We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your usual Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Danville, KY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not your usual Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

While passing through Michigan we stopped at the Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown because it was across the street from the Gerald Ford Museum, which we enjoyed. This was not your usual Holiday Inn. The decor was excellent, our room was very comfortable, and the restaurant served a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Alicia N,

We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience Pure Michigan! We are proud members of the statewide tourism organization. The Gerald R. Ford museum is exceptional and we consider ourselves fortunate to be just across the street. We are hopeful that you will be traveling through Michigan again soon and would consider it an honor to have you and your friends stay at the Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    115
    39
    7
    11
See reviews for
42
72
17
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Downtown Grand Rapids is such a beautiful city with so many things to do, places to eat, etc. The only problem is that staying downtown is rather pricey. There are not that many hotels to chose from to begin with. So I was ecstatic when I found a great rate on Hotwire for the Holiday Inn downtown. It's always risky on Hotwire because you don't know the name of the hotel until after you book, but it worked out this time!!
What a great hotel! I think it gets overshadowed by the the Amway and the Marriot, but it was beautiful, comfortable, and in a great location with a great view. After I booked my room I called the hotel to upgrade to a corner room. I had read on reviews that they were larger and had great views. When we checked in everything was in order and they even remembered to wish us a happy anniversary. The rooms are very modern looking. We had a great view of the city. The bed was comfortable. It was wonderful!!
We ate downtown and saw a show at Devos Hall and walked a very short distance to each location. Grand Rapids is such a nice city that it's worth it just to walk around and enjoy.

So if you are looking for a great place to stay in downtown GR, don't forget to think about this hotel. Sure you can pay $200 plus to stay at the other hotels, but you can get about the same thing, in a great location, for a lot cheaper. It even has free parking which is unheard of for downtown hotels.
Thanks for making our 25 anniversary a great night.
PS - If your not willing to risk hotwire, their normal rates are still a lot lower than the others.

Room Tip: Many wonderful places to eat downtown. Skip the hotel restaurant and venture out into the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Congratulations again Mr & Mrs Mark M!

I can't tell you how honored we feel to have been part of your 25th anniversary celebration! Your description of Grand Rapids really sums up the city well. It IS a great place and my team and I are lucky to enjoy it daily. Thank you for including our hotel and staff as key components to a positive experience.. We really strive to be the best value for any stay in Grand Rapids. We will look forward to seeing you again soon - but will count on that next anniversary! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice Place..........
The whole place was nicely appointed and appeared to be quite well maintained.
I found the bed to be quite comfortable and was not at all put off by the square pillows.
All of the staff I encountered were quite friendly and helpful. I should have mentioned to someone on the staff that the desk chair in room 833 seemed to be defective, as when I leaned back in it, it just kept going until I was lying on the floor. I was unhurt, and it gave my friends a good laugh, so "no big deal", but it might be to someone else.
We encountered no issue with freeway noise, but then road construction kept traffic at a snails pace, so I can't actually weigh in on that issue. I wouldn't recommend breakfast at the Pearl Street Express unless it is included with the room price. It seemed quite "pre-fab", as though it came out of a box.
Overall, it seemed like a nice, cheery, place with friendly people and is in a very good location for taking in the museums and just a short scenic walk to restaurants and nightlife. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello Berman58!

Thank you so much for your review. I love how it offers us some insight into areas that we need to put more focus. Please know that the chair in 833 has been replaced with a brand new chair of a different style. It appears that we selected a chair that does not age well. We appreciate your concern for others and hope that your friends will not remind you of the chair incident in the years to come! I was disappointed to hear your description of breakfast. If you would care to share with me your menu choices it would be greatly appreciated. My email address is: ellen@higrdt.com. Some of the items on our breakfast menu are Holiday Inn brand specific and some are our own creations. Holiday Inn is always asking for guest feedback from us. Having your specific menu choice will allow us to respond to the brand or adjust our own items. Either way it is important!

Thanks again for the review. We hope to see you the next time you are in Grand Rapids. In the meantime, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place to stay and at an excellent Priceline rate. The location is downtown next to the museum and US 131. Most of the restaurants are on the other side of the river, but it is a very short walk across the bridge.

