We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heritage Restaurant

The Heritage Restaurant
143 Bostwick Ave NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503
(616) 234-3700
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Heritage Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 802 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Located in the Secchia Institute for Culinary Education, on the campus of Grand Rapids Community College, this restaurant serves as a classroom for culinary students, who, under the supervision and guidance of outstanding chefs, create unique and delicious cuisine that rates 4 out of 4 stars in my book. Don't come just to eat. Come here to be pampered while taking advantage of special surprises brought to your table at no charge. We sampled wine, and were treated to a delicious appetizer. A prior visit included a flaming dessert made right at our table. The atmosphere is very pleasant and reservations are encouraged. This is a gem in the city worth traveling to for yourself or for sharing with friends and family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A student learning working restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The menu is elegant and the wine selections and pairings are very good. You must try something from each course to truly enjoy this experience. The service can be a little slow as these are all students learning to serve and work the kitchen, but if you are a little patient, I highly recommend contributing to this wonderful opportunity for them

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A teaching restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is the restaurant for the Grand Rapids Community College culinary program. The menu is very inventive and always delicious . Service can be slow at times. Must have reserviations and they open only for limited hours

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wow - Marvelous 5 course meal for a Christmas party!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We went to the Heritage for a work Christmas party, and the students from the restaurant, run as a class by the Secchia Institute for Culinary Arts, put on a fabulous meal for us! They have separate banquet rooms with attached kitchens, so that is where we had the meal. We started with an amber colored punch with floating cranberries -- festive. The first course was a cup of carrot soup with beet topping and a dollop of sour cream -- delicious! Our waiter explained every dish to us, and the service was top rate. Second course was a shrimp bloody mary -- kind of a shrimp cocktail, but the sauce was not red. It was a creamy, nicely seasoned dip under the 3 jumbo shrimp. Third course was a half-cut lettuce with tomatoes, a thin bleu cheese/thousand island type dressing with carmelized chestnuts and cranberries. Beautiful, large, and fresh! The main course was a plate that had a stuffed quail on a bed of mushroom risotto, scallops ratatouille, whipped potatoes with whipped sweet potatoes atop -- absolutely delicious! The scallops were cooked perfectly, and not chewy a bit. The quail must have been a labor-intensive dish, and it was fantastic. Then, for the 5th course, the cooks-in-training all came out to do a demonstration of the apple-brandy flambee dessert. The teaching chef explained the process while one of the students buttered the pan, put in the apple slices, and so forth...all the way to the flaming with brandy. After an applause from our entire party, the wait staff brought out large plates for each of us: scoop of ice cream topped with the apple slices, nuts, and sauce -- delicious! Coffee was served with the dessert. Now we cannot wait to go to the Heritage restaurant and order from the menu! This was a wonderful idea for a work Christmas party -- affordable and very gourmet! Recommended without hesitation! (*No, we did NOT know what the menu was going to be ahead of time! By the way, for the one person with a shellfish allergy at our table, the wait staff prepared a plate of the main entree without the scallops and all was well. They were very attentive to the dietary needs of the party.)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great service, awesome vegetarian/vegan fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We love this place. It's a training restaurant, so the service is wonderful. But the big surprise is the excellent selection of vegan/vegetarian entrees and appetizers. Tonight we had mock eel (portobello mushrooms) and sweet corn chowder followed by Jamaican jerk "chicken" and spicy bbq tempeh with grits. And there were several items we didn't have room to try that sounded great. They also serve many meat dishes, so it's great for a mixed group. And the waitstaff and chef know what's in the dishes or can find out, all without rolling their eyes.

Highly recommended and very reasonably priced. RIght next to the Spectrum Theater in downtown Grand Rapids.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Heritage Restaurant also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to The Heritage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heritage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.