We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good American Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5200 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good American Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for a girls' weekend in April. We got a room with 2 double beds and were very comfortable. I love that Hampton Inn washes all bedding- no gross unwashed bedspreads from the prior occupant. The beds were a little too soft for our tastes- you kind of sink in to the pillow top. Bathroom was a nice size and water pressure was good, plus we had plenty of towels.

Pool and gym were nice and clean. Lobby was very comfortable- we had long breakfasts there. And breakfast selection is pretty good.

There is construction on 28th Street so traffic moves slowly but you can get in and out OK. I had read other reviews noting the signs are a bit hard to read and to look for the Target sign.

There was a small fire in the middle of the night so we all had to evacuate. Evacuation went well and the hotel staff managed the incident very well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahG884, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you come and see us again, if in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    64
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
70
36
12
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is very comfortable with great beds and nice rooms. They are in the process of remodeling which is great too! The remodeled gym is nice but they also give the option for an off site gym for free. It is awesome when you are traveling!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahG884, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for the comments and coming to stay in our facility! We are happy to hear you made use of our newly remolded gym. Hopefully you'll come see us again and our lobby will be finished being remodeled too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Hotel was nice and clean. The only problem is the location. It was so difficult to find the hotel even with the latest GPS maps. There is no sign on the highway and luckily another family informed us that it was located behind a Target store.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esteinmetz, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Were glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be clean. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great staff, very comfortable and clean! Beautiful rooms. I would stay here again. Loved the park and ride option for the airport. Nice breakfast to go and loved the shuttle service to and from the Grand Rapids Airport. I'll recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahG884, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are so happy to hear your stay was pleasurable. We'r happy you were able to take advantage of our shuttle to and from the airport. Cleanliness is a big priority at our facility, and we are happy to hear everything went well. Can't wait to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The rooms were very clean and the hotel is very quiet at night. It's placed far enough from the main road that you don't get any noise. The staff works tirelessly to keep the entire hotel VERY clean. They were also extremely helpful and even provided us with a corkscrew.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRAirport, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience! I will share your comments with the entire team so they are aware of your experience and the great service they provided. See you next time your in Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling heights, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went to this hotel because we had a volleyball tournament in Grand Rapids. The hotel was very clean, the rooms were very clean, large and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast provided was fresh and very tasty!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRAirport, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for takng the time to fill out this feedback. We use this feedback to constantly improve on our levels of service and accomodations. I am happy to hear that you found the cleanliness and service at the hotel to be what you should expect. My staff and I want to ensure every guests stay is as enjoyable as possible, so it is wonderful to hear comments such as these. Rest assured I will share your comments with my entire team. We hope that your team enjoyed the volleyball tournament as well. We cant wait to serve you again the next tournament or your next trip to Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

First time visiting and my family stayed 3 nights. Staff very friendly and helpful. I must say these beds above most hotels we've visited are in the top category. The location is excellent and central to anything in the Grand Rapids area. The value very good and reasonable rates. Hot breakfast not bad at all and this all really made a difference since we were in town for a funeral. Thank you to this establishment.

Room Tip: We did not need to ask-- the front desk staffer placed us in a room opposite of the High School spor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahG884, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your response, we really appreciate it. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable beds!! We are pleased that your entire stay was enjoyable, and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St

Address: 5200 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#7 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#12 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take the stress out of flying here at the Hampton Inn & Suites?? hotel in Grand Rapids-Airport/28th Street, MI. Just one-half mile from the Gerald R. Ford International Airport, it takes a mere five minutes to get to the terminal from our hotel. Grand Rapids itself lies just minutes away and offers a huge array of amenities and activities to please any business traveler or family on vacation. Within just a few miles of our hotel in Grand Rapids you'll find golf, bowling, shopping, an ice arena, horseback riding and many of the city's best-known businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St Hotel Grand Rapids
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.