We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, staff, & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, staff, & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending a trade show at the convention center. This JW is very nice and located right on the Grand river. Room was modern with a great view of the river. The bathroom was great with both a large soaking tub and a separate shower with a very cool double shower head.

It was a close walk to the convention center. You can walk either outside on the streets, on the sidewalk along the river, or if the weather is bad go via the "skytube" (skytube to the Conv Ctr is a little confusing as you have to go through the Amway hotel, it's kind of maze-like but warm).

Had a couple of very nice meals in the restaurant; Six One Six.

This JW also has a very nice fitness center.

Only thing I didn't like about the hotel was the use of annoying blue lights in the lobby area. On the couple of occasions we were having drinks I felt like they would give me a migraine if I stayed there too long.

Room Tip: get an upper floor on the river side. My room had huge floor to ceiling windows the full width (a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    100
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
93
161
23
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Hyde Park, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Was there for a wedding and enjoyed the hotel. Exactly what I expected from this Marriott brand. Great location with wonderful views. Friendly, client focused staff. All the amenities you need and a short walk to just about all of the local attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, MI
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful addition to downtown Grand Rapids. Every part of our stay at the JW Marriott was first class. Well decorated and appointed rooms were spotlessly clean. Breakfast buffet at Six-One-Six included as part our package was excellent...probably the best omelette I've ever eaten! The service staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in room 2101 a double queen room that was good size, but certainly not a suite, with a good view of the river and skyline.

PRO's:
Too Many to list; here are a few

• Very good beds and excellent pillows. Heavenly duvet.
• Upscale décor throughout room and hotel
• LG 37” flat screen TV
• Solid surface counters with marble floors in bathroom.
• Entire room was very clean
• Small seating area with table
• Nice view
• Has small fridge
• Marriott robes provided for use during stay
• Nice pool/whirlpool area with steam rooms (no fee)

CON’s:

• LONG walk to parking area. Drop bags at the door and/or use valet (for a fee)
• Decent workout room, but it smelled stale
• No Microwave
• Fee for wireless
• Moderate train sounds most nights between 10-11:00 pm can be annoying

WORK AREA

• The work desk was good size, with an excellent chair. FOUR (4) outlets for electronics (Yeah, Marriott) Average lighting. TV interface with HDMI port.

Breakfast/Food

I was attending a Conference, so all of our meals were provided at the convention center. I ate breakfast at the concierge lounge on the 23rd floor. Breakfast was provided in my room class. The breakfast in the lounge was sparse and unremarkable. It’s OK for a light morning bite to eat, but I wouldn’t depend on it for a meal.

POOL

The pool was nice, clean and warm but is only 3.5’ deep. OK for laps and wading. There is a separate area for the whirlpool which is surrounded by glass for a good view outdoors. I would recommend using the steam rooms, especially the eucalyptus scented room.

SCORE: This is an excellent property for the money and is at the top of the list for choices in Grand Rapids, perhaps on par with the Amway Grand Plaza across the street. Like most full service Hiltons or Marriott’s, bring a full wallet, everything is pricey. However, they never crossed the threshold where you felt gouged, which is important to me. I will pay a fair price for good service and that’s exactly what you get at this property.

I would give this property a 95/100 overall and an 90/100 for value. ENJOY!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STANTON
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The JW Marriott in downtown Grand Rapids is a great upscale property close to all your favorite events. Walking distance to so many great restaurants including Sundance Grill, The Woods, Mojo's dueling piano bar and many more. Very nice staff. We needed an extra towel on our second night and they rushed it right up. valet parking is $25 or park yourself across the street for $16. Worth the price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I grew up in Grand Rapids and always had it in my head that the Amway was the only place to bother staying. I have to say that I am now convinced that for me, the JW is now convincingly the only place to stay in town. I will recommend it enthusiastically to anyone I know passing through Grand Rapids.

What sets it apart is the service. The manager somehow has figured out how to run the place like the friendly host of a bed and breakfast or a small boutique - I am still baffled on how he has the time to connect so well and so warmly with all of his guests, all while seamlessly running a large hotel and maintaining the respect and admiration of his employees.

If I had to offer advice, it would be to definitely stay on the concierge floors. The view from the concierge lounge is spectacular, and is the perfect place to start your day with an espresso or unwind with a glass of wine or Michigan brew at night. No matter how much you can fill up here with the offered snacks, save room for dinner at the six.one.six restaurant. Mandatory. This place surpassed all of my expectations. At first glance, the menu seems very unassuming, almost basic. Steaks, pastas, some fish - but this is unpretentious food mastered. I live in Argentina, the land of gauchos and beef, and even with my ridiculously high standards, I was impressed by how well the steaks were made (and the wine list, featuring many lesser-known wines from around the world, was also greatly appreciated). It's now three weeks later and if I close my eyes I can still taste the homemade mint chocolate chip gelato, arguably the best of my life (and I have tried a LOT!).

Another thing that the JW has managed to do impressively is span all sorts of markets. It is obviously the perfect choice for business travelers, yet I know a lot of couples from nearby who make it their go-to place for a romantic weekend. I happened to stay with my 3 young kids and at all times I felt more than comfortable, as though they were completely welcome by all of the staff.

I could go on and on about everything that I love about this hotel. But to sum up, from the time I walked through the door to the time I left, I felt like family there. My only problem is that now I'm trying to figure out how to tell my parents (who live 15 minutes from the JW) that when I come to Michigan to visit them, I may have to stay at the JW as opposed to with them. :)

Room Tip: Splurge for concierge level, for sure - it is actually a great value for what you get. Both views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

You get what you expect from a Marriot Hotel.. A spacious room with the expected amenities, many pillows to choose from, a shower and a tub (separate). A free wifi is provided . Iron and and an ironing board are provided in every room. No surprises - meet high expectations. Good place for business trips to Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids

Address: 235 Louis Campau Prom, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#5 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Grand Rapids is everything you would expect and nothing you could have imagined. Situated in the heart of downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan, the JW Marriott Grand Rapids is meticulously designed for both business and pleasure. As the first JW Marriott hotel in the Midwest, the hotel offers 337 well-appointed, smoke-free rooms and suites on 23 posh floors. Each of which is outfitted with atypical amenities like a 37" plasma TV, as well as numerous other uncommon personal luxuries. From shareholder's meetings to lavish wedding receptions to intimate weekend getaways to The Spa, the JW raises the bar. In luxury. In service. In dining. In everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Grand Rapids
Marriott Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Grand Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.