We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in downtown GR for fans of old heavy colonial decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amway Grand Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Amway Grand Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Monroe NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersGold level
Meitar, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in downtown GR for fans of old heavy colonial decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the old Pantlind wing where the Room was huge, clean and well equiped. Nice fitness center (pool under repair) and friendly staff. Well located in downtown, but downtown GR does not have much to offer. The Cygnus restaurant offers fantastic food on the 27th floor with an exquisite view.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to review your experience. I am so glad that you enjoyed your room and took note of our friendly staff. Please come back and visit our Fitness Center again when you are next in the city! We would love to share the updated pool and facility with you. How wonderful that you had a chance to dine in Cygnus 27 - the restaurant provides such a unique experience. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to host you again soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    180
    41
    25
    18
See reviews for
89
171
21
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Terrible service and they CAN'T guarantee a 4:00 check in! Don't stay here! A terrible deal for the money!!!! We had a wedding at 5:15 and a guaranteed check -in at 4:00. THAT didn't happen and being out of town I had to change in a closet on the premises. No comp, not even a "Sorry". Sincerely, a disappointing hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in the area for a wedding. We realize you had several downtown hotel options to consider, and we appreciate you choosing us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the delay in check-in that you experienced. I know this really inconvenienced you and made your preparations for the wedding difficult. The weekend you stayed with us was a challenging one in which a local event had created some obstacles for our housekeeping team. We strive to meet our high service standards - which include a timely check-in - each day, and clearly missed our mark during your stay. Please email me directly at csmith@amwaygrand.com so that I can gather more information about your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future to show you our fantastic service.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night, the last week of July. I was on a business trip and my company set me up with room on the concierge level. The room was very comfortable - a nice king bed with soft linens. I had a corner room, so I enjoyed a two large windows overlooking the river. The concierge lounge was nice - very friendly people manning the afternoon bar and the breakfast bar the next morning. This is a large hotel with nice shops and restaurants. It is in within walking distance of nice places to eat too. Check in was easy in and out. I would stay here every time I have to visit Grand Rapids.

Room Tip: I stayed in the tower which offered nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Located next to DeVos Place Convention Center and near a number of
microbreweries. Meeting rooms have high ceilings making acoustics less than desirable. Constant up and down steps to move from meeting to meeting was brutal. Not very accessible for the disabled. Pricey restaurants

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us while you were in the city for a convention. I am glad you enjoyed our proximity to DeVos Place and the convenience that this provides. I sincerely apologize for the accessibility issues you encountered during your stay, and would value the opportunity to gather more information about your experience to see what we can do to make the campus more convenient and accessible. If you would be so kind as to email me at csmith@amwaygrand.com, I would really appreciate it. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to host you again soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel along with the International Trumpet Guild. Everything about it was beautiful and elegant! Our room was clean and large with a small sitting area. Housekeeping came in everyday and made sure everything was spotlessly clean. They have several restaurants in the building, but if you don't find anything there, there are other restaurants in the area. Airport is within 20 minutes ride of the hotel. The staff could not have been nicer: Any needs we had were met immediately and courteously.

Room Tip: I believe any room in this hotel would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Grand was the best!! There are bars and restaurants within the hotel that are more than sufficient without ever having to leave the hotel along with shops and ballrooms! We had my daughter's bachelorette party there and had a joining rooms which made it really nice. Had pedicures and manicures at the Hairacy a short walk from the hotel. The girls there were awesome and very accommodating to the ten of us. We had the place to ourselves..had lunch brought in and were able to bring our own food. Short walk to several restaurants, bars and museums if interested. Don't miss the opportunity to visit the bar on the 27th floor of the hotel. Good drinks...nice view of the city at night. The atmosphere at the Amway Grand is exceptionally nice and deserves 5 Stars !!

Room Tip: Very clean, very comfortable rooms, quiet. I'm sure that any room at the hotel is of high statu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and choose the Amway Grand Plaza for your daughter's bachelorette party! We are always so honored when guests choose to spend special occasions like these with us. I am glad you had such a wonderful time with your daughter and the rest of the group, and that you had a chance to enjoy the wonderful view and cocktails in the Cygnus 27 Lounge. We hope to host you again very soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Service was excellent and friendly, value for such a grand hotel experience was excellent. Room cleanliness and quality were average based on the overall hotel ambiance. View from room provided a water view and was fairly scenic. The location of parking was very convenient and felt safe if you choose to park yourself. Breakfast was good and there were many options within the hotel to eat based on purpose for visit. Two different parts of the hotel exist, one is more modern in terms of room other more classic. Preference on style is a question of what each person prefers. Overall nice stay and I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amway Grand Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

Address: 187 Monroe NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door, you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amway Grand Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.