We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3251 Deposit Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Even though located between two busy highways, I expected to hear traffic noise but didn't. Unfortunately, the walls between rooms and the hallway were the standard thinness/thickness so I clearly heard kids yelling and running in the halls one night and the crying baby next door. Nonetheless, the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. I loved having a couch, flatscreen TV, microwave, and mini fridge available. The staff was especially friendly and helpful every time. Check-in and check-out was a breeze. The breakfast area was large with a good variety to choose from. My only complaint was the layout of the coffee area. The table was crammed into a corner and close to tables so getting to and around it and other guests was awkward. Short drive to Meijer and various restaurants. Cost at approx. 134/night was moderate, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I have business in that area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear dbaron,

Thank you very much for writing a review about our property on Trip Advisor! I'll let our staff read over your nice kind comments. Come back again soon!

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    84
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
108
81
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My overall stay at the hotel was great but what blew me away the most was the breakfast. I had stayed throughout the week and left on the weekend. I just have to rave about how good the service and food was on the weekend! The breakfast staff worked so hard to keep food coming out and to keep everything clean even though it was very busy in the morning. The young blonde girl.. (I don't remember her name, I think it was Adriana) asked me about my day and what my plans were and she made small talk with me which made me feel like an appreciated customer. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone I know that is planning on making a trip to Grand Rapids. Also the rooms were clean and the front desk staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Happyreviewer29,

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Arianna is a really hard worker and I know she will be happy to hear your high praise! I'll let her know of your great feedback!

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We drove in late and tired after a three hour trip through heavy rain. The clerk at the front desk was courteous, cheery and really raised our spirits. He made us feel welcome and at home. Check in was very quick and efficient. We were provided with a number of things to do in the area during our stay.

The room was great! It was larger than normal, nice high ceilings, and very clean. Breakfast was excellent in the morning -no shortage of food or choices.

The location of this hotel is very convenient as it is near the exit of an expressway and a major highway -perfect to get around.

Cost of this room was well worth it, especially in comparison with the hotels downtown. Would definitely recommend it for anyone visiting the Grand Rapids area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear UScanuck,

Thank you so much for your nice review of our property! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll let our front desk staff know of your nice kind comments. I know they will be happy to read your review. Come back again soon!

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I recently stayed at this property and it was a nice experience. Rooms were clean, breakfast had a huge selection (but wish more healthy options, and no biscuits and gravy -yuck!) Internet was decent and it had a pool, hot tub and fitness center, which we didn't use but looked inviting. Convienient location.
The only thing my group was disappointed about was that our arrival and check in process weren't the greatest. No one was at the desk when we walked in (understandable sometimes if helping other guests) but the man who came to the desk was obivously in the back on the computer playing games or listerning to music (we could hear it from the front) and seemed to jump and fly up front when we called hello. His name tag read manager but don't remember name exactly, Ian or Liam... After checked in, one of my group returned to ask a question about the area and the same man had his head down and was on his personal cell phone. Just a rather unprofessional experience from him.
However, in the middle of the night your desk person Jacob (i think) was great and answered our questions promtly and professionally. Such a great worker should be a daytime shift! Very good with guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sydney L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. I appreciate your comments very much. I will inform our breakfast attendants of your comment about the biscuits and gravy. I will also let our auditor Jacob know of your kind comments. I know he will appreciate your feedback very much.
I also appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns regarding your check in experience. I apologize if I gave the impression that I was using my cell phone at the front desk or playing video games in the back office. Our computer screen is below the front counter surface and I can understand that you could think I may have been looking at a cell phone. Also, many of my management tasks involve duties in the back office. I can assure you that I do not use my cell phone for personal communication nor do I play video games during my work hours. I will look at how I can change our set up so that each and every guest is aware of our efforts to ensure they are our top priority.
Please contact me personally the next time you are planning a visit to Grand Rapids. I will be happy to assist you with your lodging needs. Your feedback and my commitment to address these issues will make your next visit. That is my promise to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The wife and I stayed overnight while in town shopping. First time at this property. Compared to other hotels in this chain it was the nicest property we have stayed at. Wehad a king suite that was very nice, quiet and clean. The breakfast was the best I have had at a motel in a long time. The breakfast hash was great and they had fresh fruit. Will definatly say here next the next timke I am though GR.

