We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, perfect location - everything you need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Luxurious, perfect location - everything you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our infant sons for 2 nights for the Riverbank 25K run.

When we arrived, the valet and bell service greeted us and helped with our many bags. We used the valet service throughout our stay ($25 per day) and asked for our car many times in those 2 days. They always had the car waiting for us within a few minutes of the call to the desk.

The pool area has a hot tub, pool, and 2 steam rooms (adult only).

There is a very nice restaurant and bar on the premises as well as a spa that offers services in room or in spa.

This hotel has so many amenities that you don't need to leave, but if you choose to, it is in the heart of Grand Rapids. Restaurants, Van Andel Arena, DeVos Performance Hall, DeVos Place, and several museums are all within a few blocks. On a cold or rainy day, you can access most of these locations by using the SkyWalk, which is an indoor walkway that connects the JW Marriott with most of downtown.

Room Tip: This hotel is downtown, so if you ask for a higher floor, you will either get a nice view of the ent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    111
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
101
177
23
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

- Beautiful and relatively new hotel
- Great location by the river
- Nice rooms
- One of the best concierge lounges I have experienced in the U.S
- Nice and courteous staff
- Six One Six restaurant and bar was excellent – Had two meals there

Room Tip: Get room with concierge lounge access (Free breakfast, snacks and drinks in evening and dessert at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience! We are glad you so enjoyed your experience with us and appreciated the Concierge Lounge and six.one.six restaurant. Like you, many of our guests recommend staying on a floor with Concierge Lounge access when they come to stay with us again. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel looks to have been recently remodeled and was done so in a modern style. The staff was friendly and the hotel was in great shape. We had a room on the 14th floor with a river view which was beautiful The people in Grand Rapids tend to be friendly and eager to help newcomers. Our room was close to the elevators but you really couldn't tell. Wonderful stay and great value. The exercise room was fine but is in need of upgraded cardio machines.

Room Tip: Pick the river view on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location when visiting Grand Rapids, central to shopping, museums, theater and located on the river. Hotel staff is very knowledgable and friendly. Rooms are contemporary, clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When you are traveling on business, there are a few things you want: 1) convenience to the city's downtown, 2) a comfortable bed (maybe even more comfortable than home; 3) staff that help you solve problems; and 4) a great hotel gym.

This hotel scores highly on all counts. The hotel staff has printed documents that I left behind for a deposition, the gym is amazing, the bed is great, and the overall hotel is beautiful and comfortable. I love staying here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caux, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good rapport price-value, friendly staff who seemed to enjoy making their guests welcome. Room clean, properly equipped. Decent range of lotions, potions etc in the bathroom. Strong breakfast buffet. Easy parking. Looking hard for a gripe... Maybe a bit corporate, architecture a bit cold-be-anywhere. Which is maybe a feature of Grand Rapids itself. But the midwestern friendliness of the team makes up for it. Pas mal!

Room Tip: High floor corner room with view of Gand River and Ford library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am a loyal Marriott traveler and always enjoy my stays at the JW Grand Rapids. Just stayed for one night this week and as always, the stay was flawless. Room on the 22nd floor overlooking the river was great.The concierge lounge with excellent fare and complimentary cocktails, wine & beer is one of the best I have seen!!

The only "must" stay in the City!!

Room Tip: High Floor with River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us, and for giving us the honor of being called a "must" for those staying in Grand Rapids. We hope that you will continue to stay with us time and time again when you are visiting the city, and are so glad that you enjoyed our concierge lounge! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#2 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Grand Rapids
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.