We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay for the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We drove additional 30 minutes from Holland to stya in this hotel. It definitely worths the drive. Everything was excellent for our travelling party.

We had the river view side on 6th floor as we need the two queen sized beds. Room was smaller than the average but well equiped. We loved the bath room which has a sperate two heads shower and nice tub for kids to play in there.

We chose to dine outside as lots of choices for a few minutes walking. Such a great day to wander around downtown area on the Labor day weekend. Check out the San Chez Tapas place on Fulton. We loved it.

My husband has high regards on the matress. He had a such nice sleep and then decided we need to upgrade our own mattress. LOL.

I had a pleasant morning run along the riverwalk. Some portions were closed due to the high water. It was a great view of Marriot building from across the street. Kids had too much fun at the pool while I was enjoying the steam room and the hottop.

The concierge floor is on the 23rd. The view was nice. The breadfast items were decent. I was hoping they had the warm oatmeal for kids. The service staff was happy and very helpful.

Overall, a great stay for the family. Definitely will stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for traveling the extra distance to visit our hotel when you were in the Holland area! It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of our hotel's amenities, as well as some of the great offerings of downtown Grand Rapids. How wonderful that we inspired your husband to upgrade his mattress! Sometimes just one outstanding night's sleep can inspire big changes. We hope to host you again soon when you are next in the area. We look forward to seeing you again!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    330
    91
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
81
140
22
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spend one night over Labor Day weekend while visiting Grand Rapids. Had two rooms on the 19th floor for my family. The kids enjoyed the pool. Work outs were easy to do in the well equipped and spacious gym. Concierge Lounge is open 24 hr with multiple food/snacks daily. Check-in was a breeze. The rooms were well appointed but smaller than average. Both rooms had Mini-Refrigerators. Bathrooms were tastefully decorated and functional. Room service was average and on par with most other hotels in costs. However, I must add that the $8 soup was way over-priced for what we got. Chicken noodle and a variation of Italian Wedding soup tasted "ok" but they literally gave you 6 tablespoonful of soup. Wi-fi coverage was decent and free. Hotel parking was $16/night. The Gerald Ford Presidential Library is literally across the street. Downtown Grand Rapids offers plenty of restaurant choices and activities within walking distance to this hotel. Looking forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and choosing to spend your Labor Day weekend with us! Thank you as well for your kind words and feedback about your experience. I am glad you enjoyed the pool, concierge lounge, and well-appointed rooms. We appreciate your feedback on the soup portion and price, and will take that into consideration. We look forward to hosting you again in the future and providing you and your family another unforgettable experience.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Service - valets and front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I never opened a door. They valet was always there to help me. The front desk staff was always very eager to help me with directions by printing out maps and giving me suggestions for restaurants and activities. The cleaning staff broke my husband's brush, but the manager more than graciously compensated us for it.
Aesthetics - the entrance is small. If you are looking for grand, the Amway is definitely the way to go. The building is very modern, which we like and the rooms and bathrooms were modern as well with glass shower. I was surprised that there was only one sink in the bathroom and very little counter space. The beds were very comfortable, which is to be expected from a Marriott.
Food - We did not eat at the J.W., but Cygnus 27 at the Amway is fabulous! You have to get the Chocolate Sphere. My husband ate half of mine before he even started on his own :)

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The staff is wonderful extremely thoughtful. I had a long stay but I felt at home. The rooms are superb, ask for a room with a view of the river the view is brilliant.
The location is very convenient, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria07
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for a quick getaway to see the Ford Presidential museum across the river. It's a very modern hotel with great views of the river. Service is outstanding and the restaurant/bar was very good. We had a room on the concierge floor which had a lounge area at was quite nice. The rooms are big with nice big windows and great natural light. Bathrooms are very nice and modern - separate shower/tub is nice. While this wasn't a business trip, I do travel a lot and noticed that the room had a ton of plugs for devices and decent wi-fi. All-in-all, this is a great hotel and we'd highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed on the 15th floor to celebrate our 15th Wedding Anniversary. The room overlooked the river and the North Western Section of Grand Rapids.
A very short walking distance from everything you want to see in Grand Rapids.
The staff were very kind and professional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us! We are always so honored and flattered when guests decide to commemorate a special occasion with a stay here. How fitting that you stayed on the 15th floor on your 15th anniversary! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the walkability of our city. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I usually stay at really cheap hotels - just a place to lay my head - but in DT GR, the cheap hotels are as much as the nice ones, so I stayed at the JW. Wow.

Beautiful room, beautiful view. Extremely professional staff - maybe a little too much so - I don't think it would hurt for them to tone it down when interacting with someone who is not a business traveler; they were almost intimidating!

I did something here that I've never done before - take a bath in a hotel. The separate tub/shower was great. The tub was a deep soaking tub and the shower had two heads with multiple pressure settings. The bathroom also had two distinct lightings that could be used separately or together. It was really spa-like!

The entry of the room had a wardrobe with robes and automatic lighting. The far end of the wardrobe piece had a room safe, coffee maker and mini-fridge.

I was in a king room with a blah city view (again, being cheap, didn't want to pay the extra for the river view). The windows in the room were HUGE so if I stay again I probably will shell out for a room with a view. The bed had plenty of pillows and was clean but too firm for me (this is a theme in my reviews). The in room lighting was great, with book lights on either end of the headboard.

The free internet worked well, was fast and easy to connect to. The print service did not work so well - I ended up having to email my train ticket to the desk clerk to print it for me.

This was a beautiful property and I would definitely stay here again if I'm in Grand Rapids.

Room Tip: Go for the river side - the picture windows aren't meant for the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Grand Rapids
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott
Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#9 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.