOYEE ASKED IF WE WANT CHOCOLATES!

Out of fear, we did not leave the room unattended for the remainder of the evening.

So.... if you want un-welcomed people wandering in and out your room, regardless if the door is locked or not, and playing games with your credit card....stay there.

Otherwise, find another place to stay.

These people are NOT to be TRUSTED.

Room Tip: find another place to stay if you value your credit and safety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I understand you spoke with our General Manager regarding this issue. We appreciate your business and do hope that you consider our hotel again if your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids.

Sincerely Nicole VanHarn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Meadows, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here a few weekends ago as a place to crash for the night after luging in Muskegon and thought the hotel was average. The lobby was quite pretty and the staff was accommodating and friendly. Once we got to the hallway where our rooms were located we noticed the housekeeping staff was still cleaning; it was five in the evening. We tried taking a quick nap before dinner, and while the beds were comfortable, the housekeeping staff were yelling back and forth to each other down the hall. It was way too noisy. After attempting a nap, we headed to dinner. When we came back at eight, we stopped by another one of the rooms in our party, and in their hall, they were still cleaning rooms! I was shocked. While the hallways were very noisy throughout the night, there were a few good things about the place; for one the bathroom.The bathroom was pretty decent and everyone in our party really liked the shampoo and conditioner provided. The tub was large and nice after bruising some bones on the luge track. Overall, I'd say I wouldn't be opposed to going back, but try and find a room that isn't in a hall that's still being cleaned.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that is not near an exit to the parking lot, they seem to be much louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate your business! Please call me directly if you are thinking about staying at our property. I would be happy to upgrade you complimentary to our Concierge level, which is our top 2 floors so it will be quieter for your next stay. Thank you again for the feedback!

Sincerely Nicole VanHarn
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fabulous service from the women at the front desk, but the gentleman with the "I'm in charge attitude" seemed only to notice the men and entirely ignored my gal pal and myself. For some reason the hotel was full of children during our stay and the adults seemed to give them free reign. It made what would otherwise have been a fabulous stay almost intolerable. We couldn't get near the pool area nor did we want to as the screaming children echoed at painful decibels. None of this was the fault of the establishment. If a family friendly event is happening in the area bring earplugs and patience.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the pool. Screaming children and drunk parents kept our peace and quiet out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaGR, Sales at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear elle m,
I want to thank you for taking the time to write us a review.
I'm extremely pleased to hear that, though there were a few concerns, that you will stay here again.
I apologize for the gentleman's attitude at the front desk. I also apologize for the chaos you endured because of the many children here, during your stay. I have passed your concerns along to the proper management, as we rely on these guest comments/reviews to help us improve our establishment. Upon your next visit, if you encounter a situation like this again, please don't hesitate to let the front desk know; then we can have management deal with the situation immediately. We appreciate your business, and patience :-)
Thank you once again,
Sincerely,
Jaimee Kasperlik
Sales & Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Address: 5700 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cascade Township, our property features 320 newly renovated guest rooms, 21,000 sq. feet of meeting facilities, indoor/outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, restaurant and lounge, and free WI-FI. Conveniently close to the the Gerald R. Ford airport with access to a free airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.