We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6569 Clay Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Clean and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during ArtPrize, and were pleased overall. But be aware that, while the address says Grand Rapids, it's a good 20 minutes south of town. That was fine by us, but if you're looking for something closer, be advised.

Also, for whatever reason, the obligatory free breakfast lacked any fresh fruit. No apples. No bananas. No cut-up melon. Now I don't necessarily have high expectations when staying at HIEs, especially where breakfast is concerned, but that was suprising nonetheless.

One last point: when we checked in we discovered that the water park was not open during the weekdays during the non-summer months. So, if you want to partake in such activities, you may want to call ahead.

Room Tip: Be aware there is a water park onsite. So, I would avoid rooms on the first floor,as I suspect nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express South. We do apologize that our breakfast was up to your standards. However, we have expanded our breakfast so we do have fruits and specific allergy foods if needed as well. If their is anything else we can do for you, please contact the hotel. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    18
    12
    24
See reviews for
62
8
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My stay at this hotel was good. The room was clean and updated. I did have a little trouble finding the road off the main highway. The room above was a little noisy and I thought that the noise would be filtered out. I would recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager G, Front Desk Supervisor at Holiday Inn Express South, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We do appreciate your feedback and were always working on guest satisfaction. We do apologize about the noise. If we could do anything else please contact the hotel. We would love for your to stay with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

From the great room to the water park this was a great stay. The staff was very very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just ok but still part of the room price and late afternoon snacks. I cant complain. The room was clean and the hotel was like new.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We fell in LOVE with this hotel, staff and aquatic center. The staff is very friendly, helpful and just so nice, we have gone here 4 times this summer and it is like coming home. The pool area is the perfect size...not to big (large indoor water parks can be very loud and crowded),and my kiddo had enough to do to entertain for hours. The rooms are slightly larger then the other hotels in the same price range making the stay very comfortable. The beds, bedding and pillows are awesome, we even ended up buying a pillow to take home. The location is convenient to all Grad Rapids has to offer. Breakfast has a lot of choices and the hotel is very clean. We can not wait to go back and are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wanted to avoid staying downtown in Grand Rapids. This was a convenient location, right off the freeway. Took about 10 minutes to get to the Gerald Ford Museum. On Tuesday and Wed evenings they have a hospitality hour with food and beer. Only inconvenience was the ice machines are on the odd numbered floors and we were on the second floor.

Room Tip: Odd floor for the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is not a new hotel but it is well maintained and very clean. The staff here is wonderful and in the unlikely event that you have an issue, they move quickly to get it resolved. The hotel management is present and hands on and it shows in the service provided.

The waterpark makes it a great place for family travel and the facility is warm and inviting. The location provides great access to the major artery into Grand Rapids from the South so it makes travel to other areas of the city a snap.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadillac, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was a great place to stay with grandkids. The small waterpark has a 3 story slide and a kiddie pool area with slides & other water features for younger children, and all the grandkids (& adults) had a great time. We were concerned when making reservations that there wouldn't be enough pool area for us to enjoy since the slide goes into the regular pool, but there was plenty of room to swim. And, there was a hot tub (for 16yr. & older) & a small whirlpool (the water actually swirled like a whirlpool). When making reservations, be sure to check the pool/slide area schedule as it does vary.
Our room was located on the first floor so it was close to the waterpark/pool area. There was noise overhead from children running the halls, but when we brought that to management's attention they addressed it. We had a small plumbing problem that was taken care of immediately. Being close to the lobby was great since coffee was available all day.
The facility was very clean and nicely decorated, and the staff was attentive. They made sure the grandkids had ice cream shortly after checking in, and the owner or manager made a point of talking with us several times, and even helped keep the complimentary breakfast supplied along with two other employees. The breakfast was very tasty with lots of options, and the area was big enough that we didn't have to fight for a table like we have in some hotels.
This hotel is a great value, since we stayed for the same price as other hotels we checked on without a waterpark. It is easily accessible off US131 & M6 on the south end of Grand Rapids. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor, which was really nice as the waterpark/pool area was close, but no roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express South

Address: 6569 Clay Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids South, . Home of The Little Dip splash pad. We are conveniently located adjacent to the Crossroads Banquet and Conference Center (full bar service) (4,000 sq. Ft.) Perfect for the small corporate meeting or up to 280 person wedding and social receptions. Also within minutes of major attractions, downtown Grand Rapids, Gerald R. Ford Museum, Metropolitan Hospital, Fredrick Meijer Gardens, Van Andel Arena and DeVos Convention Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids-South represents the latest in design standards. Come stay with us and experience a new level of accommodations and service. This hotel offers 79 guest rooms which include two-room suites and a two- story spiral staircase room. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, and free high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Hotel amenities include free deluxe breakfast bar, indoor splash pad, activity pool, and a vortex pool. The hotel has a business center open 24 hours, game room, fitness center, 2,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting rooms, 100% non-smoking rooms, hearing and visually impaired and handicap accessible guest rooms.To reserve birthday parties please contact the hotel direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express South Hotel Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.