We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - would probably stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Average - would probably stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location downtown. Within walking distance to everything. Very convenient to the DeVos Convention Center. Free parking was nice. Hotel was clean and well kept. The staff were pleasant and professional. My room was on the fifth floor. No issues with outside noise but I am a heavy sleeper. The A/C unit was quite loud. Pillows were awful (small little hard lumpy squares). Bathroom setup was odd (as stated by other reviewers). Overall the room was clean and average. I would probably stay again if in the area due to the price, location, and free parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear CDJD,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry about the air conditioning and for falling below your expectation regarding our bathroom. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    138
    54
    14
    14
See reviews for
51
88
19
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaukauna
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent a 3 night weekend here for a wedding we were attending. Our room was on the 8th floor and was very small for the cost. The Bathroom consisted of the tub/shower along with the toilet in one small room. We had visitors in that bathroom every night in the form of little bugs. I guess it was entertainment while you did your business in there. The vanity in the main room was extremely tiny with no counter space. If you stood at the vanity your partner could not pass you since the foot of the bed was right there. Thought he bed was ok the pillows are extremely small. Like about 18in. square in size. The light switch to go into the little bathroom was not by the bathroom door, no it was by the entry door. Made if fun to find it in the middle of the night. Also the water in the bathroom for some reason did not want to go down any drain. Which meant you had to flush the toilet twice, and had standing water in the bathtub after a shower for at least 20 mins. On Sunday, our room was not even touched by any maid service.

But as bad as the room was, the restaurant in the Hotel was great. The food and service was great. The wait staff were very friendly and helpful. The Breakfast menu was limited though.

Hotel is located downtown so it is close to a lot of night life. Which is both good and bad. Good for walking distance, but bad because the hotel parking lot fills up with cars from people coming down town to enjoy that night life. So you may have to park away from the hotel itself in the parking lot.
On Saturday night of our stay we gathered with family in the hotel lobby/lounge area. There was a person passed out in the lobby for at least 30 to 45 mins from being drunk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Jerry M -
Thank you for your candid comments regarding your stay with us. I appreciate you making mention of the challenges in the bathroom area. Each of our rooms receives a complete preventative maintenance and deep cleaning at least once a quarter. Perhaps we might want to reconsider how often we are completing each room. The room described is not typical of all our rooms and correlates to a small number of rooms located near the hotel's laundry chute. Without some key pieces of information, I am not able to confirm the exact room number. If you care to reach out to me at Ellen@higrdt.com, I would be happy to make note of your concerns so that we can select a different location within the hotel on your next visit. I am very excited to pass along your food and beverage comments. Often the food and beverage team's service is not experienced or complimented when traveling for social events. I know they will be wearing proud smiles over the next few days. Again, thank you for your comments. We appreciate any comments good or bad. Safe Travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hubs and I visited GR over a weekend to see a show at The Intersection. I chose the Holiday Inn because of the convenient location and I usually prefer Holiday Inns when I travel. The best thing about this hotel is its location. It's right off 131—and that does mean 131 runs RIGHT next to it—and I was a little nervous about traffic noise when I booked but I figured, "It's only one night. What the heck." I was pleasantly surprised that I heard very little road noise from our room on the 5th floor which overlooked the hotel parking lot. I did request a quiet room when I booked. You never know if you will get it, but it seriously doesn't hurt to ask. We booked a standard king room and it wasn't huge, but I've certainly had much smaller rooms. The only odd things had to do with the bathroom area—when you enter the room the light switch at the door turns on the bathroom light and there is no light switch inside the bathroom, i.e. the bathroom door has to be open for you to turn on the light which is unfortunate if you are traveling as a couple and one person gets up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night. The other oddity was that the sink area is not inside the bathroom, but in the entry way, which is unfortunate if you are traveling as a couple and one of you likes to get up early and get ready while trying not to disturb your partner while he is sleeping. I've stayed in hotels with this arrangement before and never been overly fond of it. Other than those issues, I was perfectly happy with our stay. The room was clean and seemed to be relatively recently remodeled. The bed was comfy and the in-room HVAC worked well and wasn't one of those horribly loud window units—always a bonus! The staff was friendly, knowledgable, and quite helpful. But, like I started out with, the location was the best part. We were able to walk to great bars and restaurants—The BOB, Hop Cat, The Intersection, and VanAndel are all only a few blocks away. If the weather's bad a taxi will get you there for about $5-7. I was a little surprised at the higher rate for this Holiday Inn compared to others I've stayed at, but was willing to give a little extra for the downtown location and I'm glad I did.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor overlooking the hotel parking lot had very little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our hotel! Please come back and see us again the next time you are in Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Hotel delivered what we wanted, and that was basically it...Rooms were small..Bathroom was ridiculously small..The bed is not as good as any Holiday Inn I usually stay at..Was disappointed to be honest..

