We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the reviews” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Choo Choo Grill

Choo Choo Grill
1209 Plainfield Ave NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49505-4903
616-774-8652
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 825 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Restaurant details
Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't believe the reviews”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very small and quaint. The burgers are average at best. Cant hold a candle to The Green Well or five guys. The meet has a cheap grocery store taste. They were actually a little standoffish.Don't wast your time or money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Who would have thought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Lived near the place for 27 years and never went there till a co-worker raved about it. Yes my knees were crammed in at a counter seat but the people were friendly, both the staff and the regulars, and the food was delicious. Went back to work and couldn't stop talking about the burger. Definitely will b back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good greasy spoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Yum burgers. Place is super small. Cleanliness is in keeping with greasy-spoon-status. Very nice staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So Darned cute...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

How could I not give this place 5 green dots? It's like not giving a piece of candy to a teary eyed kid. It scarcely has enough places to house 16 people and it is almost always busy. Like people say, the burgers are great and you'll meet a lot of local characters who waste their time blogging about food and restaurants. The shakes are great too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great Burgers, Woo Woo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Choo Choo is tiny and old, but they grill burgers that are great. Top it off with homemade shakes, fries, onion rings, and homemade soups, it is a delight. Only a few booths and a bar to sit at, but the staff is friendly and they do the cooking right in front of you. Curiously I just told someone I was going to Graydon's Crossing next door , and she said "oh it's right by the Choo Choo. My dad just took me there and I loved it!"

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choo Choo Grill also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Choo Choo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choo Choo Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.