We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bismarck, North Dakota
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had three nights here. Room size was fine, a little extra space would have been nice. Check-in and check-out went fine. Ate two meals in the restaurant. Enjoyed those although service was a little slow the first evening. Had the same comforter you find in most hotels, I find them just too warm. They didn't replace all our towels the first day, just as we asked but on the second day, everything was changed. Why do hotels promise one thing and do another? Location was handy for the downtown. Room stayed warm even thought we tried to cool it off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    114
    39
    7
    11
See reviews for
42
72
17
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was conflicted with whether I should give this hotel an "average" or "very good" rating. I don't want to be unreasonable, so I went with the "very good," but I'd like to elaborate...First, let me say that the rooms are nice (slightly awkward setup with the sink outside of the bathroom in a conjested area), and the hotel is in a really good location. However, I was a little disappointed at the lack of incentives for IHG Rewards members. Usually there is free breakfast for Platinum members or a similarly appealing reward, and all they offered was free coffee...which doesn't really make sense because there is a coffee maker in every room. So yeah...I ended up staying at another hotel for my other three weeks of business. Overall, nice hotel in nice location, but I'm kind of the Customer Service Police, and they left much to be desired...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed the weekend for an event over at DeVos Place. Excellent location. Right by the freeway, and close walking to the Museum and DeVos Place. Pool is really small, the rooms are pretty small, but clean and updated. I think this must be a rather new property, as everything seemed quite new. Nice staff. Restaurant food was good, but the service was poor to average. The cooks are right there, so you hear EVERYTHING they are talking about. Overall, a good value.

Room Tip: High Floor. You don't hear the freeway.
See more room tips
Green Features: Typical. Thermostats in the rooms, towel reuse, recycling bins all over the place
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel saved me!
I first made my reservation for 5 nights in another hotel in Grand Rapids, I was on a business trip and it was my first time in Grand Rapids.
I stayed the first night on this other hotel and it was not a great experience, then I request a refund and checked in at the Holiday Inn... What a great choice!
Everything was perfect, clean, awesome staff... As I say... When in doubt just chose a chain hotel!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Lmiss,

I am so sorry to learn that your first night in Grand Rapids was not pleasant. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the city. We are appreciate you selecting our property and are delighted that your experience was great! Whether it is business or a chance to explore our city a little further, we hope to see you may more times in the future. If we can be any special assistance, please feel free to reach out to our team (guestservice@higrdt.com). Safe Travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for a business convention that was held at GVSU. Great location in the heart of Grand Rapids and the Grand Valley campus.
Everything a business traveler needs, from comfy beds for rest, to high speed Internet, and I really liked the upholstered chair with ottoman for kicking back at night.
Everyone I came in contact with was very kind and helpful, from check-in to room service. Very fast room service at peak times! Had the Traverse City salad both nights... Excellent!
Unlike many hotel rooms I've stayed in, the thermostat actually worked perfectly! Loved that!
Thank you for a nice stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

the location of the hotel is pretty awesome with lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance, and a museum literally across the street. i went on two 5-mile runs along the grand river and it was very scenic, at least on the (i think) east side of the river!

the rooms are what you come to expect from holiday inn: relatively spacious and quite clean. the service at the front desk and at the hotel bar/restaurant was very friendly. parking is always available, except when you're there during Art Prize (i got there the last day of the event) and traffic all over downtown GR is all snarled up. half of the lot was being used for event parking.

i'd stay here again for work, even though it's about 30 min away from where work is located, just for the sheer proximity to nightlife.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
bktrish,

What a honor to know that you would drive an extra 30 minutes to utilize our Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown location! The nightlife is great, the river beautiful and safe for those 5 mile runs. I do apologize if you experienced any parking concerns during ArtPrize. We station an attendant to insure there are spaces available for our overnight guests. In an effort to offer convenient parking for those that are strictly attending events, we do provide some parking as available. Thank you for making note of your concern. We will monitor the available spaces a little more closely next year.

We will look forward to seeing you a few times between now and ArtPrize 2014! Safe travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in September during ArtPrize with my parents (they were in a separate room). I wasn't expecting much, and this hotel also didn't deliver much, other than a decent night's sleep. Granted, it's a Holiday Inn so you get what you pay for and you shouldn't stay here expecting anything above the basics.

Checkin and checkout was easy, the staff is very polite but you don't get the impression anyone goes above and beyond for a guest - again, to be expected at a chain like this. The rooms were basic but comfortable. Amenities were lackluster as one might expect - the linens and towels felt low quality, the toiletries below par, the decor a bit dated and homogenous - but there is free wifi and basic cable. The views are nothing to write home about as the hotel is a low rise next to a parking lot, the freeway, and a comparably sized building across the street. There may be a few rooms that get a good view of the Gerald Ford center across the street. The elevators are also a bit frightening, as the doors open before the elevator is level with the floor. A small thing but a bit off-putting.

Also worth noting - we had an awful experience at the hotel restaurant (which isn't operated by the hotel directly but shares the same building as it is located in the lobby). We gave the host our name and after waiting in the lobby for a half hour, seeing people who arrived after us being seated, and asking about our place in line, the host looked bewildered and didn't have our name. How he could have forgotten us, sitting directly in his line of sight, and how he didn't offer us a table immediately after the snafu is beyond me, but my mother and I went to the Big Boy down the road for breakfast that day.

Also, the hotel was pretty full of loud, tipsy groups for family reunions or weddings, and we even saw a man walking around the lobby in bare feet. Whether that's a common occurence, I don't know, but at least it was amusing...

All in all, this might be a decent place to stop for a night or two... but you pay for what you get.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a view of the Gerald Ford Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
JetsetNick,

Thank you for your very candid view of the hotel. I do apologize for your disappointing experience and invite you to reach out to me at Ellen@higrdt.com. The Holiday Inn family of brands has been working hard to provide Great Hotels Guest Love. It appears that we must continue to make improvements and I know that we all are committed to putting forth the effort. Only through honest guest feedback can we identify the areas of opportunity. I am hopeful that you at least enjoyed your time with your parents. Safe Jetsetting to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.