Would I stay here again? Maybe.. But im going to try others first as price is close enough to other hotels.

Pros:

1. location
2. FREE PARKING!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons:

1. Bathroom very small
2. Mattress does not compare to other Holiday Inns

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your exerpience at our hotel. I was dissappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations as our goal is always to exceed our guests expectations. I apologize that your nights rest was not as comfortable as you have come to expect from the Holiday Inn family of hotels.

Please know that each and every review is noted and reviewed as we continue to improve our hotel each day. We hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had made reservations at this hotel to stay the evening before my Mother-in-law's surgery the following morning. After a long drive in freezing rain on terrible roads we arrived only to be turned away because I did not have a credit card. I informed the person at the front desk I wanted to pay with cash but was told I still needed a credit card. Or I could pay with cash upon departure if I gave them a $250 deposit, which would be refunded by mailing me a check within seven days. We were on a tight budget as we are not wealthy and traveled quite a distance to bring my elderly Mother-in-law for her surgery. I was very humiliated and was treated like a criminal by the snooty staff. We were forced to stay in a dumpy motel and only got an hour or so of sleep because of the noise. Only to wake up to police cars and a "meat wagon" outside our room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Please accept my apologies for your experience upon your arrival at our hotel. I am concerned that our policies were not fully explained to you at the time of your reservation as they should have been. At the time you make your reservation, our agents are required to inform each guest that a valid credit card is required at check in. Should a guest wish to pay in cash, a $250.00 deposit is required. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a nice Holiday Inn and I would recommend it as a place to stay when visiting Grand Rapids. Very easy on/off the expressway. I've seen on some reports complaints about road noise, but we did not have this experience. We are from an extremely rural area so we notice noise much more than your average person, yet we had no trouble here. It wasn't silent, but it wasn't overly loud. Easy to walk to the downtown area just across the river. Ford museum is right across the street.

Staff was very friendly and helpful not only during our stay but also during booking.

Restaurant on premises was decent. Better than what you would typically get at a HI, but not exceptional. It was good food at a decent price.

Overall, I would recommend the Holiday Inn and if we ever get back to the Grand Rapids area, we will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I got in late and left early, so all I had exposure to was the staff and the room. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. The room (821) on the top floor had a great view to the north, but the highway noise was too much for me. I tried stacking pillows on the window to block some noise but no luck. I kept the air conditioning fan on to help block the noise, but that didn't cover the noise too much. Too bad the noise was such a bad experience for me, as the bed was comfy and the room was clean. Put this hotel in a quiet area, and I'd go back in a heart beat. But for me, I'd rather find a quieter hotel and drive into town. If you can sleep through traffic noise, then this is a great choice for you. Without the highway noise I would rate this hotel as a 4-5, little else matters when you don't sleep well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
years_on_the_road,

I apologize that your stay was so heavily impacted by our proximity to the expressway. We are reviewing plans to improve the noise impact and appreciate your feedback as it assists us in the prioritizing future improvements. We do strive to provide excellent guest service and cleanliness as we believe they are critical to a great experience. We are thankful that we met your expectations in these areas. Thanks again for your comments. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
#3 of 47 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza Hotel
Amway Grand Plaza Hotel
#5 of 47 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
CityFlatsHotel - Grand Rapids
#9 of 47 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riverfront Hotel Grand Rapids
Riverfront Hotel Grand Rapids
#36 of 47 in Grand Rapids
3.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.