We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Brunch Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charley's Crab

Charley's Crab
63 Market Ave SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-4027
+1 616-459-2500
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Charley's Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #152 of 800 Restaurants in Grand Rapids
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fulton
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I visited Charley's Crab in Grand Rapids as a Sunday brunch after a wedding Saturday. We were part of a large group and took up a big chunk of the far end of the restaurant. I noticed there was outdoor seating along the river which would be lovely! We were inside and the only negative of my experience is that it was freezing inside! The climate control desperately needed to be adjusted. This restaurant was more formal than casual. The servers were very prompt and polite. All of the food was delicious, especially their lavish desserts! Some parts of the buffet could have been labeled better, specifically their condiments like butter and cream cheese - I had to look twice. One major plus of the buffet was that there was a chef making fresh omelettes to order. I had one and it was phenomenal.
Overall, I would love to come back to this restaurant if the occasion was to present itself. I thought it was a great venue for a Sunday brunch after a wedding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    24
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This restaurant is located on the Grand River and has outdoor seating to enjoy the view. The service and food were both excellent.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“In-Laws Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Recently my brother and sister-in-laws got together to plan an evening out for my father and mother-in-laws birthday. Living 1,500 miles away you would think this would be difficult, but not with the help of GM Spencer and his excellent staff. They made the process simple and flawless! Though I wasn't there for the meal, I was there to receive the picture messages of the amazing food and got a detailed recap of their fabulous night from my mother-in-law. Even over the phone I could see her smile as it was strong in her voice. She talked about the spectacular food and exceptional service and how it was one of the best dining experiences they have had. Spencer and his staff went above and beyond to make them feel special and important right down to having the wine waiting on the table and a thoughtful "VIP" card reserving their spot. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the area and if you aren't and are looking for somewhere to send loved ones, look no further.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Exquisite and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped by for the Early Bird which they now all the Sunset Selection. We were amazed as for $19.99 one has their choice of 6 or so entrees each item includes the choice of salad or soup and of a desert. Now, the taste portion is a bit smaller, but more than adequate for we seniors.
An excellent dining experience, again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came for Sunday brunch and had a great time. Good and tasty offerings. Nice view and ambiance. Food selection was great. Lots of cooked food, sea food, salads, fruits and sushi. Enjoyed the very relaxing atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Crab also viewed

Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 
Grand Rapids, Kent County
Grand Rapids, Kent County
 

Been to Charley's Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charley's Crab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.