We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for my business trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 52 hotels in Grand Rapids
Poole
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for my business trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice hotel, tucked off the main road so is very quiet, just what was required after a day of work. Whole hotel is immaculate, staff all very friendly. Rooms comfortable and very large. Free wifi which was a bonus. Not tried the gym / pool, think that will be the next trip. My only gripe is the limited selection for breakfast. As nice as it is to make your own waffles, it's not exactly what I was anticipating given my experiences of the brand elsewhere. Since you are on 28th street all the restaurants etc are right on the doorstep, as is the target which this hotel is tucked behind.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    53
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
13
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for a soccer tournament. Family of 4 (my husband and I plus our 10 year old and 7 year old sons).

The positive - The front desk assistant was very quick checking us in and apologized for only having a king suite and gave us a rate discount. They also threw the soccer players a pizza party on Saturday night. We didn't go but that was nice of them. The walls are thick enough that you don't hear a lot of noise. The room was clean.

The negative - the bed and especially the sofa bed were the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept on. The sofa bed had a huge ridge down the middle. You could still feel it even though I put 2 blankets over the mattress. When I called to get more blankets for us to use as blankets, they did not have any, so we had to go to Target to buy some. The comp breakfast was free - that's all I can say about it.

I would definitely try the Holiday Inn or Crowne Plaze if we go back next year.

Room Tip: Only reserve double beds to avoid the sleeper sofa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed for a single evening in early August. The room we reserved was just what we expected-2 queen beds and a pull out couch. The hotel had a noisy first floor hallway, but that is hardly a surprise. Breakfast was good, refreshed often and staffed by friendly people.
We were surprised that no bed linens nor blankets were available for the pull out couch (we improvised) and the front desk apologized. Still, it is an odd thing for a Marriott to overlook.
This is close to the interstate and airport (but not airplane noisy) and a good choice for a family traveling. The pool looked nice.
Exercise room was a disaster-broken equipment and hardly worth the effort to keep the lights on in the room.

Room Tip: Try a room NOT on the first floor if noise is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

After shopping around online quite a bit in this area, I'm happy with our decision to stay here. We got one of queen suites with a sofa bed. The room as very clean and updated. The staff was very friendly and professional. The included breakfast was pretty typical for hotels in this price range. Some people complained about not being able to find the hotel. Just go left right before going into the Target parking lot and follow that street around. Personally, I like not being right on a busy street. To top it all off, this hotel offered a good value when compared to other hotels in this general area. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor. It was very quiet...at least for our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After staying at two other hotels in the same area during an extended weekend trip with my daughter, I booked the Springhill based on reviews and because I wanted something nice for our last night. The room had everything! Plenty of room to sit and relax, use your computer, kitchenette, fridge, separate vanity area. The entire hotel was CLEAN, staff was friendly. Although I didn't visit it, the small bar area was a nice touch. Love that juices, yogurt, milk, were available 24/7 and the free breakfast was great. Super comfortable bed and the heating/AC unit is controlled by a thermostat on the wall and is nice and quiet. Location is convienent to shopping, dining, highways. I just wish we'd stayed here for our entire trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I don't think I could have done any better for the price, as I got a fabulous rate at this hotel. The suite is pretty small by suite standards, but the amenities make it nicer than a regular room (small couch area with dorm-type refrigerator, microwave, etc.). It was extremely clean. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom amenities include some great smelling shower gel and lotion by Paul Mitchell, as well as Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, fresh fruit, waffles, etc. Location is very convenient for getting to the airport, highways, Target, restaurants, etc. There were more TV channels than I have had access to at any hotel I've stayed at in recent memory.

During previous visits, I had stayed at the Hampton Inn next door. But this visit I decided to give the SpringHill Suites a try. The SpringHill Suites had a better rate this time, but the two properties are similar in quality and service. I would stay at either one again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to the Airport and perfect for a short stay. Coming from the airport, I did not find it difficult to find as some others have. It is set back from the road in a beautiful little area with trees and a pond, but it does have a sign to let you know where to enter.

The facility is new and clean and the staff were all very helpful. There are basic shopping (Target, Costco, etc) and restaurants nearby and easy access to the freeway. For an economy suite, it is great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#22 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Hotel Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.