We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Executive Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Executive Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2725 Buchanan Ave, Grand Rapids, MI 49548 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is a great location for the southwest side of Grand Rapids area. The rooms are clean and comfy. You are two blocks from 131 right on 28th St so you can get to anywhere in the area very quickly. The breakfast is a bit thin, but not horrible. The staff is very friendly, if overworked. None of this is to say don't stay here - quite the contrary - we stay here regularly and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGrandRapidsBW, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Timgrc,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We love to hear what our guest have to say about their stay. You mentioned that the breakfast was a little thin. We want to make sure we take care of our guest to the very best of our ability, so if there is something we could add that would make your stay even more enjoyable please let us know.

Warm Regards,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    36
    15
    11
    7
See reviews for
38
22
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grand rapids, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Rooms were clean beds were comfortable. Had no issues will be back. The suite accommodated me and my family well. The breakfast was adequate. The ambience of the hotel was pleasant. I had no complaints with the staff. They were very courteou

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGrandRapidsBW, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Tydas B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guest as to what they liked and didn't like about their stay; for it helps us determine what we are doing right and what we need to approve upon. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here one night on business. It is not the kind of neighborhood you stay for vacation. The hotel was clean, the front desk friendly. Things did not start out well, however, they sent me to a room that had not been cleaned. When I returned to the desk the were apologetic and "upgraded" me to a hot tub room. I was not interested in the heart shaped tub: I just wanted a good night's sleep. The bed itself for comfy, but the linens were not. Just a couple of thin sheets with an acrylic blanket between them. I was cold all night. The hairdryer was one of those mounted in the wall that is very cumbersome to use, and SLOW to dry. The shower curtain looked like something they bought at a dollar store (skimpy and cheap). The towels were thin, and not very absorbent (but admittedly there were LOTS of them). It strikes me as a hotel that gets a lot of construction and repairmen driving through--the kind of guys who aren't worried about styling their hair.
Breakfast was standard, not bad, but nothing to write home about.
So, if you are driving and need a place to stop for the night, it's fine. But don't expect anything close to pampering.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGrandRapidsBW, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Travelingmon35805,
Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us.
We are in an industrial area, located right off US131, I am sorry you do not believe we would be a good choice for those on vacation - I assure you people do enjoy staying with us while on vacation not only because our hotel is clean & we have great customer service but also because we are conveniently located; just minutes from downtown & approximately 30 miles to Holland lake shore & Grand Haven lake shore.
We want to make sure our guests needs are taken care, so we would have been more than happy to bring you extra blankets. We also have in our Jacuzzi rooms to separate heating units for extra comfort.
We do not nor would we ever buy items from a dollar store and to ensured we have nice absorbent towels we upgraded to bath towels which are 27x54 17lbs.
Again thank you for your review.
Best Regards,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked this hotel through the website 'Hotwire." I was more dissapointed with Hotwire than the hotel itself b/c Hotwire said the hotel would be like other hotels near downtown Grand Rapids. They rated it 3 stars. This hotel was nothing special. However, it was nothing terribly out of the oridinary. It was clean. It was a basic hotel. It had a decent breakfast. The staff were nice. I would stay here again if I was just passing through, but I would not recoommend this hotel for any special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGrandRapidsBW, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Pippigirl,
Sorry you were not happy with hotwire's rating for our hotel; however we were pleased to know you were happy with our stay here. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Grand Rapids.
Warm Regards,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for three nights - family event. Good location except for construction out front (not hotel's fault). Very close to malls, restaurants, whatever.
Older decor and facility but that's expected for the price.
Big plus was the included breakfast - good hot meal plus usual cereals, bagels, and pastry.
Ran out of yogurt early one day - server was very gracious.
Only problem was late night semi-party - slamming doors from 2-3 AM.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGrandRapidsBW, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Roger C,
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you liked and disliked about your stay. We hope when you are in Grand Rapids you will come and see us again.
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

This location is great for us. Close to downtown but also close to family. A very good breakfast. A nice pool. The rooms are clean and comfortable. All at a good price. The staff is always pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGrandRapidsBW, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Tim,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Grand Rapids.
Warm Regards,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was assigned this hotel by Hotwire for a rate that I would've expected for a higher end hotel. Reviews were very concerning so I called the hotel directly who assured me that they were a clean & quiet hotel. So being "stuck" with the reservation, I went. The room itself was suitable though there was some hair in the bathroom that did not belong to me. One in fact, was stuck to the floor so I put a towel over it. The area was indeed sketchy as many described so I opted to get dinner prior to checking in & stay in for the night. It was also quite loud from traffic as well as people banging on doors & running along upper hallways. Thankfully, my stay was an overnight one but definitely an overpriced stay for this area. Would not recommend for families or single travelers. (and just a note, I was not asked how my stay was by the staff when I checked out & the person checking me in barely spoke a word to me as well.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMGrandRapidsBW, General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Heather,
Thank you for bring these issues to our attention. On behalf of my entire staff I apologize. It is our goal not only to meet your expectations but to exceed them; obviously we feel short during your stay with us. I assure you this is not typical for our hotel.
We are locate right off the highway in an industrial area; it is regrettable that you felt it "sketchy".
Please call me at 616-246-6612 so I may have the opportunity to resolve this to your satisfaction.
I look forward to talking with you soon.
Warm Regards,
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Best Western Executive Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Executive Inn & Suites

Address: 2725 Buchanan Ave, Grand Rapids, MI 49548 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Grand Rapids South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Executive Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Best Western Executive Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Executive Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.