We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5700 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

As a platinum club member, they offer a executive lounge, for evening snacks and drinks. And in the morning continental breakfast. Otherwise you have to pay for breakfast at the restaurant. Is the hotel decor out of date? Yes. Is the staff pretty good? Yes. Room is clean, nice bedding,

Room Tip: If your a smoker, request a balcony room so you don't have to go down 4 stories to go outside. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    57
    53
    22
    21
See reviews for
47
26
9
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I visited this hotel for business. My company held an onsite event in one of the meeting rooms. My colleagues and I stayed for just one night. I am mostly disappointed in how outdated and in need of repair my room looked. For example, my bathroom had wallpaper that literally looked like it was from the 70s and the back of the bathroom door had strips of the wood peeling (or peeled off). Just awful! Also, I feel like the photo of the hotel restaurant looks nothing like it actually appears. We observed wires hanging from the ceiling, duct tape over what must have been a hole in the carpet. Just not what I would've expected from a Crowne Plaza and from the presentation of the hotel on its website. Our event was okay; the meeting room again was worn, but functional. The staff has been very friendly and helpful. But, I would hesitate to hold a business event here again because of the appearance and condition of much of the facility.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Cheerleader62,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel and our friendly staff. We are deeply sorry you found your room accommodations less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Big facility that can handle a convention, a conference, hundreds of soccer players & their families in a week-end...They have sufficient help, adequate common areas, and enough things for adults and children to do. And, you can get a good nights rest (if you chose) besides. Very nice room and
nice updates. Good value.

Room Tip: Single cup coffee maker.... hmmm. Also, no in room safe. But, I still enjoyed my week-end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Valley, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

First time at this Crowne Plaza... The hotel is a bit dated but the rooms are semi-modernized and have the usual amenities.... Clean room. Staff was friendly, easy check-in. If you are a PC Plat. Member you will get to enjoy the executive lounge - free food, drinks, etc. Decent spread. Many choices of restaurants close to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Khaak00:

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids! We appreciate the feedback that you shared regarding our Priority Club lounge. We love to make our members feel right at home, and are glad that you enjoyed the pampering! We look forward to serving you in the near future!

Sincerely

Andrea Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

There is a very deceptive stairway in the lounge/restaurant off the main lobby.

in two separate incidents on the same evening, a three step stairway from the reception area to the bar area was the "downfall" for two individuals who did not recognize the demarcation between the steps because of the matching carpeting on the treads and on the floor.

Both gentlemen, luckily, were just banged up: wrenched muscles and bruised knees. However, this area is poorly designed and should be altered to prevent further injuries. Removing the carpeting on the stairs would be a good start. And, adding lights at the edges of each step would define the area much better.

Overall, the room was adequate, the halls were noisy, the housekeeping staff shouted to each other (long shouted conversations, lasting over 30 minutes, while turning rooms).

Breakfast was quick, reasonably priced and satisfying.

There are several hotels in the immediate area. Next time, I would probably go with an alternate.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. Do not stay on the ground floor if you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear 12Nick:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids. We are looking into your suggestions for a more enhanced transition from our lounge area into the restaurant. I am glad you were satisfied with the room and breakfast buffet. I hope that you will reconsider staying with our hotel again.

Sincerely,

Andrea Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland,ohio
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My layover was very short but my stay was comfortable. I'm so glad they've updated this hotel. Not much to do but there are a couple of places to eat in the area and the hotel provides shuttle service to the mall.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea J, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids. We have worked hard since the renovation to keep things looking fresh! We appreciate the great feedback and hope to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Andrea Johnston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is my second stay at the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids Airport and I enjoyed both visits. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful, but then that goes for the good citizens of Grand Rapids too.
Hotel is very retro from 1979, including the wild 1970's striped room and hallways carpeting. My only complaint was the mediocre gym equipment that was in disrepair. In fact, when I arrived to work out, the current guests had to warn me which half of the treadmills didn't work properly. The single Universal machine was rusty and squeaked when you used it. Irritating.

Also, my tub drain was clogged and I was forced to stand in two inches of dirty water, very unpleasant. I hope maintenance will address the problem for the next room guest to avoid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Address: 5700 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cascade Township, our property features 320 newly renovated guest rooms, 21,000 sq. feet of meeting facilities, indoor/outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, restaurant and lounge, and free WI-FI. Conveniently close to the the Gerald R. Ford airport with access to a free airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.