We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fine for a stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed for a single evening in early August. The room we reserved was just what we expected-2 queen beds and a pull out couch. The hotel had a noisy first floor hallway, but that is hardly a surprise. Breakfast was good, refreshed often and staffed by friendly people.
We were surprised that no bed linens nor blankets were available for the pull out couch (we improvised) and the front desk apologized. Still, it is an odd thing for a Marriott to overlook.
This is close to the interstate and airport (but not airplane noisy) and a good choice for a family traveling. The pool looked nice.
Exercise room was a disaster-broken equipment and hardly worth the effort to keep the lights on in the room.

Room Tip: Try a room NOT on the first floor if noise is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    62
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
19
12
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

After shopping around online quite a bit in this area, I'm happy with our decision to stay here. We got one of queen suites with a sofa bed. The room as very clean and updated. The staff was very friendly and professional. The included breakfast was pretty typical for hotels in this price range. Some people complained about not being able to find the hotel. Just go left right before going into the Target parking lot and follow that street around. Personally, I like not being right on a busy street. To top it all off, this hotel offered a good value when compared to other hotels in this general area. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor. It was very quiet...at least for our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

After staying at two other hotels in the same area during an extended weekend trip with my daughter, I booked the Springhill based on reviews and because I wanted something nice for our last night. The room had everything! Plenty of room to sit and relax, use your computer, kitchenette, fridge, separate vanity area. The entire hotel was CLEAN, staff was friendly. Although I didn't visit it, the small bar area was a nice touch. Love that juices, yogurt, milk, were available 24/7 and the free breakfast was great. Super comfortable bed and the heating/AC unit is controlled by a thermostat on the wall and is nice and quiet. Location is convienent to shopping, dining, highways. I just wish we'd stayed here for our entire trip!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I don't think I could have done any better for the price, as I got a fabulous rate at this hotel. The suite is pretty small by suite standards, but the amenities make it nicer than a regular room (small couch area with dorm-type refrigerator, microwave, etc.). It was extremely clean. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom amenities include some great smelling shower gel and lotion by Paul Mitchell, as well as Paul Mitchell shampoo and conditioner. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, fresh fruit, waffles, etc. Location is very convenient for getting to the airport, highways, Target, restaurants, etc. There were more TV channels than I have had access to at any hotel I've stayed at in recent memory.

During previous visits, I had stayed at the Hampton Inn next door. But this visit I decided to give the SpringHill Suites a try. The SpringHill Suites had a better rate this time, but the two properties are similar in quality and service. I would stay at either one again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is very convenient to the Airport and perfect for a short stay. Coming from the airport, I did not find it difficult to find as some others have. It is set back from the road in a beautiful little area with trees and a pond, but it does have a sign to let you know where to enter.

The facility is new and clean and the staff were all very helpful. There are basic shopping (Target, Costco, etc) and restaurants nearby and easy access to the freeway. For an economy suite, it is great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton, mi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Decent hotel, clean, rooms well laid out. Breakfast better than the less expensive budget hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel while traveling with a soccer team. It is well located, but a bit hard to find at first. The rooms were clean, they opened up breakfast early on a Sunday so our team could be ready for our 8am game.

They also let us use one of the conference rooms to watch a soccer game and borrowed a projector from the hotel next door.

The front desk staff went out of their way to accommodate last minute room switching for our group while they were booked to capacity. Thanks for being flexible!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Address: 5250 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Grand Rapids Airport Hotel Grand Rapids

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Grand Rapids Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.