We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lumber Baron

Lumber Baron
187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
(616) 774-2000
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 806 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I got a spicy Bloody Mary and my husband got a Captain and "Pepsi". If that qualifies as a drink. Love the atmosphere but my Bloody Mary was suppose to come with jalapeño stuffed olives and didn't. :(.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great comfortable chairs. Nice old school apps, and great drinks. The servers and bar tender were very attentive and entertaining.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Grand Marnier by the fireplace in December!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Cozy, quaint, upscale service. This is a small gathering spot great for conversation and enjoying quiet moments and warm times.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Quiet and sophisticated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent service. Beautiful paneled walls, leather armchairs, and a fireplace. A great place for a nightcap.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quiet spot for a relaxed drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Although we've stayed at the Amway Grand a number of times, we had never ventured in to the Lumber Baron (maybe it wasn't there??). On this trip we stopped for pre-dinner wine (with a small serving of complementary munchies) and enjoyed it immensely. It's intimate and cozy -- wood paneling on the walls, a fireplace, the feeling of being in the library of a lumber baron's mansion. All in all a very relaxing place to have a quiet conversation, with a feeling of going back in time (oh, yes, the drink selection was good and was reasonably priced).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumber Baron also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Lumber Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumber Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.