We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ornate Old School Grand Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amway Grand Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Amway Grand Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Monroe NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersGold level
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ornate Old School Grand Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I enjoyed my visit here. Quiet and comfortable. A grand hotel of the type they don't build any more. Large lobby with nice sitting areas. My room was in the old part of the hotel though I believe there was a new wing. Checking in, their laundry had broken down and they were out of clean bedding so there was a delay in checking in. They were actually running linen to the hotel across the street to be washed. Obviously this was an unusual event, made right by giving the guests whose check-in was delayed a gift certificate for use in the hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for sharing a review of your experience. We appreciate your understanding of the unusual situation that took place when you were checking in. Our outstanding and dedicated staff strives to provide a great guest experience in any circumstance - even when the unexpected happens. I am glad that you were pleased with the way the situation was handled, and still had an enjoyable visit with us. We hope to see you again soon!

At your service,

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    180
    41
    25
    18
See reviews for
89
171
21
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have stayed at the Amway Grand a number of times. I have always enjoyed it.

I stayed there again just recently and was given room 881. It is a corner room in the tower section.

To start with, your view out the window is of a wall. Your view is terrible. Second the bathroom is very small. Too small for a luxury hotel. Third, when the heat went on in the room, it was so loud it drowned out the TV. You would have to keep turning the TV up and down. There is some sort of heating system in the room that is terrible loud. Fourth, the shower had no hot water, only warm at best.

For over $500.00 for three nights. ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Not room 881
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us a number of times, and for sharing this important feedback with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for your disappointment with the room. We strive to provide all our guests with an unforgettable experience each and every time, and clearly we missed our mark during your stay. I am pleased to inform you that we are currently in the process of updating our Tower rooms, so you can look forward to an improved bathroom and other structural improvements to make your stay more comfortable. I also recommend trying out the rooms on our Historic Pantlind wing on a future visit, where there are views of downtown Grand Rapids to enjoy. We hope to have you back again soon for a wonderful experience, and again appreciate your loyalty and feedback.

At your service,

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and i stayed there for our annual company dinner. The staff were very kind, very informative and professional. we stayed by choice in the pantlind hotel, it was beautiful, well kept and very clean, beds were clean and comfortable, amenities abound. We enjoyed a drink in the lumbar baron bar and a late light meal in the sports lounge. it was a great experience and we will go back again soon. Thanks to the staff again for being so polite, We travel alot and its nice to be taken care of by people who care and we gladly will compensate them.

Room Tip: Choose the tower if you want to be closer to the pool and like the modern touch, if you like old wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

It is Great location and service was excellent, There are great bars and restaurants to choose from and the Precor Fitness center was fully equipped and very good. I will stay here again and bring the family next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very nice Precor fitness center! They had a nice selection of precor equipment which will get me to stay here every time I visit. Beautiful hotel with friendly staff and very clean. I found the bed to very excellent and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. We stay here at least once a year. We have stayed in both the original side and the newer expanded side. They have stores on site, bars with craft beers, restaurants to fit every budget. Staff is very helpful and courteous. Swimming pool is very nice and clean. We love that everything is within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the new part of the building if you want easy access to the pool. Otherwise you have to wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for your loyalty! I am glad that you enjoyed our fitness center, along with our close proximity to fun downtown spots, and our on-site restaurants. We love that you have had the chance to stay on both the Pantlind wing and our Tower wing. We look forward to hosting you once again next year!

At Your Service,

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Amway Grand. We arrived late the first night of our stay so went upstairs to the Cygnus 27 for dinner. We were seated at a window table and loved the view. The restaurant was very attractive and inviting. We had a chicken with lettuce wrap appetizer and it was great. My husband had the pork chop and raved about it. Unfortunately my salmon was overcooked and the asian glaze was too sweet.
We really liked our classic room in the modern glass tower. The room had corner windows and overlooked the river and the Gerald Ford Museum; a great view. It had a marble entryway that led to the bathroom and bedroom. It was a nice sized room with a comfortable bed and great sheets. The bathroom was on the small size, but had a really nice tile shower and huge bath towels.
My only complaints were the pocket door leading to the bathroom and the lack of towel racks to hang our towels. So many hotels ask you to please consider the environment and reuse your towels, but then neglect to have anywhere to hang the damp towels.
The public areas of the hotel are very nice. There is a variety of restaurants within the hotel plus you can access the Grand Rapids skywalk from the 2nd floor. We were able to walk 3 blocks from the hotel without going outside, which was especially nice with the cold February weather.
The Amway Grand Plaza is in a great location; close to many of the cultural activities that Grand Rapids has to offer.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amway Grand Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Address: 187 Monroe NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door, you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.