We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service at the downtown Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service at the downtown Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at the downtown Holiday Inn for a short business trip. The hotel is in a great location and a nice facility. The staff went out of their way to help me have a very pleasant stay. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    124
    44
    8
    12
See reviews for
46
77
17
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved the location of this hotel and the price was reasonable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, beds were comfortable and the entire hotel was very clean. We ate at the restaurant at the hotel and really enjoyed the meal. I have a gluten allergy and they prepared the chicken to accomodate my needs, it had an awesome pesto mayo on it, it was very very good ! The bar at the hotel was very cozy and comfortable and they have happy hour during the week days. Mojo's dueling piano bar is only a 6 minute walk, definitely worth going to. The Public Museum and Ford Museum are across the road. Frederick Meijer Gardens is about a 15 min. drive and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance or a quick taxi ride away. We would definitely go back to this hotel and also to their restaurant and bar on the premises.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a few times through several ownerships. It is very near museums, the river, restaurants and all of downtown. For the price, it is a good deal. We found the room clean, the staff accommodating and the furnishings more than adequate. The entire hotel was updated a few years back.The one thing I did not like about it is that the bathroom had only a toilet and bathtub/shower. No sink. The sink is in the room. While I like an extra sink in the room, I do not like it to be the only sink. The thought of all those dirty hands opening the door makes me sick!
Everything else was fine. You will also find that the restaurant in the lobby serves a good breakfast for a very fair price (not inflated hotel prices)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not a terrible hotel however it was my husband's and my 1 year anniversary, we booked the reservation for one bed but were given a room with 2 double beds. Not the ideal anniversary room for 5 days. There was a convention in town and they were unable to accomodate us into another room but were very apologetic about it. I also had arranged for rom service to surprise him upon check-in, I was told the kitchen would be alerted to our arrival and all we had to do was stay in the room until it arrived. Well 1.5 hours later as my husband is hungry and I am stalling I finally had to fess up and call them. It was clear they forgot since it took another 30mins to arrive. Not what I hoped for. Also there were a number of very large spiders on the windows (because it is right near the water and I am sure they can't help it but it creeped me out nonetheless). Anyway we checked out and went over to the JW Marriott and had a nice time there (for almost double the price though of course). Also when we informed them we would check out a very nice manager guy told us to pop over to the restaurant and have a drink on him as an apology however I guess he forgot about us because we ended up paying for that too. Luckily we both have a great sense of humor and we laughed about our disastrous 1st anniversary night so it was okay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Cass182,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and I regret you received room service which was less than satisfactory. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and service we offer to our guests.

I hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is one of the nicer Holiday Inns I have stayed in lately. Rooms are upto date and very clean. It is more reasonably priced than the other hotels in this area. Plus you do not have to pay for parking. It is located downtown with a lot to do within walking distance. I will stay here again whenever I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay during the ArtPrize event - close and reasonably priced. Imaginative art was everywhere. Our comfortable room gave us a restful night and the Pearl Street Grill was handy and reasonably priced to get us on our way. The staff and eager to point us in the right direction. The ArtPrize was a learning curve, the Holiday Inn wasn't. We'' be back for both next year.

Room Tip: Nicer view looking north
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Grand Rapids for a wedding in mid-September. Once we had parked in the adjacent lot (big cities make you forge how convenient that is) we never got in our car again. Lots to do, see and eat! The hotel was very clean and the staff helpful and nice. This will now be our go-to in GR!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl Street Nw, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.