We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3251 Deposit Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Noisy and just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Selected this hotel based on reviews for a one night stay in Grand Rapids. Liked the location near Meijer Gardens and the staff was friendly and helpful.The room was average..plus side was a refrigerator, negative was older tub surround that needed updating. The breakfast was plentiful and pretty typical. The big complaint that I had was that my room was very noisy. I could hear the people on one side so well I could hear their exact conversation, could hear a screaming toddler (might have been able to hear that one in any hotel!), could hear the television in rooms on either side, could hear coughing, toilets, people in the hall etc. It was definitely one of the noisiest hotel rooms I have been in. The hotel was close to full, so might be quieter when occupancy is lower. I am going to be in the area again in two weeks so may try again to see if it was an aberration or may try another hotel. Will update if I try it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    66
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
88
73
22
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Was looking for lodging to enjoy the Grand Rapids area....for an affordable price. What a find! Was greeted with delicious chocolate chip cookies, a friendly helpful staff and a nice CLEAN room.....which passed my delicate nose test! We enjoyed a delightful full breakfast before heading off to the Meijer's Gardens. Will certainly stay there again when in the area! Thanks!

Room Tip: Save room for the complete breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There are many hotels in Grand Rapids which claim to be excellent. How could a Country Inns be rated so highly, and at an attractive price? I was skeptical at first but after staying two nights I know why. The owner of this property goes above and beyond what is required. From the premium coffee to the speed of check-in (thank you Matt Crandall; why can't all hotels do it that fast?) to the fact that someone is ALWAYS cleaning something. We were nearby everything we needed and had a an excellent stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have stayed here two times in the past year. This will definitely be our hotel whenever we are visiting in Grand Rapids! They have wonderful apple cider in the winter...and delicious cookies and a fabulous breakfast in the morning. The hotel is very clean and the staff are always courteous and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great night's sleep for a decent price; it even fit the kids with a pull-out sofa bed. The said it was comfortable. I slept very well on the bed although my husband thought the pillows were 'too squishy.' The pool was a little small, but they also had a hot tub. They staff was very professional and friendly and handled our complaint about the reckless partiers immediately. The breakfast was ample, varied, and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a room for a holiday weekend at the last minute, having never stayed at a Country Inn & Suites before. Now we think this is our favorite chain for family trips.

We upgraded to a suite -- living room with desk and TV, bedroom with two queen beds and another TV -- and that turned out to be a great choice. I had work to finish late at night, and I was able to get that done without disturbing the rest of the family. The wi-fi connection was good and fast, too.

Everything was immaculately clean. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and plush, equivalent to beds at much pricier hotels. We were in the middle of the hotel, near the elevators, and we never noticed any noise from the halls or other rooms.

The hotel is a five-minute drive from the Frederik Meijer sculpture gardens (which you absolutely should visit -- our 12-year-old, who hadn't wanted to go, said it was her favorite part of the trip). Many dining options are just a few minutes' drive further north. The front desk staff steered us to some good choices.

We loved the breakfast buffet. Juices, fruit, a variety of breads, eggs, sausage, cereals, biscuits and gravy, French toast -- you get the idea. If it's on a breakfast menu somewhere, it's probably on the buffet. A word on the coffee: Hotel coffee is usually not that great, but this was. Even better: The coffee is available fresh in urns in the lobby all day, along with chocolate chip cookies.

The staff was friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. The pool and exercise room were clean and well-kept. There's even a small arcade with pinball machines.

I chose the hotel based on the other raves on this site, and I can now say they weren't wrong. Great experience and a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry County, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit nicer than the norm of chain hotels of this price-range. Excellent on-site breakfast. Nice amenities. Very nice indoor pool, spa, and workout room. Courteous staff. Only negative observation is the air-conditioning unit has an incredibly noisy fan. I do not believe that it was a maintenance issue, but rather the design. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East

Address: 3251 Deposit Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is it like to Be Our Guest at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East? It's a family getaway, with all the comforts of home. It's feeling free to borrow a book from our library, sit by the fireplace, or relax in the whirlpool. It's a hot breakfast that is always free and friendly staff that is always ready to help. But most of all, it's feeling like a guest in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids East
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.