We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5700 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
port huron, mi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel is showing its age but does have a nice indoor and outdoor pool. We found them very accommodating by allowing us to change our room for the second night. They have a nice facility but definitely need to refurbish their rooms. Sofa bed had an arm that was ripped and the bathroom is very small. The bedding was very nice. They just need to spend some money on their rooms.

Room Tip: Poolside room would be convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    52
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
46
22
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castroville, TX
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Don't mind the fact that they should install a moving sidewalk to get to the rooms from the front desk, or that the bathroom is just big enough so you can operate everything in it while sitting on the toilet. The real kicker is the weekend "stay-cation" crowd taking over the place. A non-stop pizza party in the courtyard, with parents assuming the children are somewhere on the property, therefore they are OK. Fights between a gaggle of 8 year old boys in the pools, while the older 12 year old set were practicing hurdles over a trash can they put in the center of the hall were the norm. The hot tub was filled with 6 year old boys practicing submersion techiniques.

If you bring this up at the front desk, they just look at you and say in a knowing way that "we just don't have the staff to police the place". Maybe a lawyer someday will explain to the owner what that means.

But the beds are great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and Milwaukee Airport. Both of these hotels were up-to-date and wonderful. The Grand Rapids property was showing it's age. Also, used towels at the pool were overflowing the basket and the flowers outside by the pool were wilting. The front desk clerks were less than cordial. The workers in the Executive Lounge were fantastic!! Thank you ladies! I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express the next time we visit Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Great place, indoor outdoor pool great in summer. Jacuzzi was wonderful. rest/Bar friendly and glad to help. Peace y'all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Michigan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We attended a wedding there and received a deeply discounted rate or we probably would have looked at different lodging. Now we're so glad we were able to enjoy the experience. Accomodations were roomy and very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location very convenient to shopping and major highways. The pool and whirlpool was clean and there were plenty of towels in the pool area. The morning wedding ceremony and evening reception were held there, along with a luncheon. The furnishings were very elegant and the bartenders quick and friendly. Highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again someday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed with the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids from Monday 22nd November 2010 and checked out on Monday 29th November 2010 and was charged to my Barclays Visa debit card.
The same card was put down by me as a gurantee on my room as that was required by the hotel, a photo copy of the card was taken by them.

On December 7th 2010 Crowne Plaza, Grand rapids hotel charged my card £3359.30. They used my card without my permission for a service I did not use.
This is huge case of Fraud and misuse of information. I trusted Crowne Plaza with my card information and they illegaly took money from me.

Sunny, the manager of the hotel told me he was sorry but had to balance his books and offered me a free night at the hotel as compensation? I found that insulting. Since then I have been charged £40 a month for late fees as my bank was in overdraft due to Crowne Plaza's illegal misuse of information.

In addition I wasnt even in the country, I have proof of this with flight tickets and passport stamps.

Room Tip: biggest tip - dont trust Crowne Plaza hotel staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This hotel has been updated and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. In other places refurbished hotel rooms have the lingering stench from cigarettes, but not this one. The hallways are like long tunnels, but well maintained. The elevators belong in a museum with glaciers, continental drift, and other slow moving objects. The stairs were much faster, which leads to the cleanliness issue, I don't think the stairs have been vacuumed for a long time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face 28th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Address: 5700 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cascade Township, our property features 320 newly renovated guest rooms, 21,000 sq. feet of meeting facilities, indoor/outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, restaurant and lounge, and free WI-FI. Conveniently close to the the Gerald R. Ford airport with access to a free airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.