We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times in past 2 years with my daughters travel sports team. It smells like lavender when you walk in.. Front desk is exceptionally efficient. Each time had rooms on ninth, 12th floors overlooking the river. Great view. Rooms clean, comfortable, great linens. Live the bathroom shower and soaking tubs. Lots of little positive amenities you expect from a higher end hotel. Restaurant has good brunch on weekends. One of my favorite places to stay.

Room Tip: Request a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    96
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
88
155
23
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Great room, comfy bed, central location.

The executive lounge option is great for complimentary drinks in the evening and cooked breakfast/fresh fruit & pastries in the morning.

Gym good.

Internet could be faster.

Eat at Panera Bread over the road for lunch - really good soups and salads :)

Room Tip: Choose river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience! I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience our concierge lounge and gym facilities. You'll be pleased to know we just recently upgraded our Internet service and are able to provide higher speed service now. We hope to host you again very soon so you can experience it and let us know if you are pleased with the change. We look forward to seeing you!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel over a dozen times and highly recommend it.
Very modern, clean, friendly staff, great restaurant (except outside when the bugs are out, as the hotel and restaurant patio are on the river and can attract bugs at night). The bar and restaurant 616 are very cool and very nice- I would recommend sushi over anything else on the menu. Rooms are very nice with good views all the way around. Pool area has a very nice steam shower.
This is certainly the nicest hotel in West Michigan.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We came to the hotel without reservations on a Saturday. The hotel was pretty booked so we were assigned a handicap room on the 12th floor. The room was very large and that may have been in part due to the handicap accessibility. The king size bed was very comfortable and the in room amenities were wonderful. I really enjoyed the chaise lounge type chair next to the window. We enjoyed cocktails in the Mixology lounge and the bartender was very welcoming. Breakfast from room service was served at our requested time and the food was still very warm and tasty. The location of the hotel is great for walking around downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

beautiful hotel on the Grand River in downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan. Customer service at it's best, from the moment you check in until the moment you drive away it is obvious that customer service is TOP priority. What a refreshing feel in todays non-customer oriented world. Beautiful hotel, beautiful view. Six on Six breakfast is fantastic. We will recommend to our friends and family and we will be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind words regarding our staff and service levels! We strive every day to provide excellent customer service to our guests that exceeds their expectations. We recently completed a new training program with our associates called Symphony of Service - and this has helped us elevate our service levels even higher. Thanks so much for taking notice, and we hope to have you back very soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the JW for our wedding night last year but didn't really have a chance to utilize all the amenities so we returned for our anniversary this year and lived it up. The concierge lounge is top notch and you cannot beat the view of downtown, the pool/hot tub is great, and we loved the sauna. If you stay on the weekend and don't get brunch downstairs at 616, specifically a gourmet omelette, you are crazy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us - both for your wedding night and for your recent visit! We are so glad you enjoyed both experiences, and had a chance to take in more of what our hotel has to offer on your second visit. We agree that the omelets in six.one.six are an absolute must! We hope to have you back for another memorable stay sometime soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location with beautiful river views. Spa-like bath--deep soaking tub, separate glass shower with awesome double sprays. Gorgeous floral arrangements in public areas and responsive, friendly service. Terrific eucalyptus steam room and delightful aromatherapy bath amenities. (As a matter of fact, that soothing subtle scent seemed to permeate lobby and hallways--nice touch! Only one downside--wireless service was inconsistent and sometimes slow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and taking the time to share your comments with us and future guests! Our bathroom soaking tubs are indeed very popular! We are so glad you enjoyed that along with the Eucalytpus steam room and Aromatherapy Associates bath amenities. We apologize for the unreliable wifi you experienced - we were having technical problems during your stay and can ensure you the service will be much faster and reliable during your next stay. We hope to see you very soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Grand Rapids
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.