We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Larsen, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly staff. Every request we made was met with a smile and a polite response. All staff greeted us each morning and each evening which made us feel welcome. I especially liked the ice water that was available 24/7, free daily newspaper, and breakfast. The pool was quite small but there is a hot tub and work out room. Finding the hotel is tricky since it is situated on a service road behind Target.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americo T, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are more than happy to know that you felt welcome by our staff, we try to make our guest feel as comfortable as possible with home gestures. We are glad that you enjoyed all the ameneties included with your stay including the pool fitness room and breakfast. We hope that you return to our facility sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    53
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
14
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of a traveling soccer team. The rooms were great, staff was excellent, and the hotel was very clean. The only complaint was the quality of breakfast. It could be that we had a bunch of kids at one time, but there was not enough food and the wait was a little too long. Overall, this is a nice property, although it is a little difficult to find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americo T, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for review on our establisment. We are happy to know that you enjoyed staying at our facility and had a great expirience. We try to keep our facility well mainated and clean for every guest that stays with us. Thank you and we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here on 3-20-13, very attractive inside. Fresh linen, comfortable bed and easy access to fitness room. Was hard to find, but follow the little road to the left where the miniature hotel signs are. Right before Target entrance turn left. Breakfast was quite nice in the morning; fully stocked with hot & cold choices. You won't disappointed, well worth the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americo T, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are happy to hear that your stay was pleasent and enjoyable! Our breakfast consists of a large variety of food in order to satisty our guest and the nutrition standards. We appreciate your visit to our establisment and would love to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is a little hard to find. After exiting I-96 at 28th St., look for the entrance to Target at Hotel Ave. You may see a small sign with both Spring Hill Suites and Hampton Inn... this is where you need to enter. Drive around the east side of Target and the hotel will be on your left (set back away from the road) as you go south. I found the hotel clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet included egg patties (from frozen), sausage patties, breads and muffins, cereal, etc. We had a minor problem with the bedding in our room, and the front desk staff was friendly and accommodating, providing us with strong service recovery. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites. East-facing rooms overlook wetlands, and are billed as the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americo T, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We appreciate your review for your stay. We are aware of the difficulty of getting to our facility but are happy to know that you were able to reach your destination without a problem. We are also happy to know that our breakfast was sufficient for you we like to keep a variety of food to meet your appetitte. Our front desk team is always happy to accommodate our guest with anything they need so it's good to hear that your situtation was taken care of with care. We hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We love Marriott hotels, and this one did not disappoint. We reserved 3 rooms, and all were squeaky clean. The linens on the beds smelled so crisp and clean. Did I mention it was clean? The pool was quite small, but our seven kids had a blast there anyway, and it was clean. We felt kind of sorry for the other families in the pool area because our kids didn't leave them much room. We stayed for 2 nights, and I think the kids swam at least 5 times. The free breakfast was typical and the same each morning - eggs, sausage, waffles for hot items, and your typical cold items like muffins, bagels, yogurt, milk, etc. Coffee was good. We hung out in the lobby well past 11:00 each night, and the desk lady was very pleasant to us. We didn't buy from the lobby bar (never saw anyone buy a drink during our several hours down there) because they were extremely overpriced. Front desk was very helpful when we brought them several inquiries. They gave us extra shampoo and conditioner when we asked. We also tried to purchase a milk from their little market corner, but they were nice enough to run into the kitchen to get us a couple free ones instead. My only complaint is that the walls are paper thin, the reason for 4 stars instead of 5. We listened to a man on the phone for over an hour and well past midnight next to our room, and heard every word. We resisted pounding on the wall because he sounded mean! Aside from that, we had a very pleasant stay and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Handi-cap accessible rooms are much larger if they have any available. Next time I'd probably r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the review! We will share it with our team, hope to see you back at our property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Gratiot, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I forgot to read the reviews prior to booking this hotel, it probably would have saved us from missing the hotel on the first go around and having to turn around and really look for the small sign near the Target entrance. Once we arrived, the hotel check in was efficient, fast and friendly. At check in we were informed there were "sports teams" at the hotel, but that we had been placed away from their rooms. I never heard anything, so I thank them! My only complaint, at least from a female standpoint, is the lighting in the vanity area. It was very dim. I ended up removing the shade from the lamp near the sofa and dragging it into the vanity area so I could finish my makeup. Room very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and I requested to be away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

When I arrived at the SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport without my suitcase (lost by airline!), the nicest people took over! General Mgr Elijah Steinmetz drove his own car through icy slush to get me to Target to buy essentials, and Theresa Pittenger, Director of Sales, picked me up when I called the number she gave me. Night desk person Sarah lent me a charger cord for my phone! When you take a dependable Marriott property and add go-the-extra-mile employees at all levels, you have a winning combination, for sure! Would stay again . . . anytime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGRAirport, Public Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#22 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Hotel Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.