We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3251 Deposit Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We found this place to be a wonderful bargain and place to stay. Accommodations were very clean and the staff was very courteous and helpful in pointing out places to visit In the area. Food was great and full breakfast included each day! Their pool and exercise area were beautiful. I would definitely return here again.

Sharon U

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property on Trip Advisor! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll let our maintenance manager know of your comments on the pool and exercise room. He takes great care of them with his staff. Come back again soon!

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    59
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
81
72
19
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Friendly staff - very nice property and a very good location make this a preferred place to stay. The special armed services memorial in the lower level is beautifully done and well worh the extra time to see.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Darcy,

Thank you very much for writing a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property! I'll let our owner know that you appreciated the Armed Services display case.

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeast Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We see this hotel every time we travel through Grand Rapids on I-96. It's a great place to stay. The front desk staff are very helpful, and know the area well to provide recommendations for places to visit or restaurants to eat at.

The breakfast is really good, with fresh fruit, oatmeal, egg dish of some kind, and make-your-own waffles.

First time I've seen a pool in the lower level, but it's a good fit. You don't see people walking around the front desk in their swimsuits. The lower level has a laundry room and fitness room as well.

What I liked best about this location was the quiet, firm beds, and up-to-date furnishings in the rooms. My only recommendation is bigger pillows.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Deborah,

Thank you very much for your nice kind comments! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll let the front desk staff and the breakfast staff know of your comments! I like the location of the pool as well, it gives guests a nice location without having to go through the lobby. I'll let our housekeeping manager know of your comments on the pillows!

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We selected this hotel because its location was convenient for visiting family. Being situated on a busy freeway was nice for access, but I could hear traffic all night long even though we were on a higher floor. Check-in was smooth. Our room - a king - was all fine but not noteworthy. It was basically clean enough and an average size but not particularly comfortable. The loveseat may have been the hardest seating surface I have ever had in a motel. The bed, also, was unusually hard for a hotel. We made a brief visit to the breakfast room; the staff appeared to be keeping it cleaner than most. Breakfast was of the upgraded included breakfast variety. There were no newspapers. We availed ourselves of the express checkout, which I always appreciate. I would not hesitate to stay here again when in the area but would probably shop around a bit first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear JJTOH,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor! I appreciate all of your feedback; especially on the check in and the room. I will let my front desk staff know of your comments and I will let my housekeeping manager read over your feedback on the room. I apologize for the lack of newspapers. Depending on the day, we have USA Today available on weekdays and then the Grand Rapids Press is out in the press box in the rear entrance for about $1.25 on weekends. Sometimes we have extra USA Today's available on weekends but it is usually older news. We keep them available at the front desk per guests request. If you are coming back to the area, give us a call! Call other hotels as well and see what they offer. We would be delighted to have you back!

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Grand Rapids. Really hospitable front desk, a good breakfast and clean rooms. I have never had a problem with noise and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. They actually want to provide you with excellent service! That is something you don't find everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Janice,

Thank you very much for your nice kind comments! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We're always happy to assist you! Come back again soon, Janice!

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice room, excellent breakfast, but noise from the freeway interrupted my sleep. There was no shuttle service offered by the inn from the airport (midnight flight arrival). All of the car rental companies at the airport were closed at that hour, so renting a car was not an option. One person at the inn recommended a transportation service that would cost $75. We were lucky to catch the last trip by a taxi at $30.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments very much. If you are ever uncomfortable during your stay please don't hesitate to call the front desk. We would be happy to move you to the other side of the building, provide a fan, whatever you need. Cabs usually cost around $30, I'm glad that price was correct. We do have a shuttle, but it only operates for groups and at a rate of $75. I believe that is what my front desk clerk might have spoken with you about. I apologize for the confusion. Normally we do not do shuttle runs to the airport. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast, John! I'll let our housekeeping manager know of your comments on the room as well. If you have any questions or concerns please don't hesitate to email me. I would be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very comfortable room. Accessible as requested. Excellent breakfast - best we had on a two-week trip. If we visit Meijer Garden again we will stay at this hotel. One suggestion - try to arrive in daylight - we found access at night to be very tricky.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East

Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids East
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn
Address: 3251 Deposit Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is it like to Be Our Guest at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East? It's a family getaway, with all the comforts of home. It's feeling free to borrow a book from our library, sit by the fireplace, or relax in the whirlpool. It's a hot breakfast that is always free and friendly staff that is always ready to help. But most of all, it's feeling like a guest in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Carlson, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.