Room Tip: We liked the king suite, very quiet and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Dave,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. I'll let our breakfast attendants know of your nice kind comments, Dave! Come back again soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight before a trip to Frederik Meijer Gardens. The pool was smallish but had tons if loungers and tables. The water temp was perfect for our 4yo, and everything seemed clean. There was a lot of long, curly hair in the water. The hot tub was nice and hot but foamy, which I think might be a water quality issue so we skipped it. Our king suite was on the small side but clean. We always need a kitchenette bc our food allergies make it hard to eat out, and this one was fine. The bad news -- the bed was like sleeping on the ground it was so hard. I like a firm mattress, firmer than almost anybody I know -- but this thing was like a brick. On the opposite end of the scale, the pillows seemed smaller than std size, and soft like a bag of oatmeal. It was not comfortable. The walls are very thin and the rooms situated such that your neighbor's TV is at the head of your bed. Our neighbors were not loud, they were just watching TV quietly. But it was still loud, as was the constant hum from I-96. All in all, it was nothing too awful, just average. Bring a pillow and some earplugs and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear babylizzie,

Thank you very much for your informative feedback of our hotel, Babylizzie. I appreciate your comments very much. I will let our maintenance manager know of your comments on the pool & whirlpool. Unfortunately, we do not have kitchenettes in any of our rooms. We recently installed microwaves & refrigerators in all our standard rooms to help guests store items throughout their stay. I'm happy to hear you were in town to visit the Frederik Meijer Gardens! If you're coming into town again soon, we certainly offer a package deal that includes two tickets to the Meijer Gardens. We can usually get a free suite upgrade in there for you as well. The king suite that you stayed in might have been a bit small according to your comments, but we do have a larger suite if you're interested. Our largest room is a one bedroom two queen suite. It has two queen beds & a sofa sleeper that pulls out into a full bed. From your comments you made in the review I understand your child has food allergies, if you're ever wondering which items would be safe for your child please don't hesitate to ask the breakfast attendants in the morning. They would be happy to assist you!

Babylizzie, thank you very much for your review of our hotel. If you have any questions or concerns please email me. I noticed your comments on the bed being firm. If you have a moment, please message me what room and date of stay so I can let our housekeeping manager know, or you can call the hotel directly. I would be more than happy to speak with you! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southgate, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here just on an overnight trip. It was very easy to find coming off 94 going east. Hotel was what you would expect for one in this price range - clean room, bed was good, bathroom facility worked well, AC/heat worked well. Breakfast was OK. Hotel is very clean. Staff is REALLY nice. All in all this was one that would be worth going back to. Fredrick Meijer sculpture gardens are right down the street to the north.

Room Tip: elevator is in the center of this hotel - parking is all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CX_GAMI, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Hugh,

Thank you very much for your great feedback, Hugh! I appreciate your comments very much. Being close to Frederik Meijer Gardens certainly is a huge selling point. Next time you're in town, book our Local Attractions package. It includes two tickets to FMG. Artprize is a great time to visit because you can look over the art pieces and the park for the same price! Come back again soon, Hugh!

Sincerely,

Ian Kirkwood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East

Address: 3251 Deposit Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What is it like to Be Our Guest at the Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East? It's a family getaway, with all the comforts of home. It's feeling free to borrow a book from our library, sit by the fireplace, or relax in the whirlpool. It's a hot breakfast that is always free and friendly staff that is always ready to help. But most of all, it's feeling like a guest in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Country Inn And Suites Grand Rapids East
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.