We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great weekend in Grand Rapids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Great weekend in Grand Rapids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend in Grand Rapids and Holiday Inn was great! We were in town for the Color Run. When we checked in the staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking was great for downtown and this is a great location walking distance from great restaurants, bars and attractions. My only complaint is some coffee in the lobby in the morning would be nice ;) No complimentary breakfast, didn't try to the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Stacieeh,

We are so happy to have the Color Run as a part of our Grand Rapids package. It seems like each year there are more events that promote fitness and outdoor activities arriving in our great city. We are delighted that you stayed with us and hope that you will make us your preferred hotel when in the city! Best of Luck to you and safe travels and running too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    110
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
39
66
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is our second time staying at this property. The first time was just an overnight with my wife, while this trip was six nights with the whole family. This included my wife and kids (12 and 8). We found the location still superb, but the room too small. Also, we were given a room on the western side of the building, which is adjacent to the highway. This made it fairly noisy. The A/C unit was also noisy, but it covered the highway noise, so we kept in on. I would suggest a room away from the highway side if at all possible. The pool and spa were small, but nice, and the parking was close by and free. Breakfast was not included, but the hotel lets kids eat free from the kids menu, so that was nice. Another bonus, the in room fridge was quite large.

So good in general, but better suited to a smaller group.

Room Tip: Avoid highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Saultites,

Thank you for your candid review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of the Holiday Inn Kids Eat Free program during your stay. It sounds like you were able to try out most of the hotel during your stay. Please accept my apologies for your experience with your A/C unit in your guest room and know that our engineering team is available every day to ensure that everything runs smoothly in your guest room. It is our hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next trip to Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was just off the river opposite downtown, so made for a quick walk in to all the stores and restaurants. Room was great, they upgraded me to a suite with a fridge to accommodate my breast milk storage needs for free. Had some apps down in the bar, they were good but the pretzel sliders a but hard. Always bummed out when there is no complimentary breakfast, but the day we did have breakfast in the restaurant, it was a great perk to get the coffee to go as well! I think if you have time other places downtown may have better breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Justsimplyb,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor! We appreciate your comments as well as other members who might be considering Grand Rapids. Our chef and I will be reviewing the pretzel sliders to see what might have caused the hardness. I apologize that they were not as you expected. We certainly understand you being disappointed with no breakfast included with your overnight stay. Our Holiday Inn Express brand offers a complimentary breakfast selection. I might suggest our Best Flex with Breakfast package for the next time you stay at a full service Holiday Inn. This will allow you the ability to make your selection from our full breakfast menu offering anything from yogurt to Eggs Benedict. Thanks again, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I normally stay down by the airport but everything was booked so I tried the Holiday Inn downtown. This has to rank as one of the nicer Holiday Inns. The staff is friendly, the food is good and the rooms are clean/modern.

However, it is next to the freeway so don't expect a silent nights sleep and it is a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Furthest away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thebarnmichigan,

I am happy to hear that you were able to visit another section of Grand Rapids by staying downtown with us. We appreciate you giving our location a try and sending along your feedback. Working a little bit harder to be a Great Hotel Guests Love will be our mission. I hope that you might give us another opportunity to be the Grand Rapids hotel that you love. Safe Travels to you in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I wasn't originally booked to stay at this location but due to a problem with another hotel I had to find last minute accommodations and room was available. The parking lot in the front is very small but plenty of space in the back. The location is just a block from the GR river and walking distance to downtown, Ford museum and plenty of restaurants should you choose not to eat in the hotel. The lobby and décor was modern and updated. I had to stay in a smaller room with double beds and did feel a bit claustrophobic but it was a last minute deal in a crowded city. They don't provide breakfast in the morning but do have a pretty nice restaurant in the lobby area. Preferred members receive a $4 off coupon for lunch/dinner and a free coffee coupon in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Steven T,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Grand Rapids has a uniquely vibrant downtown, is nearby to Lake Michigan beaches, and don't forget the many cultural and special events available year round. We know that many travelers like to have a quick and easy breakfast in the morning. We provide a full cooked to order breakfast option through the Pearl Street Grill. While breakfast is not included with our standard room rates, we do offer many package options that would include a food and beverage credit that could be used for breakfast should you choose. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again on your next trip the Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My uncle is given points to stay in hotels across the country as platinum member and he decided to give them to my family for staying here for our vacation. They quoted him a rate $139 for 2 nights stay. When we arrived at the hotel we gave the woman at the desk (Ashley) our uncles name for our room. She asked if he was staying with us and we said no. She said she could not give us the room unless he called and clarified that it was for us, although clearly when he called he had put the room under our name. So we had to call my uncle in the middle of his business deal just so that he could tell this woman four simple words that the hotel should've had record of days ago... "The room is theirs." After rudely interrupting my uncle's important meeting and striving to overcharge us almost double what we had originally been told over the phone she proceeded to embarrass us and treat our family poorly in front of other hotel guests by both telling us it was our mistake and turning us away with no place to stay for the night. I understand that this hotel has brilliant reviews on the website booking.com, clocking in at a rating of 8.9. But a hotel that houses such impatient, ill mannered staff and poor customer service does not deserve even half that review in my eyes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Natasha,

I am disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel. With a review of your reservation information I am able to confirm that your stay was originally booked at a different property. Every effort was made with our corporate and local hotel teams to transition your reservations to our hotel with the least amount of difficulty for you. As each hotel in any area may have different rates, this too was the case with your stay. I do apologize for the manner in which you interacted with our team. We strive to ensure each guests stay exceeds their expectations and we clearly did not achieve that with your stay. Should you wish to discuss your stay further, I welcome any additional comments at heather@higrdt.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avihail
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for 2. Got a room with one small bed. Front desk was kind enough to replace it with a two (small) bed roon.
However, the room was just few feet from the highway.
Truck & car passing noise dominated our night.
For that price, there are much better hotels in town.
Will never return here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Rnoray,

I was disappointed to learn that your stay was not as you expected. I do apologize that your sleep was disturbed by traffic noise near the hotel. Our location is typically a great advantage to our guests, but occasionally it can be a challenge as in your experience. Please know that your comments are taken seriously. Our ownership is currently reviewing specifications for new windows. Their intention is to invest in specialty glass that will compensate for any outside noise. I invite you to give us another opportunity when you are in Grand Rapids next. I would be happy to personally make your reservations and room selection. Thank you for your candid comments, we appreciate them very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#13 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#17 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.