We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to I-96 and Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Convenient to I-96 and Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

6 year old, well maintained property with exercise room, pool and meeting room. One of the SpringHills with optional lobby bar open evenings. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Several guests including my wife and I had problems getting key cards to work in room doors. Management is aware of problem and it may well be fixed now. Construction on 28th Street made exit from hotel slow. Staff will instruct you how to exit to the south to avoid possible delay. They have an airport shuttle if you are flying.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side of building afford nice view of wetlands
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the review, were glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you next time your in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
34
11
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is my "go-to" hotel when I am in the Grand Rapids area. Smiling, familiar faces, and I am usually recognized when I arrive. Breakfast is good; there is a small bar that serves adult beverages after 5 PM. Fitness center is small but sufficient; if you're wanting to lift weights or just get a little more serious, there is a huge MVP Sportsplex just a couple of miles away. Pool and hot tub are clean, and there are hydraulic chairs for disabled guests who wish to take a dip. There is a Target store within walking distance, along with a Dick's Sporting Goods and a Costco, as well as a Staples and Party City. Also very close by is a Longhorn Steakhouse and numerous other restaurants, malls,etc. This property is situated on busy 28th St., however, it is positioned back about a quarter of a mile, giving it a relatively tranquil setting. It's close enough to the airport, but not so close that you're disturbed by the airline traffic. Behind the hotel is a watershed that contains abundant wildlife, despite the "city" setting. Rooms: clean and spacious typical SpringHill Suites layout. I have never had any trouble at this hotel, and everyone has been more than pleasant. For those of you loyal to Marriott, there is another SpringHill Suites to the north that is also excellent. However, this airport location suits my traveling needs a bit better, and I know my way around the area well. Always look forward to coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahG884, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are so happy to hear we are your "go-to" hotel. We love when we can make your experience feel like you are at home. We are glad to hear our fitness center was sufficient for you, for future reference we do offer free passes to a local gym, Centennial Fitness, which is only about a 5 minute drive from our facility. Even with all the businesses on our main stretch, and the airport being so close, we still feel secluded in our own little "island" and we are relived you were able to experience that as well. Thank you for your response, and we can't wait to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinde, MI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is amazing for our 3rd time at this hotel and it was the best. They are so nice and caring and ask you if everything is okay! They take the time out to care about the guest. I know i will be back to this place again. The construction on 28th street was not bad because we took the back way. Its nice to know that hotel you are guest at is so nice. The hot tub was even relaxing. It could use some updating but hey thats how the hotel business is. The breakfast area is bit cramped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for this great review! We will share it with our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larsen, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly staff. Every request we made was met with a smile and a polite response. All staff greeted us each morning and each evening which made us feel welcome. I especially liked the ice water that was available 24/7, free daily newspaper, and breakfast. The pool was quite small but there is a hot tub and work out room. Finding the hotel is tricky since it is situated on a service road behind Target.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americo T, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are more than happy to know that you felt welcome by our staff, we try to make our guest feel as comfortable as possible with home gestures. We are glad that you enjoyed all the ameneties included with your stay including the pool fitness room and breakfast. We hope that you return to our facility sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of a traveling soccer team. The rooms were great, staff was excellent, and the hotel was very clean. The only complaint was the quality of breakfast. It could be that we had a bunch of kids at one time, but there was not enough food and the wait was a little too long. Overall, this is a nice property, although it is a little difficult to find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americo T, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for review on our establisment. We are happy to know that you enjoyed staying at our facility and had a great expirience. We try to keep our facility well mainated and clean for every guest that stays with us. Thank you and we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here on 3-20-13, very attractive inside. Fresh linen, comfortable bed and easy access to fitness room. Was hard to find, but follow the little road to the left where the miniature hotel signs are. Right before Target entrance turn left. Breakfast was quite nice in the morning; fully stocked with hot & cold choices. You won't disappointed, well worth the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americo T, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are happy to hear that your stay was pleasent and enjoyable! Our breakfast consists of a large variety of food in order to satisty our guest and the nutrition standards. We appreciate your visit to our establisment and would love to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is a little hard to find. After exiting I-96 at 28th St., look for the entrance to Target at Hotel Ave. You may see a small sign with both Spring Hill Suites and Hampton Inn... this is where you need to enter. Drive around the east side of Target and the hotel will be on your left (set back away from the road) as you go south. I found the hotel clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet included egg patties (from frozen), sausage patties, breads and muffins, cereal, etc. We had a minor problem with the bedding in our room, and the front desk staff was friendly and accommodating, providing us with strong service recovery. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites. East-facing rooms overlook wetlands, and are billed as the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americo T, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate your review for your stay. We are aware of the difficulty of getting to our facility but are happy to know that you were able to reach your destination without a problem. We are also happy to know that our breakfast was sufficient for you we like to keep a variety of food to meet your appetitte. Our front desk team is always happy to accommodate our guest with anything they need so it's good to hear that your situtation was taken care of with care. We hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#21 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Hotel Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.