We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury for a Bargain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Rapids
1 review
“Luxury for a Bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

The Days Inn of Grand Rapids is ideal for visitors. Situated next to the Grand River and easily accessible from the expressway, it is walking distance from all the key locations of downtown. It looks upon the park and grounds of the Gerald R. Ford museum, and there is a special treat at night when the many bridges light up. You can not improve upon this location. The decor of the hotel is modern chic which was a surprise for a hotel at this price point. Although business centers and internet are available, we were more impressed, as tourists, with the cocktail lounge, Pearl Street Grill restaurant and in-hotel mini-market. The medium-small pool and oversized hot tub were immaculate without the annoying fumes of chlorine found in so many hotel pools. The swimming area was complete with rinsing showers that included soap and towels. Our rooms were very comfortable and came with ammenities such as fridge, microwave, coffee, iron, hair dryer, etc. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    124
    44
    8
    12
See reviews for
46
77
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AK-UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

As a self confessed hotel snob I would not normally choose a Day’s Inn, however I had read the reviewed on TA and decided to try it. The location is great for downtown Grand Rapids and this really is unlike any other Day’s Inn I’ve experienced. It’s nice, it’s really clean, the rooms are modern and the furnishings are new. After a long day on the road I usually grab a bite to eat at the bar before retiring to my room to work, the bar is fine and the food is adequate. This is not an Hilton or JW Marriott but for the price it’s great and I would recommend any Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn users to try it. It’s certainly nicer than a generic Hampton on the outskirts of town.

As a side note, the second time I stayed here was to attend a conference at DeVos Place. This is an ideal location for anyone attending a conference here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaws2002gr
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

This is a review from a couple that stays there almost every year for anniversary and sometimes 2 or three for min-vacations.
Postives: the hotub and heated pool open from 7 a.m. till 11p.m. Freindly staff. Every room has a samll refrig, microwave, and coffee pot in it. The beds and pillows are soft, and extra comfy. As for the guy complaining.,,They usaully work with you on the rooms or switching if avaible, but if price differenc eyou ahve to pay difference of course. We have switched our rooms before becasue of floor level or set up without much problem at all, depends on availabitliy and price different. rooms are very nice & clean. As for the negatives, since it is now Days Hotel and remodel, it only has 1 internet computer for quests, the weight room doesn't havea stationary bike anymore, there are no more recliners just arm charis with footstools. At least the desk have chairs w/ wheels now. Roomservice is now a $3.00 fee plus 20% gratituty for average food. Pancakes are good for breakfast. OTherwise for lunch, dinner, you are better off going to a restuarant downtown like the Cottage Bar & grill and getting excellent food for moderate prices instead of par quailty food at moderate prices. Location is very excellent with excellent view, walking distance from downtown just 2 blocks across the river. Overall on 1 to 10 give it a 7 mainly cause weight room is lacking, 2nd computer is lacking, and restuarnt prices are too high for fair qquality food. As for as the rooms, it depends which style.
The one ones where they put the refrig and microwave inside a cabinet, and a tv 5 feet up in the air on a high dresser - give them a 3 rating. The ones with the micro & refrig outside the cabinet stacked on each other & tv only about 1 foot above eye level those rooms get a 9.5 because they messed up the entry way lights. There is/was no entry light. As for the comfort of the beds & pillow, a 10. view north side or east side is a 10 hottub and heat pool 9.5 very nice. Staff gets a 9 for niceness. Another negative or thing to beware you can get $15 off a night by reserving on the internet thorugh there ownwebsite but not in person. And the hotel does not offer any specials much less a free breakfast. dinner for reg guest. You have to sign up for Wndham reward and earn points after you stay aprroximately 10 to 11 nights, you can earn 10,000 point sfor 1 free night at the hotel. 10 points for $1 1000points for every $100 spent on rooms before taxes and restuarant doesn't count. Must sign up ahead of time or within 30 days of 1st day to get points. To get best rates must reserve on computer through their website ahead of time to get fixed low price. Nice hotel, it is very nice & clean..

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap IL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2009

Great price, good location, restaurant on premises, very friendly and helpful, accommodating manager. Room was quiet, clean, mattress very comfortable, nice fireplace area in the lobby for visiting. The only improvement I would require is a roll-in type wheelchair accessible shower. We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

The good reviews here weren't wrong. I had a great corner room with a partial view of the river, which was mostly ice being January. The rooms were clean. The bathroom was small but workable. Good work desk and wireless internet. The bed was comfy. The windows did open about 6 inches if you want some fresh air. There is a restaurant (didn't try the food) and bar (did order many drinks) on site. Restaurant I think closed at 9pm, the bar 10pm but stayed open late if there were still people ordering drinks. Just a short walk over the bridge and you have access to many bars and restaurants. I highly recommend going to The Bob and eating at Gill's. This place is a keeper and will be where I stay when I come back to Grand Rapids.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bathroom was a little small
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

I just spent 4 wonderful days at this hotel!! I have never writen a hotel review on here, but had such a fantastic experience I thought I would this time. The front desk clerk, TROY, is amazing! I got lost finding the hotel and he gave me easy directions to the hotel, which was a great start! Every day I saw him and each time he took a minute to greet me and find out if everything was going well. I was staying at the hotel for business, and when I mentioned the clerk with great customer service during our meeting, each person who was there with me knew exactly who I was talking about! Besides the great customer service across the board, my room was fantastic. Very clean and comfortable... very welcoming. Also enjoyed the bar while there. This hotel is great, but the outstanding customer service makes it OUTSTANDING! I would recommend staying here to any person looking for a great home away from home while traveling.

  • Liked — Great customer service & big, clean, comfortable room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

I like to stay at Days Inns because of the economy, so I was very surprised at how upscale this hotel is. Great location, wonderful staff, very pleasant.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.