We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Benton Steakhouse

Louis Benton Steakhouse
77 Monroe Center Avenue, Suite 100, Grand Rapids, MI
616-45-GRILL
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 775 restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ionia Avenue
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Expensive but great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Work took us out so I'm not entirely sure what the bill was but I wouldn't be surprised if it was close to $700. The food and wine we ordered was truly excellect and the atmosphere was beautiful. As a plus, the bathrooms were beautiful.

  • Visited August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    49
    18
    11
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, MI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Louis Benton Steakhouse - Excellent place for a Rehearsal Dinner/Any Event in Grand Rapids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We just had a rehearsal dinner at Louis Benton and it was EXCELLENT. I cannot begin to describe how friendly and nice the staff is, and how wonderful the food is..

From the very beginning of planning, Wendy and Louis were very helpful and always available for any questions. From helping plan the menu, to fully executing the dinner, we were awed by their expertise. That evening, the staff could not have been friendlier or more willing to help us.

From children to adults, all 70 of our guests were extremely complimentary of Louis Benton. The presentaion of the food stations was incredible, with the chocolate fountain station being an especially big hit with the children.

With Louis Benton having valet parking readily available, it was very easy to walk right into the restuarant.

My recommendation of Louis Benton Steakhouse, therefore, is made without reservation. I know you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, mi
1 review
“salty and underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

my gf and i had dinner @ LB. i remember years ago when it first opened, it was great. i came back recently and the food was completely underwhelming for a 3 figure bill. everything was salty, from the prime rib, to the crab legs and even the lobster bisque. our wait staff (kenny) was great. but i won't visit them again. i can get a better steak at logans!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
“Not ready for prime time!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Imagine that you were met at the door and seated. Over ten minutes later you still have not been welcomed or offered so much as a glass of water. Most likely you would wonder why you were there. As we did. Would your friends treat you like this? Not a very special night out after all. Rather disenchanted, we both settled for medium queen filets with wedge lettuce salads and a twice-baked potato. Good, but his filet was a colorful pink center, while mine (ordered the same) was more gray than pink - aka overdone. In better restaurants you expect a more creative presentation. Our beef was plated with fried strings of sweet potato on an otherwise empty plate. Mind you, our meal was over $100 with two drinks per person. Please. Might I suggest Malones (KY) or Charleston's as benchmarks.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great food dry atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Service was great!! Ask for Tom! He has great menu knowledge, wine knowledge and has been a server there for 7 years! He even paints murals inside the restaurant! We had a great dinner with a few other friends. I had the porterhouse and it lived up to its expectations! Very flavorful and cooked perfectly! I didn't order any sauces or topping because I think it ruins great meat. I also LOVE their wine selection. My only issue is that if you order anything higher end they only have a few bottles on hand which goes fast with a party of 6. They ran out of the Simi Landslide but Tom had a great suggestion for our 3rd bottle, Cliff Lede, and we really enjoyed it.

Atmosphere needs a little work! Very dark and "good ole boy" looking. Should brighten the place up a little.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louis Benton Steakhouse also viewed

 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Louis Benton Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Benton Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.