The room is appointed nicely. Modern tile around the tub and a granite vanity. Nice linens, Bath & Body Works bath products, mattress appeared to be fairly new (the comfort of the mattress was "OK"), 32 inch HDTV.

Free Internet and free parking (unusual for a downtown hotel).

Indoor pool and fitness center.

The hotel appears to be well maintained and attractive in and out. It has a bar and a small restaurant. A lot of people seemed to be enjoying both. Food was decent and very inexpensive. It also appeared that the prices on the room service menu were the same as in the restaurant.

Everyone was really nice. I received a phone call once I got to my room welcoming me and inviting me to call the front desk if I needed anything.

A friend of mine told me this used to be a Days Inn, which is a budget establishment. They did an excellent job with the conversion. I wouldn't have even realized it was previously a budget hotel although once he mentioned it I thought the layout of the room was peculiar: vanity was small and in an odd location, closet was small, tiled floor entering room......remanents of being built as a budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi fedaccts,

Your friend was correct. The hotel was originally built as a Days Inn in the late 1980's. Being in a downtown location that decade's trend was a smaller footprint. We have tried to compensate for the room layout as much as possible. We can see that you didn't miss a thing right down to the pricing being the same for room service or dining in our restaurant. If you have any candid suggestions for us, we would welcome them at any time. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers and with us! We appreciate the review, as well as, your business. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel to attend a conference at GVSU. Nice, clean hotel. Quiet. Free parking for guests. No complaints. I thought this Holiday Inn was a bit better appointed than some other Holiday Inns I have visited, it felt kind of new, but I'm not sure that it is (perhaps recently renovated?). If ever need to travel to this part of Grand Rapids again, would not hesitate to stay at this property. It was also very close to many restaurants and also has a restaurant on site.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello Raina D!

We are delighted to hear that trip to Grand Rapids and GVSU included our Holiday Inn. Our location is nicely situated for just about anything you might want to visit in Grand Rapids. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We appreciate it as I know they will too. Safe Travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently attended a GVSU donor event at DeVos Place and spent the night as we've done several times before. We don't travel without out little Brussels Griffon so dog-friendly is a must. Unlike most hotels who need to make a profit from being pet-friendly, this hotel does not charge. The hotel is always clean and comfortable with a full service restaurant and express coffee and snack area. The staff is friendly and efficient. The location is central and convenient. Our stay was pleasant as always.

Room Tip: DO NOT take a room on the freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Doug L,

We are so glad to hear that your experiences at our Holiday Inn continue to be pleasant ones. Your review on TripAdvisor is greatly appreciated by the hotel and other travelers. We do accept pets and are happy to be a property that offers traveling pets a place to stay. Actually, we do have a pet fee at our property. We have selected an amount that seems fair to both the traveling pet and hotel. Knowing that a guest is traveling with their pet is a safety and security objective for us. We place pets in specific areas of the hotel for our staff's safety when servicing the room and our concern for minimal disturbance to our other guests. We will welcome your little Brussels Griffon back on your next stay in Grand Rapids. However, if you would please take the time to complete our pet registration when you register for your room, we would appreciate it very much! Safe travels to all of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a reservation here for 3 nights and we left after the first! The front desk was very rude and so was management. Also when we got to our room it was dirty. The sheets had blood stains and the floor looked like it wasn't touched for a week. Their we're ants in the bathroom and still food in garbage and a present left in the toilet. Disgusting that's what it was. Then when we were checking out after our first night we heard an unpleasant conversation a manager was having with employee. I believe this was the GM and you can tell that she did not care that guest heard them. This is suppose to be Hotels that guest love! In our books it Hotels that guest stay away from. After this experience we will NOT stay at a IHG brand and Holiday Inn AGAIN. Our priority rewards are in the trash!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
HotelTips101,

First, let me apologize for your experience at our hotel. To say the least, I am very concerned about your experience from start to finish. This is not what I have come to expect from my team. I would like the opportunity to look into your experience further so we may have the necessary coaching with the the team members involved so that your experience is not repeated in the future. Please contact me at heather@higrdt.com at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#15 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;