We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Staff needs attention to detail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Staff needs attention to detail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a large family vacation,5 rooms w three different reservations and prices. The hotel itself was well maintained and the pool area and breakfast were representative of the spring hill line. The man working the breakfast went above and beyond to make the guests morning a pleasurable experience. We were third to check in and had requested a king room and 2 queen bed adjoining rooms as we have small children. Well at check in the desk gave one of our rooms to another family members and put our two rooms on different floors. The situation was corrected in the end, but at chk out we were charged at the rate our family booked and not our original rate as they didn't change credit cards when fixing the rooms. This could have been avoided all together if at chk in they actually checked identification. Second, once in our rooms one needed the bathroom recleaned as there was hair in the tub and urine drips on the seat. Housekeeping was quick to respond and cleaned it well. Next, the other room's TV did not work.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Lizzy2005 -

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the SpringHill Suites. I want to apologize that you experienced anything less then a perfect stay. Although I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our hotel and had pleasant things to say about our breakfast attendant I want you to know that each issue regarding cleanliness and maintenance will be addressed to ensure that similar issues such as yours do not occur again.
I again want thank you for your honest comments regarding your stay and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mike McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    53
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
14
12
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfast included many options. The people at the front desk were helpful and friendly. They had a list of local restaurants they provided when I asked about dining, and they noticed the note I made when I made the reservation about an allergy (most hotels miss this even when their websites ask for notes). We were very pleased and will stay here again. I would recommend the hotel put a little more information on their website about finding it because it's tucked behind a shopping center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Ohiogirl00 -

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the SpringHill Suites.

I appreciate you mentioning our location as it can be a bit difficult at first but is well worth it once you arrive. I am glad to learn that you were able to enjoy our hotel and all that it has to offer. We appreciate your honest opinions and look forward to you staying with us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon Michigan
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived in Grr at 10:30 pm and had a 7am flight out in the morning. Got to the hotel and there was no place to put our car. The lot was totally packed full. The front desk clerk said she was leaving and we could have her spot. Went to the room and it was clean and nice. Thought we would have to pass on breakfast because we were leaving at 6am but not to worry as the breakfast was set up early. Went to catch the flight. Came back 4 days later and when we landed I called the hotel to get picked up figuring by the time we got through luggage claim and all that we wouldn't have to wait too long. Oops. Seems the guy that was sent to pick us up was waiting for us to come out. When we were on the way to the airport they called a cab for us and they paid for it. They said their own transfer doesn't start until 7am so they call a cab for us at their expense. The pool was very nice but we didn't get in.

Room Tip: They will take you to the airport anytime. Wonderful feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Geogh3 -

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the SpringHill Suites. Although I am sorry that we were lacking viable parking spots when you arrived I am glad to hear that our staff was able to take care of you nonetheless. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and comments such as yours are always pleasant to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel is clean, modern, bright, new furniture, nice breakfast. I dont need anything else, I'm good. Yes, it may be a bit hard to find the first time, but then its fine. Oh, did I mention clean? The #1 item I look for in any hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
ObserverGuy -

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased to learn that you were able to enjoy our clean, comfortable rooms and look forward to having you stay with again.

Mike McWilliams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff is what makes this hotel great! Beginning at the shuttle bus from the airport to the front desk and the cleaning service. Everyone is friendly and genuine. This is not the sexiest hotel but it's definitely one of the cleanest. The furniture is in great shape however. Bonus: there are waffles at breakfast! The cook is a sweetheart too. Its located near the mall, Target and several other shopping places.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking your time out to tell us abut your stay at our property! We will make sure to let the whole staff know about how pleased you were with everyone! Glad you enjoyed the waffles, and breakfast staff. Hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stay at Springhills all over the country. This one is especially lovely because of the people who work here! Generous, resourceful, helpful, kind! The facility is spotless but not sterile or overly fragranced with chemical cleaning agents. I want to congratulate the management and staff on the elegant, homey feeling here. I will stay again. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahG884, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking your time out to tell us about your stay. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here over the weekend. The front desk staff was friendly, welcoming and very helpful with check-in, extra towels and local knowledge. The room was comfortable and clean. The location was a bit hard to find, but turned out to be quiet and peaceful with a nice view of a pond from our room. No complaints about the staff or the room - they were quite good.

However, we encountered some problems. Sunday morning breakfast was a bit of a debacle. We went down at 9:10 (breakfast was open until 10am) to find a line of 8-10 people waiting for food. The 2 hot food trays, the entire baked goods rack, the oatmeal pot, and the hard-boiled egg tray were all entirely cleaned out of food. The people waiting around basically clogged up the entire service area so it was difficult to get to the few remaining food items that were stocked. We each basically drank some juice and had a yogurt before we had to leave for church. There were no issues with Monday's breakfast which was quite pleasant.

We are generally not heavy-utilizers or very demanding of hotel amenities, but we also found, to our dismay, that 4 out of 4 pieces of fitness equipment were out of order and that there was no available internet connection in the public computer in the lobby.

The chaotic and unfulfilling Sunday breakfast, broken exercise equipment and lack of internet connectivity on the public computer were each individually not a big deal, each something that I would ordinarily overlook and understandingly excuse. However, to run into one thing after another that was either poorly executed or broken makes me wonder about how this hotel is run. Taken together, these issues turned this into an average or below average hotel stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahG884, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize that you came across some unpleasant issues during your stay. We are working on expanding our breakfast area so there will be more room during breakfast. We also apologize about our fitness equipment being down. We do hope you will return to our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#17 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Hotel Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.