We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Hotel overall if issues are corrected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2052   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #25 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Curaçao
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“good Hotel overall if issues are corrected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel is nicely located with plenty of restaurants around. Beds are ok. The breakfast nice as usual for BW hotels. Friendly check in staff. The bedsheets were not changed after the guest before us left, when going to bed and opening the sheets we found human hair (fr legs etc) between the sheets. After calling the front desk fresh sheets were brought, but we had to change them ourself. The parking space in front of our room was blocked by a big semi, blocking 12 spaces. There were bottle caps on the desk and under the desk, which left us to think the room was not cleaned. With these flaws gone this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for bringing this issue to my attention! It is never acceptable for the bed sheets not to be changed in between guests. Never. I have new housekeepers here, and we mark the sheets before they change them to see if they are changing the sheets each time. This is a program that we do with new housekeepers to ensure that they are changing all of the sheets. We have reinstated this program with the new housekeepers in order to ensure that this does not happen to another guest. I am so sorry that this happened to you. My housekeeping manager and I are working to keep them understanding the importance of changing every linen, every time.
I appreciate your comments because they help us to know what is going on in the hotel and what needs to be done to improve it. I would love to have you stay with us again next time you are in Grand Rapids. Please give me a call personally and I would love to help you.
Best Travels to You!
-Cyrena Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    50
    32
    22
    15
See reviews for
68
50
13
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, NC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I return to this hotel for a reason whenever I go to Grand Rapids. The service is great, the rooms are clean and pleasant, and I never feel scared there. The breakfast is not really as good as it used to be but it is still very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael L, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review! We love when our guests are happy, and I am glad to see that you had a wonderful time at our hotel. If you need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to call us at 616-949-8400.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have been on business trips many times over the past year and a half when in Grand Rapids and find this staff to be the most friendly and courteous that I have ever seen in any motel that I have stayed in the United States.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mark,
You are awesome! We LOVE having you here! When I came back as a General Manager, I was so glad to see you were still staying. All of my staff know you and enjoy having you stay with us while you are in Grand Rapids. You are in our list of top favorite guests (sorry everyone else, haha)! Thank you so much for the kind words and for taking the time to review our property! I don't know if I told you or not, but Best Western Rewards members who post reviews on Trip Advisor get 500 bonus points from my property. Thank you for being a member and for being our guest. You will see your points on your account today. You rock!
See you soon!
-Cyrena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very welcoming desk and lobby with a very warm receptionist. Room had been upgraded to a suite at no additional cost and was very comfortable. Close to expressways and local attractions. Very well insulated or very quiet guests or both, for it was a very pleasant stay, and very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Michael K,
Thank you so much for staying at our Best Western Hotel! Thank you also for the great online review. I love to hear that my guests are having a great stay. If you ever come back to Grand Rapids, please do not hesitate to call us while you are here. We would be grateful to have you stay with us again! Also, I looked it up and I see that you are a Best Western Rewards Member, so please look for your bonus points today on your account for sharing a review with our guests.
Happy Travels,
Cyrena Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The bed was great. The room was clean. The pool is large as is the hot tub. Brann's next door was great to eat and watch sports. Breakfast is a normal good hotel breakfast. Too few tables though to sit down and eat on the weekend. I would definitely stay again. The hotel was very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family was in town for the day. James (manager) was very friendly over the phone and when we arrived.
We're looking forward to staying there again. We also booked an additional room. The king suite is great for a family ( plenty of room) with 2 TV's and bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best_Western_23161, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Joy,
Thank you for your review of our property. We try our best to ensure that guests each day are receiving the best in customer care. I am happy to hear that you had a great time at our hotel and that James helped you during your stay. I would love to have you come back next time you stay in Grand Rapids. Please call us any time that you need something here in town.
Wishing you great travels,
Cyrena Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel when I first moved to Grand Rapids and didn't have a place to live. I was here for a couple of weeks.
I can only say positive things about this place. The staff was wonderful-- friendly and helpful. The rooms were good. Nothing extraordinary but clean and modern.
This room was booked through Hotwire, and in my review, I told them it was better than the 2.5 stars they were given.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best_Western_23161, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Rick M,
Thank you for your review of my hotel. I am excited that you took the time to let everyone know what a great time that you had at our property. If you need a getaway, come back and see us. We would love to have you!
Best Travels,
Cyrena Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Address: 5500 28th Street SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#22 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will be pleased to find that each well-appointed guestroom and suite includes satellite television with HBO®, a refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Other amenities at this Grand Rapids hotel include a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning, free dinner every Monday through Thursday, a sparkling indoor heated swimming pool; largest in the area, hot tub and a complimentary airport shuttle service to the Gerald R Ford International Airport - located just three miles away. Proud to be the closest BEST WESTERN to Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, named one of the world’s 30 Must See Museums by Patricia Schultz, author of 1000 Places to See Before you Die. Meijer Gardens is home to Butterflies are Blooming and Christmas Around the World and Grand Rapids Art Prize Annual exhibitions.Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will also appreciate this Grand Rapids hotel's close proximity to local businesses including the Grand Rapids Medical Mile. The Medical Mile is home to the Grand Rapids Community College Calkins Science Center, Spectrum Health’s Butterworth Hospital Complex, Grand Valley State university’s Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences, and Michigan State University Secchia Center Medical School. The BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites is close to Amway, Meijer, Cascade Engineering and Steelcase Headquarters. The Best Western is centrally located within minutes to over 100 restaurants’, many of them participating popular Annual Restaurant Week.Specializing in hosting sports teams, the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites' location near Aquinas, Calvin, Cornerstone, Davenport and Grand Rapids Community Colleges. Located only minutes from Patterson Ice Arena, Soccer Spot, MVP Field House (directly across the street),and AMF Eastbrook Lanes Bowling Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Grand Rapids
Best Western Hospitality Hotel And Suites
Best Western Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.